We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lazy lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porthminster Beach Cafe

Porthminster Beach Cafe
Ranked #15 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sorry for any inconvenience but we are closed on Christmas Day
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lazy lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

we booked an outside table it was a sunny day ,the lunch menu was just enough crispy bacon ceasar salad ,my husband had the pasta we had a lovely bottle of wine ,no rush the staff were great we overlooked the sea we could have been any where just fab

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,478
    508
    184
    91
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Fantastic location on the beach. I had the best lobster I had ever eaten! Great service and can't recommend highly enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noreen0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“This May Be Best in St Ives”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Don't expect Gordon Ramsay in the kitchen. Food is OK but not up to London or most fine dining British standards for 2014. Waitress very anxious to have our order and turn the table. There are not many other choices in St Ives worth the visit. Visit Cornwall for the scenery, not the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EchoBravo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

What can be nicer than enjoying dinner overlooking what must be one of the best beaches in England? If this is what you are looking for, then look no further than the restaurant situated at the far end of Porthminster Beach. The food is excellent and the staff very friendly. There is plenty to chose from the menu. I can recommend the locally caught fish. If you are planning to eat here, then booking is essential as it is one of the most popular restaurants in St Ives.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbeatable fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This restaurant has a stunning location and the quality of the food matches this. We have been several times over the last few years and the food and service seem to have become more reliable over that time. I can definitely recommend the fish and chips followed by deconstructed Pimms dessert, but other members of our party all enjoyed different dishes too.

We were also impressed by the waiting staff's attitude when we asked for a slight amendment to a dish. They seem to understand true customer service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 444StuartM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porthminster Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Porthminster Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing