We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roundhouse Barn - A perfect place !”
Review of Roundhouse Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roundhouse Barn
Ranked #1 of 5 St Mawes B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Roundhouse Barn - A perfect place !”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at Roundhouse Barns for 3 in July. This b&b is just perfect! Barbara is an extreme welcoming and helpful host. The breakfast was just great. The location was perfect, quiet and peaceful. This place deserves the rated 5 stars !

Will return if we are visiting this area another time !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoltan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarknBarb, Owner at Roundhouse Barn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Zoltan, so glad you enjoyed your stay here with your family. You were our first Danish visitors in six years - may there be many more! You certainly packed a lot into your holiday while you were here. We hope to see you again if you return to the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
117
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wootton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Since writing our first review here we have stayed a number of times at Roundhouse Barn and I can only have high praise for Barbara and Mark, the Owners. We have stayed in all 3 cottages in the last 2 years and all of them are spec'd to a very high standard indeed, whether your desire is a luxury kitchen with Neff appliances you got it!, or a luxury rain showers or sumptuous bath, you got it, free internet or IPod docks....you got it. We are currently staying in the Carthouse for a week and as write this on our last night here, I cannot recommend this holiday enough. Both my wife and myself feel so relaxed here, we have slept well on the ginormous 6ft bed and relaxed watching sky tv in the evening, or listening to our fav music.

BARBARA AND MARK PLEASE TAKE A BOW

Room Tip: Cockle Cottage has lovely log fire and a fantastic open plan kitchen, the Dairy has a bathroom to di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarknBarb, Owner at Roundhouse Barn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Steve B - we are glad you love our self catering cottages, we certainly try to make them as luxurious and comfortable as possible.. It's lovely to have repeat guests - we know we must be doing something right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Roundhouse Barn for two nights during September whilst attending a wedding. The accommodation was lovely inside and out - the setting and gardens are exquisite; and our room, the minnack, was beautifully appointed and included a luxury en-suite with a walk-in drench shower.

Our hosts Barbara and Mark (and Pongo and Barney) were warm and made us feel welcome. We were treated to a delicious home-made cream tea on arrival and the full Cornish breakfast is not to be missed.

As we were staying for a wedding, we didn't have a great deal of time to enjoy the grounds but it gives us an excuse to return one day just to relax, read a book and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. If you are looking for a relaxing break we recommend Roundhouse Barn as a perfect place to unwind.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAURA_S73V35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Roundhouse Barns for the August Bank holiday weekend. This b&b is just perfect! The room was everything we could have wanted. The cream tea on arrival and Cornish breakfast each morning were fabulous. Barbara and Mark were extremely welcoming and helpful hosts. During our stay, nothing was too much trouble and they catered to any requests or extra needs we had. The tranquil location and beautiful setting made this holiday incredibly relaxing for us. Roundhouse Barns easily deserves 5 out of 5!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete and Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Absolutely fabulous ! The quality of this accommodation is better than many top hotels. It is beautifully appointed and surrounded by stunning Cornish countryside yet only minutes from the sea. We were welcomed with a tasty homemade Cornish cream tea and our room was light and spacious with robes, fluffy towels, White Company toiletries, a fridge with complementary water, fruit juices and fresh milk. There was an excellent selection of coffees, teas, chocolates and biscuits - really did not want to leave !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHalls4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely short stay here.

We loved the location, under 10 minutes drive inland from St Mawes & similar distance to great beaches around Portscatho, but the B&B itself is also along a quiet country road, which you can walk 20 mins further down to get to the river & a tiny beach.
Barbara & Mark are lovely hosts, they couldn't be more friendly or helpful, but also able to give visitors their own space.
Unfortunately we arrived late so didn't get to sample the cream tea on arrival, but the breakfasts were beautiful. From the general menu including full cooked and smoked salmon to the daily specials such as pancetta on pancakes, the food was exceptional.
The room we stayed in was exceptionally clean & beautifully decorated, with lots of great little touches such as White Co toiletries, complimentary postcards & water/juices. It was very warm in the night, but a large fan had been provided in the room so we used that during the night. Having a quiet fridge in the room within which you could put wine or beer was very useful & having tables outside to sit at made it feel more like a home/ small hotel than a B&B.
We would definitely recommend and hopefully will return at some point.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flourpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay bed and breakfast with Barbara and Mark. We arrived to a warm welcome which included a lovely Cornish cream tea. The room was modern with an extremely comfortable bed and we loved The White Company products. Breakfast was very tasty, lots of choice with a daily special. The location was peaceful and ideal for exploring Cornwall. We would definitely return. Steve and Sara Bidder

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
2.7 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.8 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#5 of 5 in St Mawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.5 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Trewithian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Barn

Property: Roundhouse Barn
Address: Roundhouse Barn Messack Rd | nr St Mawes, St Mawes TR2 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundhouse Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunningly converted set of 17th-century farm buildings to create Visit Britain accredited 5 star multi-award winning B&B and self-catering cottages. Beautiful gardens, tranquil setting. Nestled away on the western side of the Roseland Peninsula. Ideal base for the Eden Project, various National Trust Gardens, St Mawes etc. Our B&B Suite and our self catering cottages both won Visit England National Excellence Awards in 2012. Our self catering cottages came runner up nationally and our B&B was highly commended which puts us in the top 5 nationally. Regret no pets or children under 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Roundhouse Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundhouse Barn St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing