We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic retreat”
Review of Roundhouse Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roundhouse Barn
Ranked #1 of 6 St Mawes B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Absolutely fabulous ! The quality of this accommodation is better than many top hotels. It is beautifully appointed and surrounded by stunning Cornish countryside yet only minutes from the sea. We were welcomed with a tasty homemade Cornish cream tea and our room was light and spacious with robes, fluffy towels, White Company toiletries, a fridge with complementary water, fruit juices and fresh milk. There was an excellent selection of coffees, teas, chocolates and biscuits - really did not want to leave !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHalls4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 144 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely short stay here.

We loved the location, under 10 minutes drive inland from St Mawes & similar distance to great beaches around Portscatho, but the B&B itself is also along a quiet country road, which you can walk 20 mins further down to get to the river & a tiny beach.
Barbara & Mark are lovely hosts, they couldn't be more friendly or helpful, but also able to give visitors their own space.
Unfortunately we arrived late so didn't get to sample the cream tea on arrival, but the breakfasts were beautiful. From the general menu including full cooked and smoked salmon to the daily specials such as pancetta on pancakes, the food was exceptional.
The room we stayed in was exceptionally clean & beautifully decorated, with lots of great little touches such as White Co toiletries, complimentary postcards & water/juices. It was very warm in the night, but a large fan had been provided in the room so we used that during the night. Having a quiet fridge in the room within which you could put wine or beer was very useful & having tables outside to sit at made it feel more like a home/ small hotel than a B&B.
We would definitely recommend and hopefully will return at some point.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flourpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay bed and breakfast with Barbara and Mark. We arrived to a warm welcome which included a lovely Cornish cream tea. The room was modern with an extremely comfortable bed and we loved The White Company products. Breakfast was very tasty, lots of choice with a daily special. The location was peaceful and ideal for exploring Cornwall. We would definitely return. Steve and Sara Bidder

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Thank you Roundhouse Farm we had excellent holiday and would strongly recommend staying here if you are in the area. The location was excellent quiet and peaceful . Barbara and Mark could not have done more to make our stay very enjoyable. Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Clare5156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We loved our stay at Roundhouse barns for our first trip to Cornwall. Barbara and Mark are such friendly and accommodating hosts and the cream tea on arrival in the sunshine in the courtyard was the perfect remedy after a long drive to get there. Breakfasts were outstanding and Barbara's poached rhubarb from the garden was particularly devine! Room was practical and very comfortable. Was also very well situated to visit lots of charming towns in Cornwall including St Mawes which we very much enjoyed. Met another lovely couple during our stay which was also great. Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We received a warm welcome and cream tea from Barabara and Mark at Roundhouse barn.
They have obviously spent a great deal of time and money on the property, making it a quality furnished and spotlessly clean place to stay. Breakfast was very good with local sausages and bacon and on our last morning Mark produced a delicious banana bread.
Our only problem was that we were very hot in the room and for the price, maybe thought that the room would be slightly bigger.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarknBarb, Owner at Roundhouse Barn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are so sorry you were a little warm in your room. We do have both fans and lighter weight duvet's available and could have provided these if you had let us know at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had an absolute fantastic time for our first visit to Cornwall. Our hosts were more than generous in helping us decide we're to go and what to in the time we had there. Providing us with good restuarants and fine local pubs. Roundhouse barns is a credit to both Barbara and mark who run this beautiful bit of paradise. I could not fault anything about this place. You can also borrow maps and guide books to help you decide whats best for you. The rooms were great, good sizes with everything you'll need. And most of all impeccably clean. There is a wide and varied range on offer for breakfast which is cooked to perfection.
Can't wait for our next visit. Chris and Sandie x

Room Tip: Good sized room with everything you'll need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownsPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Mawes hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
656 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
416 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nearwater Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Little Newton Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
2.8 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Barn

Address: Roundhouse Barn Messack Rd | nr St Mawes, St Mawes TR2 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range: $80 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundhouse Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunningly converted set of 17th-century farm buildings to create Visit Britain accredited 5 star multi-award winning B&B and self-catering cottages. Beautiful gardens, tranquil setting. Nestled away on the western side of the Roseland Peninsula. Ideal base for the Eden Project, various National Trust Gardens, St Mawes etc. Our B&B Suite and our self catering cottages both won Visit England National Excellence Awards in 2012. Our self catering cottages came runner up nationally and our B&B was highly commended which puts us in the top 5 nationally. Regret no pets or children under 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Roundhouse Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundhouse Barn St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing