We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Alfresco Cafe Bar - CLOSED

Alfresco Cafe Bar
Price range: $7 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Harbourside, open-fronted restaurant. Open every day for lunch 12-3 and dinner 6-9.30
S. Wales
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We booked a table (advisable as a few people did get turned away when we were there) based on Tripadvisor reviews - we were not disappointed! I had scallops to start and John Dory with crab for main, both cooked to perfection with a wide range of flavours on the plate. One of our party is not a fish lover and their pork belly starter and beef main were both wonderful. The service was attentive but not intrusive and the restaurant itself is in a lovely spot. Considering the quality the meals were a bargain and we will definitely return!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    114
    26
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Only had a coffee but great place”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We only had a coffee, the children had a slice of cake, but this was a great place, great view of the harbour, nice coffee and friendly staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oxford-Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food let down by poor service”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The food was excellent. However the fantastic chef is being let down by the front of house. It was one lady who really made you feel like she was doing you a favour by letting you eat there. Turning people away quite rudely if they had the audacity to presume it wasn't fully booked. Perhaps she was having a bad day I don't know but we just wanted to leave as soon as our food was done. Which was a real shame.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beautifulxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great position on st ives sea front”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

ate twice on our holiday in st ives this year - always a favourite for mussels with a bottle of rose- Staff very good we were given outside seating as requested had the 2 course menu finished with cornish cheese

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenny y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good, but not child friendly”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

First, the positives. the food is excellent. The wine list is interesting and fairly priced. The service is good. We were there with two children aged 8 and 6. They are used to restaurants and are relatively adventurous eaters. There is no children's menu. That is fine. We ordered them the fillet of beef from the main menu. It came blood rare with no attempt to tailor it to the kids. Like it would have taken any effort to tone it down a bit for them. To top it off the menu is priced at £16.99 for two courses, but only two or three of each course is covered by that, and everything else is surcharged. Again, fair enough for adults. But we were charged £23.99 for our six year old who had no starter and had a blood rare fillet of beef which he didn't touch. They have obviously decided that they don't care about catering to families, which is kind of gutsy in a place like St Ives. That's fine. We won't be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfresco Cafe Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing