We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else. Delightful.”
Review of Chy an Gwedhen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chy an Gwedhen
Ranked #21 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Hayley Green
1 review
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else. Delightful.”
Reviewed September 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Chy an Gwedhen with our 16 month old son over the bank holiday weekend in August. I can't give the warm friendly service that this family owned B&B offers, any higher accolade. The views of carbis bay and the 5* breakfast were faultless together with the cleanleness of the room. Another thing was the use of the travel cot and high chair which was a big help not to have cart them with us. We will definatley be returning and telling others the use Chy an Gwedhen.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spengy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
65
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Four of us stayed at the Chy an Gwedhen over the bank holiday weekend and had the perfect time. The rooms are spotlessly clean, and the owners Gill and Mike friendly without being intrusive. The breakfast was ordered the night previously and was delicious. The dining room was quite spacious for the four tables and nothing was too much trouble. Parking was fine too.
Where other hotels would only take full weeks bookings at this time of year, Chy an Gwedhen are only too pleased to take part weeks which is good when you can only get away for a short break.
As previous reviewers, the walk to St Ives on the coastal footpath is lovely. We felt it was a bit dark to walk back on footpath at night, so walked back on the main road and called in to the local pub The Cornishman, where there was live music. The hotel is recommended to all. Thanks Gill & Mike

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed at Chy anGwedhen for two nights over one of the busiest weekends of the year.
We were made to feel welcome form the minute we arrived until the minute we left.
The accomodation was extremely clean and cosy. Perfect for a couple who want a little privacy for a weekend. Ten minutes from St ives centre, the location was perfect and exactly as described when i called to book. I would definately recommend Chy an Gwedhen. There was ample parking available for rooms, and my car was always safe.

Only poor point was the weather. Sadly it rained for the three days :(

Gill and Mike thankyou.

from Ryan and Sam

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanandsamKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2009

A welcoming friendly family run B&B. We stayed over Easter weekend which was extremely busy & came across this B&B by chance.. You couldnt ask for more. Fabulous breakfast, clean tidy rooms, we even had a sea view from our window. You were left to enjoy yourself without interference and were allowed to come and go as you pleased. Mike one of the owners gave us a lift in St.Ives as we were unable to get a taxi.

The B&B is situtated in Carbis Bay which is about a 20min walk from St.Ives or a couple of quid in a taxi. It was an enjoyable stay and would highly recommend this place and would definetely stay here again as we intend to revisit St.Ives.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2008

Chy An Gwenhen is a lovely, clean, warm and quiet B+B. The room had stunning views overlooking a bay with white sandy beaches and the cordilines in the garden gave it a distinctly Mediterranean feel in the middle of November. The owners, Mike and Gill went out of their way to make me feel at home - (can highly recommend the scrambled eggs!) It is on a bus route, two minutes walk away from a local pub and right next to a beautiful coastal path, which winds down to the town of St. Ives. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in St. Ives, check out Chy An Gwedhen.

  • Liked — The Owners' friendliness, location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cewIsleofWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOW england
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Have stayed at many B & B's in St Ives and Carbis bay, this was the best. Gill and Mike were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much bother. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank nickleby68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Have just recently returned from a 3 night stay at Chy an Gwedhen, whilst travelling around Cornwall.

Great accommodation, hosts Mike and Gill are fabulous, from the tea on arrival to Mike offering to drive us into St Ives for the evening when our bus failed to turn up.

Room was very clean and comfortable and breakfasts great.

Only slight downside was the water pressure in the shower could have been more powerful but overall we had a great stay.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the hosts
  • Disliked — Shower pressure!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PresOp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Count House Cottage B&B
Count House Cottage B&B
#1 of 7 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#16 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#4 of 7 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#11 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
#42 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy an Gwedhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy an Gwedhen

Property: Chy an Gwedhen
Address: Chy an Gwedhen St. Ives Road, St Ives TR26 2JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chy an Gwedhen 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chy an Gwedhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy An Gwedhen St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing