We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it's No.2 rating”
Review of Alfresco Cafe Bar - CLOSED

Alfresco Cafe Bar
Price range: $6 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Harbourside, open-fronted restaurant. Open every day for lunch 12-3 and dinner 6-9.30
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth it's No.2 rating”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This lovely restaurant is right on the harbour front and serves great food at sensible prices. Lovely interior but also has outside seating for daytime dining or for when....and if...we get warm summer evenings. Wonderful desserts to finish off their lovely cuisine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mallorcalover2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    114
    26
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Small in space but everything else is great”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We arrived by chance but unfortunately no table available. However the waitress offered a table at 9pm which we took. And the decision to wait was right. When we came back we had a very good three course dinner. Goat Cheese Textures as a starter: real different textures and all of them nice and delicious. Main course for me was lamb rack which was absolutely smooth. It came together with asparagus, pea puree and potatoes. The only thing I was not so happy about was that there was simply not enough of the delicious sauce. A selection of cornish cheese finished the dinner. The food and the atmosphere together with a nice view over the harbor made this a fantastic evening. Go there and enjoy. I would always come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious doesn't begin to describe it”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent dinner at Alfresco last night. We turned up at 8pm without a reservation and the place was packed, but we were told to come back in an hour and they would hold a table for us. Other guests strongly suggested we should return and we were glad we did so.
The waitress was really nice and chatting away with all the guests.
But the real experience was the food they indulged us with. We started with the textures of goats cheese that included a foam and two fried pieces of very delicious cheese as well as tomatoes of different sort. The taste was just incredible, one of the tomatoes was slightly warm, excellent.
Then I had lemon sole with asparagus, broccoli, a crispy fried oyster and cider sauce with hazelnuts. The combination was just heavenly.
To finish we chose from the cheese board that come with warm thyme honey and a chorizo jam that was unknow to me before but really nice.
All in all we had a very pleasant evening here with the best dishes we had during our stay in Cornwall. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank oszorsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Not an Obvious Lunch Choice.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a good lunch with a decent bottle of wine, we were not disappointed with the Alfresco.

The food was excellent and the wine list had a good choice at sensible prices.
First impression looking through the window is of a formal dining experience, but the waitress makes you feel very welcome.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank frankthewool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab visit”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Visited here on our first night in St Ives and really enjoyed it. I am not normally one for posting reviews but felt that they really deserved an excellent rating. The food was lovely (ate from the set menu which was very good value) and the customer service as good as any we have experienced. Would definitely come back again if ever in St Ives.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeamTwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfresco Cafe Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing