We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly outstanding guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roundhouse Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roundhouse Barn
Ranked #1 of 5 St Mawes B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly outstanding guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed 9 days for bed & breakfast at the Roundhouse Barn. This is a truly outstanding guest house set in a very picturesque part of the Roseland Peninsular. The buildings though architecturally old have been painstakingly restored and given a very contemporary update inside with all modcons including bathroom and bedroom fittings to the highest standard. The room we stayed in was bright and airy and very well equipped including a DAB radio/iPhone charger, there were other items that you would more usually expect to find in a 5 star London hotel. The accommodation was so comfortable, spotlessly clean and homely that we looked forward to returning to it after our days out touring around this beautiful part of our country.

These days the word passion tends to be much overused. In the case of Barbara and Mark there is no other word that can adequately convey both what they have done to make the Roundhouse Barns such a luxurious place for visitors to stay nor the warmth and genuineness with which guests are received and attended to. Mark and Barbara are a wonderful couple, they could not have made our stay any more enjoyable, thank you both so much....we will be back! Love, David & Deborah.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmacstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
117
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

We spent two nights at Roundhouse Barns and found everything about our stay delightful. Our room was beautiful and finished to the highest standard. Although small, it was luxurious and the view showed what an idyllic setting the property has. It was incredibly relaxing! Also, Barbara and Mark could not have been better hosts. The breakfasts were fantastic (even the takeaway breakfast that was provided after a late night!), there was a wonderful cream tea on arrival and Barbara provided lovely suggestions (and maps) for places to visit. Roundhouse Barns more than helped us to have a wonderful stay in Cornwall!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IJOFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krefeld
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

We booked here because of the positive reviews from previous guests and were so happy we did, this has got to be one of the best B&B's in the country, let alone Cornwall. We were warmly greeted on arrival by Mark and Barbara (not forgetting Barney and Pongo their lovely dogs), and served the best cream tea we tasted all week (and we sampled a few!). We stayed in The Fal bedroom for 3 nights, which had everything you could possibly need and more. Quality fittings and furnishings, fridge restocked daily, plenty of wardrobe/drawer space, TV and DVD player, digital radio, together with good selection of books and DVD's. Fresh flowers. Lovely bathroom with super shower and White Company toiletries, and everything spotlessly clean. The breakfasts each morning were delicious, freshly prepared with a good choice, including vegetarian, and we enjoyed the company of our fellow guests, exchanging tips on where to eat / visit etc.One regret was not having enough time to make the most of the beautiful gardens.
We haven't stayed on the Roseland Peninsular before, and the area is stunning, with fairly easy access to all other parts of Cornwall. We crossed the River Fal several times during our short stay, using the King Harry Ferry, not realising until our last day that Roundhouse offers concessional tickets (our fault for not thoroughly reading the info book in room!), so don't forget to ask before setting out. If you're lucky weatherwise, would recommend a drive to Carne Beach, absolutely beautiful. We had a sandwich lunch in the gardens of The Nare Hotel, and although a bit pricey was worth the extra for the view alone. We had dinner one evening at the nearby Roseland Inn at Phileigh, which was excellent, and would have liked to try the Kings Head at Ruan Lanihorne, but it was fully booked, locals as well as tourists which is always a good sign. Barbara and Mark are wonderful hosts and have obviously put a lot of time and effort into making their home something very special. Some 4 and 5 star hotels can't offer the personal touch that they do so effortlessly, such as a glass of wine and a chat in the evening and even the use of their computer, without charge. They thoroughly deserve all the accolades received so far, and we're keeping our fingers crossed that the Visit Cornwall Tourism Awards grant them Gold Status. Even the most discerning guest would have difficulty finding fault with this hidden gem.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkieKrefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

We spent 2 nights with Mark and Barbara staying in the Minack Room which was beautifully decorated and finished to a very high standard, It was so peaceful. The attention to detail was outstanding (right down to the Nokia phone charger), the selection of DVDs in the room and the fresh milk for tea in the room. The bed was a little too soft but we do like a very firm bed. The choices for breakfast were imaginative and the specials were a real change from the standard full english, all beautifully presented. Mark and Barbara combine just the right degree of friendliness and leaving you free to do your own thing.
It was a great place to feel cared for and unwind and we shall be back. We know they would like us to spread the word but it was so special we want to keep it as our secret getaway from everybody.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SpikeWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

Everything about the Roundhouse Barn is high quality, the rooms, the food and friendly owners Mark and Barbara. Every effort was made to make our stay exactly what we wanted. Their knowledge of the area helped us decide how to spend our time and they were on hand with guide books and maps to enhance our visits. This ensured we got the very best out of our short stay.

The area offeres a variety of things to do the excellent Maratime Museum in Falmouth entertained us on a wet day, there were local walks and lovely near by beaches. We enjoyed the Lost Gardens at Heligan, having visited the Eden Project a fews ago which was very interesting. We only sampled food at one local inn, the Roseland at Philliegh, and it was excellent. No need to go any further afield.

The Roundhouse Barn is really a home from home and after a wet day Barbara offered to dry our coats. We were invited to look around the garden, where there were place to sit and relax, but unfortunately we ran out of time. May be at our next visit.

Mark Barbara fulfill all they promis on their excellent website.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connor2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo (NL)
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Had an excellent stay in one of the B&B rooms of the Roundhouse Barn. With Barbara and Mark as perfect hosts; great Cornish breakfasts, marvelous wines and a perfect pick-nick for a sunny day on the beach. Room and en-suite of high quality. Perfect quite location in the middle of Roseland with excellent walks, ferry's, pubs and restaurants nearby. Also ideal located for a day visit to St. Austell, Kynance Cove (recommendation!) or Penwith Road (St. Michaels Mount, Mousehole, Minack Theatre, Landa End, St. Ives). Stayed 10 days and was really word every single moment.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartVenlo_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

This is a review for the self-catering accommodation which was superb. I stayed in the Carthouse for a week, lovely furnishings, 5 star facilities (full Sky tv living room,wifi, freeview tv bedroom, electric fire, stereo, ipod station) . Evenings were spent in fthe lovely living room in full comfort with a glass of wine and when the whether permitted a bbq in the courtyard. there was even a selelction of board and card games available. Mark and Barbara were great hosts as well, with so much extra attention, fresh baked scones on arrival, and extra little presents during and after stay were a great surprise. The smallest niggles I could have with the Carthouse itself is that I believe it is beneath a high traffic area of the main house, possibly the kitchen and you can hear the b&b breakfasters on a morning, this could hamper somene trying to sleep in. However, I am also personally quite noise sensitive so it may not bother other people. Also, the Carthouse has no views whatsoever, just the front door looking onto the courtyard. I believe Cockle Cottage has countryside views, I may try that next time if the facilities are of the same standard. However, really fanastic overall and we will certainly make this our base for all future cornwall holidays.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mesaana78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
2.7 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.8 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#5 of 5 in St Mawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.5 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Trewithian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Barn

Property: Roundhouse Barn
Address: Roundhouse Barn Messack Rd | nr St Mawes, St Mawes TR2 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundhouse Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunningly converted set of 17th-century farm buildings to create Visit Britain accredited 5 star multi-award winning B&B and self-catering cottages. Beautiful gardens, tranquil setting. Nestled away on the western side of the Roseland Peninsula. Ideal base for the Eden Project, various National Trust Gardens, St Mawes etc. Our B&B Suite and our self catering cottages both won Visit England National Excellence Awards in 2012. Our self catering cottages came runner up nationally and our B&B was highly commended which puts us in the top 5 nationally. Regret no pets or children under 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Roundhouse Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundhouse Barn St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing