We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, wonderful friendly guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivendell Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #30 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent, wonderful friendly guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed here with a friend over New Years Eve and am really pleased we did. Everything about this place is welcoming, beautifully stylish decorated rooms, hot showers, fantastic breakfast and sea views aswell. Most of all, Angela and Barrie are so warm and friendly and chatty over breakfast, nothing was too much trouble. Really nice touch to leave box of Maltesers on the bed, how many hotels do that let alone b and b's ?!?
All in all, highly recommended, and we will be returning in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SambobUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
70
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

Rivendell is scrupulously clean, the atmosphere relaxed, and hosts Angela and Barrie are very helpful and friendly. I stayed in a single room, which was small but cosy and quiet. Angela placed me at the same breakfast table as another female solo traveller, which was great as I had someone to chat to over breakfast.

Rivendell is ideally situated for the Tate, beaches, rail, buses and St Ives leisure centre. It deserves 5 stars!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

I've stayed here regularly for the past 2 years & I love it. Angela & Barrie are so warm & welcoming, the rooms are very comfortable and stylish and the overall feel is home from home.
Thanks for another lovely stay this easter - see you again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank porthmoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

Me and my partner stayed at Rivendell Guesthouse for a week in September.
The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable.We had views right across the harbour which were a treat to look at in the mornings.
Barrie and Angela are the most delighful hosts and made us so welcome!
We will defifnitely be back next year!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vici_ere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

This was our third stay at the Rivendell and was sadly disappointing. Staying here last May we had a great time so much so that we returned again in September and looked forward to our stay last week. Whilst Barrie and Angela are great hosts whom make you more than welcome, the room this time round was very poor in terms of overall comfort. As the guest house was full we had no option than to leave and look elsewhere for alternative accomdation.

If all the rooms were to the same high standard as that we first stayed in last year then we would not be giving this negative review.

John & Susan

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JP200096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed at the Rivendell over the bank holiday and enjoyed our stay very much. The guest house is very clean, and Angela and Barry are very friendly people. Our room No 7 was a twin, and was quite small, but the clean feel of the room more than made up for the lack of space. The dining room is quite small, but the breakfast was good and gave us a good start to the day. It was nice to chat to other people too.

I would recommend this guest house, for its hospitality, cleanliness and location. Really good value - give it a try! There are plenty of nice places to eat in St Ives, I would recommend the Seafood Cafe and the Caffe Pasta. Both really good, but you need to book to get the time you require.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

I stayed at the Rivendall in June of this year. It was not theeasiest place to find as it is on the hill over looking the station. Part of the problem with finding it is due to the inadequate street signage which does not help any vistor to St Ives. Luckily Barry happen to see me and pointed me in the right direction.

On arrival there was a warm welcome from Angela and was encouraged to make myself at home. My room although small was just right for one and was spotless. No problems there. Breakfast was cooked by Barry and set you up for the day. As well as the full english there was also a lighter option. Barry being a fully qualified chef also cooks evening meals if pre booked. I was on bed and breakfast so did not try these out. But if they are anything like breakfast then the quality must be excellent. However the dinning room is not the place to be anti social as it can get busy for breakfast if the place is full. But it is a good time to meet new people.

Angela takes time to get to know her guests personally and it wsa nice to called by name. She also shows an interest in her guests holiday and takes time to share her local knowledge. Nothing is too much trouble. In all the Rivendell deserves the awards it has been given for its hospitality. If ever I am down in St Ives again then it will be at the top of my list of places to make a booking.

  • Liked — The welcome
  • Disliked — The shower - took some getting used to
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travellover0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Badger Inn
The Badger Inn
#28 of 106 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.4 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Palma Guest House
Palma Guest House
#11 of 27 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Property: Rivendell Guest House
Address: 7 Porthminster Terrace, St Ives TR26 2DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivendell Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing