We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some good, some not so.”
Review of The Sloop Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sloop Inn
Ranked #30 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We visit st ives at least once, often twice a year. The sloop has previously been a favourite, to the point where it had to be the pub where my partner had his first pint when we arrived. Not so much recently. My partner has complained about the lager for the last couple of years. He feels this is mainly due to the glasses this is served in. The steaks remain good but everything else that accompanies this is now pretty average, to poor (the chips). From conversations we have had with the bar staff, we are not the first to comment or complain. The fact that those that run/own it choose to disregard our (and others comments) is sad, I suspect this establishment makes so much money during the summer that it feels it no longer has to worry or listen to us customers. We will be looking for an alternative for that sirloin next time we are down there

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimmie1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 536 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed very near hear. At first thought looked a good pub but really for us.

Good location but children need to stay outside. Prices expensive c£4 for a pint. Drinking pub really but more than I want to pay. Won't be back.

Great for groups or friends drinking - outside best. Good atmosphere. Not really or families.

Bring your wallet!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattyA32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Love this place try and get here at lest 3 times a year, any time our needs change this place still delivers, we get a dog they start doing doggy rooms, we don't like getting up to early and B&B is 8.30 till 9 no prob room
Only, pub serves brekky till 11.00am, what more can I say, do avoid St Ives July and August packed full tourists yuk but never never had a bad stay here

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Not sure if it was just for the Christmas New Year period but £4.10 for a pint of Guinness is more than I pay in London. Great location but they are just ripping you off. Plenty of other pubs in the high street with better service and friendlier staff

Room Tip: drink in any other of the bars for a fair price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank DenisStIves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights at the Sloop last weekend and had a fab time. We stayed in The Lookout and got 3 nights bed and breakfast for the price of 2, which was really good value. My partner wasnt keen on the idea of eating breakfast in the room, but on the first morning the breakfast arrived before he had chance to ask if we could eat it elsewhere. That was a result, its the best idea ever and we both thoroughly enjoyed eating our breakfasts in the room over looking the harbour. The room was compact but clean and freshly decorated, and the view was fantastic, we just couldnt take enough photos of the views from the bed and from our breakfast table.

The pub itself was full of atmosphere and was full all the time as well. We enjoyed a superb meal in the Captain's Table (upstairs), hats off to the chef and the waiter who couldnt do enought for everyone.

Its the first time my partner has returned to his favourite place for several years and despite him wanting to take me to try other eating houses, everything we ate we ate in the sloop and all of it was fab!

May need to select a bigger room if we were staying for a week or more, but then I know we wouldnt get the view.

Thanks to all who made our stay wonderful, everyone works so hard, we will definately be returning and will definately be recommending to anyone visitng St Ives.

Loved it!

Room Tip: The lookout must have the best view in the pub! Its not the biggest room, but fine for short breaks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilloandkevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Fantastic 10 oz ribeye steaks cooked to perfection, one rare and one medium rare. You can't beat the price with the deal of, ordering two steaks and then getting a free bottle of wine for £25.90. The steaks were so tender and full of flavour and the homemade onion rings were the best I have ever eaten. Far too many chips, small sad salad garnish along with luke warm half a tomato and a field mushroom. Plates were cold which is horrible.
Seating not very comfortable in the booths and the whole place could do with new tables and chairs. We will return though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StMichaelsMount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Though we didn't stay at the sloop we have been here many times and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Brilliant staff, great menu and reasonably priced. The views are amazing and I have to say that we are keen promoters of the Inn. I wont have a word said against it LOL.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deedeeptk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,025 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 21 in St Ives
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sloop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sloop Inn

Address: | West Country, St Ives TR26 1LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $71 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sloop Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Sloop Hotel St Ives
The Sloop Inn St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing