We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome that made us feel at home.”
Review of Chy an Gwedhen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chy an Gwedhen
Ranked #13 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome that made us feel at home.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Gill and Mike run a lovely friendly B&B that's very clean and comfortably, a warm welcome and a cup of tea greeted us when we arrived which was lovely after a six hour drive. Even though the weather was not at it's best the warm and friendly atmosphere more than made up for it. The room was clean and bright with plenty of storage for clothes, cases etc, a very comfortable bed, a well appointed en-suite and outstanding views across the bay. Breakfast was a delight and the perfect start to the day, with a varied menu there's something for everyone. There is free parking to the rear and as St Ives is within walking distance I would recommend leaving the car and walking to save on the parking fees. There is a lovely little pub just a short walk away that does great food of an evening.
Gill and Mike couldn't do enough for us and nothing was too much trouble for them, they did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. If only the weather had been as warm as their welcome. I would highly recommend Chy An Gwedhen and would book there again if we return to St Ives.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
79
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights to attend a wedding at Tregenna Castle, which is a 5-10 minute walk away. It is about a 15-20 minute walk to the centre of St Ives from the B&B. Mike and the other staff at the B&B were very friendly and provided large delicious breakfasts each morning. The room had views across Carbis Bay, was furnished to a very high standard, was clean, comfortable and had a good-sized ensuite. The staff even went the extra mile in providing me with some sellotape to help wrap my wedding gift and even ensured my friend had a delicious home-made pastry for the train home (when I saved my own pastry from my breakfast!). I'm really struggling to find anything to criticise, so at a push I would say that the curtains were quite thin so let in a lot of light in the morning (which may bother some people who need more sleep), but other than that the stay was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmverkerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Chy an Gwedhen, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us,
Sorry if the curtains let in the light, ( they are lined) there are also vertical blinds at the window,which can be pulled and closed, this should have helped.
We hope this did not spoil your stay, and we will see you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

A lovely B and B and very comfortable. The room and bed were great and a good breakfast.
And we were given a lovely welcome. It is hard to say good value for money though as nothing in St Ives is! Free Parking at the back of the house was a massive plus as parking in the st Ives area is a nightmare! The only criticism would have to be charging 50p for the dvds!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philandaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Mike greeted us with a welcome pot of tea, in the dining room, very much appreciated!
It is one of the cleanest, and smartest B & B's that we have stayed in, and we have stayed in a few!
The room had a wonderful view over Carbis Bay, en suite was very spacious and immaculate,bedding was excellent - no smelly pillows-my pet hate! Room was cleaned and tidied every day.
Breakfast choice previous night is a good idea, recommend the haddock -wonderfull! Again, everything highly acceptable.
Mike and Gill, made us very welcome, the only B & B to stay in when visiting St Ives, being so near to the Coastal Path, with car parking to hand.
Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north notts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were made very welcome by Gill & Mike,with tea on arrival,nice touch.We were then shown our room with king size bed and a superb view over the bay.The decor was bright and fresh and the bed comfortable.Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice,full english/continental plus toast and preserves,tea coffee etc.Plenty of storage space in the room and plenty of coat hangers.Parking spaces at the rear and a plesent downhill walk into St Ives either via the coastal footpath walk or on the main road.A good bus service stops 100yds from the B&B at a cost of £1.50 pp fom St Ives bus station or it was £4 in a taxi from side of bus station.Good pub within 100yds that serves meals and welcomes children also.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here for a romantic weekend getaway and loved every minute of it. Gill and Mike made us feel at home right away. The guest house is very homely, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. We booked room nr. 3 which has views of Carbis Bay from the window, very spacious, comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe space & en-suite shower.
Breakfast is cooked fresh every morning and Mike will even give you a weather forecast while you enjoy it in their dining room, which overlooks their beautiful garden.
St Ives town is just a 10min walk away, with plenty of touristy shops, restaurants (we recommend Rajpoot for a bit of Indian food, and Waterfront for excellent seafood) & pubs to enjoy in the evenings. There is parking at the guest house, and a park & ride facility about 10min walk from the main town.
We would definitely return, if visiting the area again!

Room Tip: ask for room nr. 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtravelangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I stayed at the Chyan Gwedhen for two nights. I was going to a family wedding at the Tregenna Castle Hotel which is just up the road, within walking distance, though the owners offered to drive me there.
The B & B is absolutely spotless, furnished to a high and modern standard. The food is EXCELLENT and of a very high quality which is what I am used to but often this is not achieved outside the home. The host and hostess could not do enough for me. The tables were beautifully laid, tablecloths and good crockery. The view from my bedroom window was over Carbis Bay and I could see the sea sparkling in the distance. The king sized bedded bedroom above mine had the most superb sea view.
The best B & B I have ever stayed in. There is plenty to do and see in this area. Well done, Chyan Gwedhen!

Room Tip: There is a double room with king-sized bed on the top floor - lovely room with superb view over Carb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoiYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.4 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
765 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
967 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#16 of 102 in St Ives
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy an Gwedhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy an Gwedhen

Property: Chy an Gwedhen
Address: Chy an Gwedhen St. Ives Road, St Ives TR26 2JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chy an Gwedhen 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chy an Gwedhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy An Gwedhen St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing