We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September visit”

Porthminster Beach Cafe
Ranked #15 of 146 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sorry for any inconvenience but we are closed on Christmas Day
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“September visit”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Perfect location and probably the finest cup of coffee I have ever had in England, maybe in Europe as well

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Edsveta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,617
    542
    195
    98
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best food in West Cornwall”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Pricey, hard to get a table, the access road is nightmarish, but WELL WORTH IT! The food is always excitingly different, visually stunning and a delight to eat. The wine list is OK too, and during the day and early evening the views over St Ives Bay are wonderful. Advise park elsewhere in/around St Ives and walk, or come on the train which is 200yds away.

Helpful?
2 Thank TAH1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous As Ever”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is officially my favourite restaurant ever. We have been loads of times over the last 10 years or so & it just gets better & better. The food, service, view, staff are all fantastic.

To get a window table in the restaurant you have to book quite some way ahead, which is well worth it. Booking online is easy on their website.

The Chocolate Creme Brulee was especially fine on our recent visit :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jackson94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
2 reviews
“Excellent food, excellent service!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Best food we've had in a long time. Comfortable surroundings, lovely sea views and excellent staff. Would love to eat there every day!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrissiePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lunch on Friday”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We caught the train from st erth to st Ives and the station very near porthminster beach cafe went in for a coffee and a splendid caramelised apple and blackberry muffin,followed by a lovely walk around st Ives looking in shops and galleries ,it was then decided to return to porthminster for lunch we were warmly greeted and shown to a nice table after studying the menu we settled on two lots of fish and chips and two seafood linguine pls around of drinks two alcohol two cokes we then had quite a long wait for the food which did get us an apology from the charming waitress the food eventually arrived and was very good ,the slight shock came with the bill I know everything was priced on the menu but £65 pounds a little steep for November lunch but we would go back again

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porthminster Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Porthminster Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing