We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Valentines thanks to Alfresco”
Review of Alfresco Cafe Bar - CLOSED

Alfresco Cafe Bar
Price range: $6 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Harbourside, open-fronted restaurant. Open every day for lunch 12-3 and dinner 6-9.30
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Valentines thanks to Alfresco”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend booked a meal at Alfresco on its reopening for 2014 on Valentines day.

We had an incredible evening, being an early 20s couple we were made to feel extremely welcome and our waitress was exceptional at her job. The atmosphere and decor was faultless, whilst its seaside location and small size lent itself naturally to the occasion. I hate to use the word romantic but it would be honest.

The food was fine dining at a fraction of the price, whilst the drinks (cocktails were expensive) were catered for the day and delicious (strong as well... good job St Ives seafront is pretty straight and spacious). I feel we got a 5 star experience for a 3.5 star price. Cannot recommend enough!!

Helpful?
Thank Nine15ths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    114
    26
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in St Ives”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

One of the best restaurants in St Ives in my view. Really lovely menu, lots of variety, excellent service and great value. This looks like a cafe from the outside but is a 5 star restaurant inside.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VixG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Had a great lunch of mussels and chips with a bottle of wine. Sat outside under the heaters which was lovely. Food and service excellent. Mussels arguably the best we have had and the sauce was outstanding, the wine great value and waitress friendly but not imposing. We were not rushed and happily spent a couple of hours people watching. Special mention for the chips - wow! Small portion but absolutely delicious. Prices very reasonable for the location and quality. Would recommend and return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ21Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a crab sandwich”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Well they said it was the ultimate crab sandwich on the billboard and they were right. A great blend of brown and white meat with a slice of pickled cucumber in the middle of two thick slices of fresh brown bread. The chunky chips were fluffy in the middle and super crispy. Yum. Nice surroundings, great view of the harbour and very warm and friendly staff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A quiet, pleasant evening !”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We visited this week and enjoyed a good meal in an empty restaurant ( midweek in December ). From our experience, we doubt it is empty very often. All food was tasty and very well presented. The lady who served us was very friendly and welcoming. The best meal we had in St Ives during our three days .

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfresco Cafe Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing