We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Friendly Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alfresco Cafe Bar - CLOSED

Alfresco Cafe Bar
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Harbourside, open-fronted restaurant. Open every day for lunch 12-3 and dinner 6-9.30
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“A Friendly Restaurant”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We visited Alfresco as our usual place was closed. This was a good alternative with an interesting menu and very friendly and obliging staff. The menu has something for everyone with tasty combinations. The location, on the harbour front, is very good and would be ideal in the summer. Take care with the steak as it may be cooked in a water bath; this means a medium steak rather than anything a little rarer. The cheese selection is excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heatherogburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    114
    26
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lunch overlooking the beach”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We visited St Ives intending to look at the galleries, maybe buy a painting and have lunch.
A walk through the town when the sun was shining brightly brought out hundreds of people and as we passed Alfresco I looked at the menu and liked what I saw. We booked a table outside as we had a dog with us and were told we had to.
The food was really delicious-my wife had the pork belly and I had the mussels followed by the chicken supreme and chowder. All were generous in portion size and great flavours. We had a bottle of the house white, a Hungarian Pinot Grigio which was reasonably priced and served at the right temperature for us!
I ordered the cheeses as a last course and they were the only slightly disappointing part of the meal-very small pieces with some rather boring crackers. Overall the meal was really good and highly recommended. As we sat outside it was cold once the sun had moved west but I'm sure in earlier months is must be a wonderful place to sit and people watch whilst eating excellent food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nick179642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you like crab ...”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Have the 'Ultimate Crab Sandwich'! My second visit here and it was nice to go back to a place that has maintained its impeccable standard. Waitress very helpful and jolly. Situated on the harbour side so great for people watching as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southwalesbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were lucky to have a reservation, made by our hotel (Boskerris!). People were turned away throughout our dinner. Also lucky to eat early as a huge group arrived as we were getting ready to depart.

The food was creative and scrumptious! How many tomato bisques have I had in my eating life and yet this one outdid them all! Everything else kept up the pace and our waitress couldn't have been more attentive and informative. Thanks!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great food and staff but limited portions.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had the fixed menu options with a bottle of wine. The waitress was great, very attentive and helpful. For starter we had opted for the belly pork and mussels. The mussels were great but the belly pork portion was tiny. For the main course we went for the pan fried cod and the fish chowder. The cod was cooked to perfection, juicy with a crispy skin but again was a small portion served with a tiny portion of cubed potato. The chowder was more generous but is a rich dish.

Overall I would recommend if you you want a good quality meal but you are not too hungry. Location is great as well, overlooking the harbour.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluenose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfresco Cafe Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing