We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coast House
Ranked #44 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Coast House for one night while hiking the South West Coast Path in October 2012. Adrian was very warm and welcomed us with excellent hot scones with cottage cream and jam. Our room was clean, pleasant and had a great view of St Ives, and the breakfast was outstanding. We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob-Lucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
145
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drysdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in Coast House and what a wonderful experience. The exuberant welcome from the delightfully funny Adrian, the spotlessly clean well appointed room and the beautiful view from our bedroom window all added to the joy of visiting glorious St. Ives. Jane's breakfasts were delicious, generous, fresh with multiple choices including sublime fresh fruit salad.
Adrian and Jane are gracious hosts and we were sorry to leave these thoroughly nice people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanBDrysdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just great really. A short stay, welcoming hosts and even sorted parking last minute which is fab considering parking space is at a premium in St Ives.

Clean rooms, and bed linen, comfortable nights sleep and a good shower.

But best of all.. the breakfast! Not huge amounts, but quality is superior to anything else I think I've ever tasted. Nice views from the front and not too steep to walk down to town. Didn't get chance to try Olives Cafe which is linked to this B&B but will do next time we're down.

It's places like this which help to make St Ives such a great place to visit as it takes the stress out of finding good quality accommodation. Top marks.

I'm not sure WI-FI was advertised on the website/. But it's there and free which is also a great use.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if available, really great. Free WI-FI as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheJudge2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Couldn't have been made more welcome or comfortable. Stayed at many B&Bs, but this one is by far the best. Clean beyond belief and a great breakfast, (ask Adrian about his trip to collect eggs....it's so funny). Traditional terraced house, converted into something very special. Fantastic view from room 5 and so , so quiet you could hear an owl hooting! We felt like part of a family, and would recommend this place. May it thrive for many years to come.

Room Tip: Romm 5....romantic....and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evelyngpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights this week. Jane and Adrian are wonderful hosts, on arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome and we were shown to a lovely, spotless and modern attic room (room 5). The en suite was a good size, with a rain shower. There were nice little touches in the room, magazines, DVDs and a bottle of water. Breakfast was fab, lots of choice, great full english and served with proper coffee. But what made breakfast was Adrian, he must be the happiest man in St Ives, He has great local knowledge, definately ask him where to go and what to see, his magical mystery tour is great and you get to see lots of the beautiful coast.
Location is perfect, it was nice to go out for dinner and be able to walk back, there are a few steps back up to the coast house but youve got to work off those cream teas some-how!
We would 100% stay here again and recommend it to friends and family. Thank you Jane and Adrian for a wonderful and very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ox1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Had a great four night stay at this fabulous b+b.Our luxury room was everything we wanted.Breakfast was excellent,our hosts Jane and Adrian extremely pleasant and veryhelpful.Will happily recommend this b+b as an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lupin2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the2UKtravellers
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Jane and Adrian are great hosts of a fantastic B&B. Jane made us feel very welcome on arrival and showed us to our room. We had great views across St Ives harbour from our modern well appointed room. The bed was comfy and all the furniture was clean and modern with plenty of space to store a weeks clothes for two. Complimentary Tea, Coffee, biscuits and bottled water were replaced daily, there's also a couple of wine glasses in case you fancy taking a bottle back. The ensuite is modern and clean with a great power shower.
The great assortment of fresh fruits, cereals and juices is a fantastic starter before a freshly cooked breakfast which is cooked to order allowing you to choose exactly what you like (Free range eggs and a very good standard of food). Adrian will keep you entertained over breakfast and is always helpful if you need to know anything about St Ives.
Thanks for providing the perfect place for us to enjoy our holiday in St Ives. John & Jackie

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank the2UKtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View
Harbour View
#52 of 106 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#9 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#20 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast House

Property: Coast House
Address: 16 Tregenna Terrace, St Ives TR26 2DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast House B & B and holiday let is a newly refurbished townhouse, situated on Tregenna Terrace with ample parking nearby, offering very comfortable accommodation all year round. Our guest house and holiday let are situated on the seaward side of St Ives, offering arguably the most magnificent views across the town and harbour, the open Ocean, with breathtaking coastal scenery and beyond.Today it has been carefully restored, and our 4 rooms are light and airy with a contemporary feel. A varied breakfast menu is available each day and includes fresh fruit, a choice of cereals, yogurt, fruit juice, full English, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, with vegetarian options always available. We source our food locally and only use free range eggs.Room only is also available for those guests who wish to enjoy our rooms a little longer. A warm relaxing welcome awaits you whether you are visiting St. Ives for a short break or a longer holiday ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coast House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing