We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view in St Ives”

Porthgwidden Beach Cafe
Ranked #24 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Sorry for any inconveniences but we are closed on Christmas Day
Essex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best view in St Ives”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Love this place, food fine, service young modern,
Sit by the window, the best seat in St Ives.
Fine place too for morning coffee.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Essexman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    193
    58
    40
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,719 reviews
981 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 880 helpful votes
“Excellent Spot for Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We dropped in in here for lunch on a surprisingly busy day given that it was out of season. However it was very easy to see why when our food arrived - amazing chowder and linguine to follow. Very friendly staff despite being rushed - one of the highlights of a generally very good gastronomic week in St.Ives and its environs.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“unfriendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

we arrived in st ives at 11.30am on a sunday we decided to come into cafe we sat at a table to be told theres no food as kitchen was closed and in half an hour before food was served but he was wating behind the bar which is illlegal i think as im in catering business 2 we just wanted a drink ! we felt like we werent welcome so drank our drink and left

Helpful?
Thank judy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lovely lunchtime spot where we booked at the last minute when we visited for coffee in the morning. They had one booking for lunchtime so expected to be very quiet. However, hen we turned up just gone 1pm the place was very busy! They had less staff on than was usual apparently but that didn't seem to make any difference. Service was efficient, friendly and unflustered and the food was great. I had chowder and paella and hubby had chowder and crab linguine. Great choices.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Labute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast and dinner on the same day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Delicious breakfast to suit grandsons and adults.Snug beneath soft blankets on outer balcony overlooking the beach.
Later Dinner for two inside the cafe was really well cooked, linguine with rocket,chilli, mange tout and Parmesan was light, tasty and beautifully presented. Front of house staff were friendly and professional, thank you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porthgwidden Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Porthgwidden Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing