We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute delight”
Review of Chy an Gwedhen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chy an Gwedhen
Ranked #20 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute delight”
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We booked this B&B after seeing the rave reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. A very warm welcome from Mike & Jill with the offer of tea or coffee even though there was a hospitality tray in the room. We were staying to St Ives for a friends wedding at a hotel down the road and Mike very kindly offered us a lift. Our room was clean and bright with everything we needed including a beautiful seaview. Such a shame we were only there for one night - a definite booking the next time we're down in Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
65
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Clean , well run and very good breakfast. Of the 3 b and b's I have stayed in this week , this was the best.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibby3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

My boyfriend and I were struggling to get a B&B in St Ives during Aug, we came across the Chy an Gwedhen via trip advisor and not having any luck with other places. But if we were to know then what we know now we'd have booked there straight away!

Mike and Gill were so friendly and fun, they cooked a gret breakfast! the B&B was always very clean and had loads of personal touches that made the holiday for us, DVD player, DVD's, car parking and high standard of rooms.

We didn't have a view from our room but who ever stays in the room with a sea view is in for a treat every morning when they open their curtains- Carbis Bay is breath taking!

we walked into St Ives and back most days oduring our 4 nights/5 days stay which took about 20minutes- take it from us cars and St Ives don't go so walk (you can always pop into the Cornish Arms for a drink on the way)

we loved everything about Chy an Gwedhen, Carbis Bay and St Ives and I hope we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1kingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

we arrived a little ealier than expected but we were still made very welcome, the pot tea was very welcome after long drive. The room was a double with sea view was very clean everything you would expect,the bathroom was clean plus all those little extras. The breakfast was wonderful nothing was to much trouble.Their is a lovely coastal walk very near by which takes you to st ives bit hilly on way back but well worth the effort saves taking the car as car parking charges soon mount up.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murrayeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed here for 4 days, the hosts were friendly with good sense of humour without being intrusive. The location for us was perfect, a pleasant stroll to the town centre of St Ives but quiet enough, so no trying to sleep in hustle and bustle but easy enough to walk to. The pub opposite was a good 'pit stop'. Room was clean and comfortable and breakfast just right.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Me and boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights we were warmly welcome when we arrived with a brew before we unpacked, In our room had tv with freeview ! Wifi & we also had selection of DVDs to borrow (finally got to watch Marley &me) breakfast was perfect everyday we went on to stay at treganna castle wished we hadn't it cost more service for breakfast was hit. & miss the location was great tesco at end of road (every little helps) not too far to st Ives & carbis bay recommend to anyone going st Ives x

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barker20142015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We have just stayed here for 2 nights over New Year. Stunning location with views out across the bay, warm welcome and great standard B and B. The breakfast is fab - haddock highly recommended for fish lovers! The coastal walk to St Ives is beautiful, especially with a full moon at night. Anyone considering New Year in St Ives should stay here and get into the spirit -the whole town comes out in fancy dress and it's the perfect night for the whole family.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Count House Cottage B&B
Count House Cottage B&B
#1 of 7 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#18 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#4 of 7 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#10 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
#42 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy an Gwedhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy an Gwedhen

Property: Chy an Gwedhen
Address: Chy an Gwedhen St. Ives Road, St Ives TR26 2JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chy an Gwedhen 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chy an Gwedhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy An Gwedhen St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing