We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ship and Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We visited the Ship and Castle on a Shearings holiday for a week recently and were very impressed with this hotel.The staff particularly in the dining room were excellent-very efficient and pleasant.Our room was clean and comfortable -we were on the side but could still see the harbour.The decore was a bit tired and the towels were rather thin and were not changed every day.The lounge bar and dining room were nicely decorated with lovely views of the harbour.The food was the best we have had in any of the shearings hotels we have stayed in.Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel have a terrace which would enhance your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 133Eileen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and positive comments about the hotel. I will ensure all the staff get to read your comments.

I hope to you will join us again soon

Regards
David McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    161
    92
    43
    27
See reviews for
39
283
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day break at the Ship and Castle. Staff were brilliant, couldnt do enough for you. The food was very good and lots of choice. Room was comfortable, but the cleaning could have been better. It looked clean but there was a thick layer of dust on the curtains and on the skiting boards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken in reviewing The Ship and Castle Hotel, it is always important to hear from our guests.

I will ensure your comments are displaed on the staff noticeboard and all team members see your praise of their work. I will raise the cleanliness with my housekeeper and inspect some rooms myself immediately to ensure the levels of cleanliness are as high as normal for us. thank you for pointing this out.

I hope our attentive service, good food and amazing location and scenery can tempt you back soon.

Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We visited The Ship & Castle last weekend for a short break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had booked through Coast & Country Hotels and, after reading some tripadvisor comments, decided to contact Coast & Country to ask if they could request a nice room. We were told we could upgrade at the hotel but decided we would see what sort of a room we were offered first.

The room was basic and a little small but we had glimpses of the sea. The room really did need an upgrade but I must say, it was spotlessly clean,(apart from the window, which needed cleaning) the room was warm the bed was comfortable and as we were only there for a couple of nights, we decided we would stay. However, I would recommend you should upgrade if there for more than a couple of nights.

The main hotel area had been refurbished and had been tastefully decorated - the dining area and bar were particularly comfortable.

What shone for us though was the service of everyone, from reception, the bar staff and the attentiveness of the restaurant staff.

You should be aware that this is a Shearings hotel and as such, attracts the more mature person so if you are looking for a lively time, then you can always venture out to the neighbouring pubs, as we did!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rodders46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and found everyone to be polite and friendly. The team will be over the moon to read your comments.

I will ensure your comments are displayed for all the team to see and we will hopefully see you again soon!

Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ship and Castle Hotel for 5 days last week, as part of a Shearings holiday. We had a very nice room, with plenty of drawers and a wardrobe, a clean bathroom with a good shower, and even a slight sea view from the window. Towels were changed every day, which was lovely.. The downstairs rooms were very elegant, with comfortable chairs in the lounge looking straight out on to the harbour The restaurant was very well managed by Rita. All the restaurant staff were friendly, professional and did a really good job. I would have to give special mention to Richard, who was a real sweetheart, and also the girl who did the bar to table run all evening (her name escapes me now). We are both vegetarian and there was a suitable alternative every evening, (only the risotto failed to please). There was also an upgrade to the a la carte menu for a supplement if required.

For our first experience of a Shearings holiday it was very acceptable. The only drawback for us was the 13 hour journey each way, from and to Norfolk, giving us an actual 3 day holiday.

Would certainly come back to St Mawes, and also to the Ship and Castle, and will recommend it to friends. (but maybe not by coach)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiraz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review highlighting many aspects of our serive and product offering.

The team will be delighted to read everything you have said especially Rita and Richard, I will ensure everyone gets to read your comments.

I hope to see you again soon

Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was the leader of a group of 14 people (7 rooms).
Let's start with the positives. The hotel has a superb position and rooms with a sea view have a wonderful outlook. The restaurant and lounge areas too have good views over the natural harbour, and have recently been refurbished. The staff are very attentive and the breakfasts are acceptable if not very imaginative. There is no parking at the hotel but unloading outside the front entrance is not a problem and there is a long term public car park about 150 yards away with reasonable rates eg £10.50 for 3 day/nights.
The great drawback of the hotel however - and it is a very big one - is its rooms. Several are very small, and whilst a few bathrooms have been updated, the majority are simply unacceptable. The fittings are probably 1970s including original lino. There are taps with missing tops, hooks that are loose, showers (where they have them at all) that are almost impossible to adjust, loose toilet seats, and plenty of black mould etc etc. Our own room (and it was not the only one) had peeling wallpaper, globules of dust on the walls. and more black mould. The pillows were cheap and thin and the matress of one of the twin beds had very creaky springs.

We also had booking problems, inasmuch as being a Shearings hotel they are geared up to their own coaches and my group was a self drive, B&B only booking. Rooms - although clearly vacant - were not bookable via the website. A special phone call had to be made to another office in Guildford or somewhere to release a room at a time. We also wanted to book dinner on the first night, but according to reception at the hotel (when I phoned a month before our booking)this was only possible if we booked it on the week of the booking ("we order our food weekly"??!!), and it "should be alright". That was hopeless as there was the potential for them to still say "no". So we booked elsewhere for the first night and the hotel lost 14 covers.
So as the heading says - very mixed indeed, and too many drawbacks to be rated anything other than 2/5. It wasn't even a cheap deal at £49 per night B&B with sea view. We stayed in Penzance the night before our 3 nighter in St Mawes and had a sea view and immaculate accommodation for just £44.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pantodame1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review.

I agree with many of the points raised both positive and negative, and rest assured we will be working hard over the winter to improve those rooms which require further attention. Although I have to say that we have in the last 18 months refurbished the bar, lounge, restaurant, cafe, recpetion, cafe and 17 bedrooms, not to mention fitting a new lift - in total spending in excess of £250 thousand pounds. Our refurbishemnt is on a rolling plan and we aim to constantly improve all rooms where we can within our budget.

Hotels in St Mawes are generally more expensive than in other Cornish resorts and for your weekend our local like-for-like competitors were at least 15% more expensive than us on standard rooms and at least 20% more expensive for upgraded rooms.

I will go through your review on many levels with the hotel team and take appropriate action to improve the hotel and how we operate for future guests. Once again thank you for your review

Kind Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Mawes hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

There are a lot of extremely hard working staff engaged at this hotel. What a pity a few things let them down. We were disappointed when we saw our room which clearly needed some TLC, I have never seen windows quite like the ones in our room, flaking paint and filthy glass, however all the usual facilities were provided and our linen was clean and the bed very comfortable. The restaurant was excellent - staff superb and the food was very good indeed. It was lovely to have breakfast 'cooked to order' rather than buffet style.

A few areas within the hotel could do with a 'make over' as there were doors hanging off hinges and cupboards containing all sorts of junk. As for entertainment - that was a joke as we only had one evening of 'so called entertainment' which resembled X Factor. A singer who could not sing!!

Opt for the room with a view of the harbour and you will not be disappointed - we took a sneaky look and the view is amazing and decor very nice indeed

Room Tip: Opt for a Harbour View - The rooms look brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 808Lizzie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken in reviewing our hotel. We take all feedback seriously and use it to improve the hotel for future guests.

The team will be very pleased with your comments, they are a huge asset to us and really do work hard. It is pleasing to see their effort recognised.

We have refurbished many rooms but as yet have not attended to all rooms, we will be working hard over the winter to attend to those rooms needing attention more urgently. Regardless of this I am delighted to read that you found your room generally clean and comfortable.

Your comments regarding our food are welcome particularly having worked hard on this recently with our Head Chef Suzie, we have changed all of our menus and it is good to see it has had an effect on our guests experience with us.

Entertainment is something which we rarely get negative comments about and I will this week raise these comments with our entertainers, if possible could you please contact me directly at the hotel to discuss which act you were relating to. Then I can audit their performance and take appropriate action where required to improve this important area of the hotel.

I hope you will have an opportunity to join us again soon - possible taking advantage of one of our fantastic special offers!

Once again thank you for your time

Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I dont know how Shearings allocate rooms, but the last four holidays with Shearings the rooms have been CRAP. How do you get a decent room I ask. I have even emailed head office asking the question but they havent had the decency to reply !!!!!! My wife and I had spring holiday to the Ship & Castle, Our room left something to be desired and when I told the manager that I wasnt happy he said he found it O/K when he slept in it. The food was acceptable, the bar was o/k. The best part was the staff all very good and knew their jobs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review from January. Since January we have upgraded a number of rooms in the hotel, this has been well recieved by our guests. Possibly next time you may consider a superior or premier room for that added comfort? I will ensure your comments are seen by all the team.

Hope to see you again
Regards
David McDonald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Mawes
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#5 of 6 in St Mawes
211 reviews
3.1 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
455 reviews
20.8 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 21 in St Ives
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship and Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship and Castle Hotel

Property: The Ship and Castle Hotel
Address: The Quay, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship and Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the Rivers' Fal and Percuil meet to join the open sea, St Mawes boasts the perfect picture postcard retreat and at the heart of the village, right on the quay you will find The Ship and Castle Hotel. Once The Ship and Castle Inn, and a warren of small fishermen's cottages (remnants of which can still be seen at the rear of the existing building) The Ship and Castle is now a 54 bedroom hotel with all the charm and character one would expect for its location. Our bar and lounges offer the perfect location for a peaceful day in St Mawes watching the world go by, or enjoying a traditional Cornish Cream Tea. We have a selection of sea view rooms which understandably are in high demand and are well recommended to make your stay that little bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Ship and Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship And Castle Hotel St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing