We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was Excellent”
Review of Chy an Gwedhen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chy an Gwedhen
Ranked #13 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Mike greeted us with a welcome pot of tea, in the dining room, very much appreciated!
It is one of the cleanest, and smartest B & B's that we have stayed in, and we have stayed in a few!
The room had a wonderful view over Carbis Bay, en suite was very spacious and immaculate,bedding was excellent - no smelly pillows-my pet hate! Room was cleaned and tidied every day.
Breakfast choice previous night is a good idea, recommend the haddock -wonderfull! Again, everything highly acceptable.
Mike and Gill, made us very welcome, the only B & B to stay in when visiting St Ives, being so near to the Coastal Path, with car parking to hand.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Chy an Gwedhen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were made very welcome by Gill & Mike,with tea on arrival,nice touch.We were then shown our room with king size bed and a superb view over the bay.The decor was bright and fresh and the bed comfortable.Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice,full english/continental plus toast and preserves,tea coffee etc.Plenty of storage space in the room and plenty of coat hangers.Parking spaces at the rear and a plesent downhill walk into St Ives either via the coastal footpath walk or on the main road.A good bus service stops 100yds from the B&B at a cost of £1.50 pp fom St Ives bus station or it was £4 in a taxi from side of bus station.Good pub within 100yds that serves meals and welcomes children also.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here for a romantic weekend getaway and loved every minute of it. Gill and Mike made us feel at home right away. The guest house is very homely, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. We booked room nr. 3 which has views of Carbis Bay from the window, very spacious, comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe space & en-suite shower.
Breakfast is cooked fresh every morning and Mike will even give you a weather forecast while you enjoy it in their dining room, which overlooks their beautiful garden.
St Ives town is just a 10min walk away, with plenty of touristy shops, restaurants (we recommend Rajpoot for a bit of Indian food, and Waterfront for excellent seafood) & pubs to enjoy in the evenings. There is parking at the guest house, and a park & ride facility about 10min walk from the main town.
We would definitely return, if visiting the area again!

Room Tip: ask for room nr. 3!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newtravelangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I stayed at the Chyan Gwedhen for two nights. I was going to a family wedding at the Tregenna Castle Hotel which is just up the road, within walking distance, though the owners offered to drive me there.
The B & B is absolutely spotless, furnished to a high and modern standard. The food is EXCELLENT and of a very high quality which is what I am used to but often this is not achieved outside the home. The host and hostess could not do enough for me. The tables were beautifully laid, tablecloths and good crockery. The view from my bedroom window was over Carbis Bay and I could see the sea sparkling in the distance. The king sized bedded bedroom above mine had the most superb sea view.
The best B & B I have ever stayed in. There is plenty to do and see in this area. Well done, Chyan Gwedhen!

Room Tip: There is a double room with king-sized bed on the top floor - lovely room with superb view over Carb...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoiYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

From the reviews and rating of this B & B we expected better. True - the hosts were very pleasant but they do seem to be stuck in the 70s especially with regards breakfast. Weirdly we had to choose our breakfast items the night before when we obviously had no idea what we would fancy the next day. Then a wee bowl of whatever was placed in front - portion allocated in the kitchen! The exact number of slices of toasts wanted was needed and the coffee was dishwater weak til we asked for stronger. No fresh fruit was available - surely a must in the middle of summer? The table in the hotel photo was ours - with a view of the main road and passers by looking in!

Having got that off my chest - the room was quite modern and well cleaned but small and being on the ground floor did not have a very good sea view. The towels were also far too small for a normal size body!

Our hosts were obviously worn out and did their best and they have our sympathies that they cannot enjoy their beautiful area as we did - it must be frustrating but normal for people providing this service. This B & B does not really deserve a 4* rating and was a little overpriced and we felt it only right to balance the previous reviews.

Room Tip: Not worthy of 4* rating
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samwidges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2011

Well, as can be seen by all our other guests, we do have a very high standard, of course everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but as an example,...weak coffee...we use a high quality coffee, if it is to weak or strong the first morning we change it ,or do it to suit the next day, no problem! Our breakfast menu has a very good choice, and if anyone requests anything different , we are only to pleased to try and get it for them, and no one has ever complained about filling in the menu the night before, it is pointed out , that if this is not acceptable , again ,,no problem..as for towels, again ,standard bath and hand towels ,
This is the first time we have ever had any complaints, but hope any guests with any problems would be good enough to come to us at the time ,and we would happily try and resolve the problem.

Maybe you just cannot please all of the people all of the time!!! although we do try !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

As soon as my wife and I walked through the doors of Chy an Gwedhen, we were received with a very warm welcome from Gill and Mike. They offered us tea straight away, even though they had a lovely welcome tray in each room. We had requested for a room with a sea view and what a view it was, indeed! The room was spotlessly clean and well laid out. The en-suite bathroom was spacious and clean. The location of the B&B was good. It was only about 10-15 min walk to the town centre through a lovely coastal path just behind the B&B.
Mike was always very helpful in suggesting suitable places to visit in Cornwall, even though the rains tampered it all.The breakfast was absolutely wonderful and they were really sweet to serve my wife with all that she wanted.The freshly baked croissants were an absolute delight to our taste buds.The haddock is also highly recommended.
Overall, we had a really good stay and the hosts were even better!! Would stay here anytime I would visit Cornwall!!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harishkrishnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The rooms are spotless and tastefully decorated.Gill and Mike are friendly and provide excellent service.The breakfast menu provides plenty of choice and the food is nicely cooked and presented.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ros_barker333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.6 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy an Gwedhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy an Gwedhen

Address: Chy an Gwedhen St. Ives Road, St Ives TR26 2JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $103 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chy an Gwedhen 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chy an Gwedhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy An Gwedhen St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing