We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great setting.”

Porthminster Beach Cafe
Ranked #18 of 149 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sorry for any inconvenience but we are closed on Christmas Day
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great setting.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Recommended by a friend who always makes a beeline for the cafe when in St Ives, we had a wonderful lunch - absolutely delicious food. We were lucky that when we passed by, we spoke to one of the chefs who saved us a table with a view when we booked for the next day. The view is magical and we saw a seal bob his head up when we were gazing out in a happy haze at the end of a wonderful meal, so recommend you try to book a table with a view, The staff were friendly and efficient and we will also be making sure we visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank croydonflightpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,654
    550
    202
    103
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Eat on the beach”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Wonderful location to have an evening meal. Great food and service. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McNKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic location ....”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Porthminster Cafe was recommended by a friend and didn't disappoint. The location is excellent with views the beach from throughout the restaurant but there are only three tables where its unobstructed. So make sure you ask for a window table when you book. The food was very good and the service efficient. I was disappointed at the attitude of one staff member who seemed annoyed that I was only drinking one glass of wine and wouldn't have another but the rest were very friendly and polite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trinigasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful views, lovely food and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a family favourite with us - a beautiful location, food great, friendly service - the staff really looked after us. It's a unique place, the site of many memorable meals with family and friends. The views across the beach and the bay to St Ives are magical, whether you're there in sun, rain or thunderstorm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“They are doing things well here”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great location, thoughtful staff, interesting food which is always good. One could certainly find faults but it would be churlish - this is a great place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gourmet_Vegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porthminster Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Porthminster Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing