We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need new staff”
Review of The Sloop Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sloop Inn
Ranked #36 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We always visit the sloop when holidaying in St Ives and it is a very packed pub, sadly this year we found the staff (one in particular) very rude. We were standing at the bar mid afternoon which was very quiet and we were completely ignored! when we mentioned this we were basically told in no uncertain terms that if we didn't like it we could go elsewhere, it ruined our afternoon,hence we didn't go back and probably wont again. Its such a shame that bar staff seem to think that because it's pretty much the only pub on the harbour they can be rude as they obviously don't need the business, what happened to putting the customer first?

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank naps2731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
There are newer reviews for The Sloop Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 500 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2009

I have stayed at The Sloop twice over the last few years. It is full of character. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are fine considering the age of the building. If you get a room at the front the views are stunning (the photo attached is the view from the room we were in: "The Lookout"). You should consider that you will be directly over the outside seating area though so don't expect it to be quiet until after the pub shuts! (St Ives is EXTREMELY busy in August) Breakfast is seved in the rooms and is very good.

I would definately without hesitation recommend a stay at The Sloop.....

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Stayed for a night -- got upraded to a room with a seaview which was nice. The room though is v basic, clean-ish, but had a nice sized flat screen TV.

Evening was too noisy though because of the bar downstairs and another karaoke session at the back of the building. We had to keep the TV on the whole night to drown out the noise.

Breakfast was nothing special. Twas served in the room, but service was sloppy (ie spillage on the tray...quick aplogy given but twas left for us to clean on our own, and set the table......not impressed at all.

Receptionist was very helpful and friendly though and if you want to be at the heart of the action, and if you want a central location in the town and sea, then this is a good choice (provided that you ignore the room and the noise).

For £95 a night (cost of the top luxury B&Bs in Cornwall), we don't think it represents good value for money.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank boop2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

My partner and I had a wonderful four night stay at The Sloop in St Ives with a room with a lovely view overlooking the harbour. The room was adequate and the large bathroom very clean with a nice jaccuzzi bath. The room we had on the font could be very noisy as the public sit outside below the windows however we had no problems and cant wait to return. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our well presented full english breakfast was served to our room each morning. The food served in this busy little pub was great and the pub is full of character. An ideal location for the beaches, restuarants and shops, a gem of a find.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sophieWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

I have been to the Sloop many time on my visits to Cornwall and stayed once in June 2007. The Sloop is an integral part of St Ives. If you visit St Ives you have to at least visit the fabulous Sloop Inn, but I would recommend staying at least once. When you arrive in St Ives you cant really drive and stop by the Sloop due to the type of roads in St Ives so it’s a good idea to either park in the car park at the top of town or use public transport to arrive, the bus stop is about a 10 minute walk from the Sloop unless your staying in the winter when the town tends to be quieter.
On arrival the staff arrival the staff are friendly and helpful. We were allocated the room at the front of the pub which over looks the front seating area. The room can be noisy as you pick up bar noise from below you also tend to have your window open in the summer and the town and pub tend to remain busy well into the night. Also if you’re like me and well over 6ft tall be prepared to duck a lot, as the pub is several hundred years old and little has changed inside.
Inside the pub can be quite dark and in the summer it can get warm as their is no fancy air con. The food is good quality pub food at reasonable prices and the beer, well you have try the local Cornish ale called Doom Bar it is in my humble opinion delicious.
5 meters from the front of the Sloop is the beach and you are surrounded by plenty of shops and restaurants.
In summary the pub can be difficult to get to by car, dark, low ceilings, noisy and hot which I know will not suit everyone but well I love it. The pub as hardly changed in centuries and if you look at pictures of it in that time noting has changed and that’s exactly why you should visit. It’s a good honest pub with no frills and lovely beer.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzz6872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We booked the Sloop for a three night half-term break with our ten year old daughter. The location is excellent and though we did not have a sea-view we were yards from the beach. The cottage we were allocated (Crabpot) was ideal for our needs. On the ground floor there was a comfortable lounge with T.V. and a kitchen , then upstairs a double bedroom for us and a single for our daughter with televisions & hairdryers in each room. On the same floor there is a pleasant bathroom with overhead shower and a seperate toilet. All the rooms were clean, as were the towels & linen. Breakfast is pre-booked the day before and is served between 8.30-9.00a.m. which for us was not a problem. We were allocated a table in The Sloop & served on arrival. The breakfast was hot and the portions generous. We ate dinner in the pub twice and both times were very satisfied with the food and the service. Children are welcome. We did not hear any noise from the pub despite being practically next door, however this may be different in the summer months with customers eating and drinking (and smoking?) outside. Overall a good choice would happily recommend. (would suggest you pre-book one of there limited car park spaces - otherwise you have to remember to pay & display!)

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank deedeeandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

Just returned from 4 days in the Sloop Inn...Brilliant Place, Brilliant Food...Wonderful Staff. Even better Beer.. The Location Is out of this world. We Stayed in the Old Part of the Inn above the Bars. Brilliant Views across the Harbour.... A bit tight for those over 6FT even got the bumps to prove it. But it’s all part of the Inn and its History.

I Honestly Can't complain about any Aspect of the Sloop Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Stooges3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 20 in St Ives
984 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 20 in St Ives
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#44 of 102 in St Ives
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sloop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sloop Inn

Address: | West Country, St Ives TR26 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $72 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sloop Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Sloop Hotel St Ives
The Sloop Inn St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing