We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming, nice room, good food, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Borthalan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We chose this hotel mainly based on the reviews here. We wanted a quiet location, off street parking with easy access to st ives... and got more than we had hoped for.
We had chosen a room with a (excellent) sea view, the room itself was not the biggest, but still had a small ensuite & was nicely decorated.
The owners were very welcoming but inobtrusive - which was just right for us
5 minutes walk from the hotel is the local train & within 5 minutes you are in st ives... or there is avery nice 30 minute coastal walk (40 minutes return ... as its quite steep in places !).
We personally think the hotels website does not do it justice ...we would definately return

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnthusiasmCurbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 65 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2009

Wonderful! Can't wait to go again! Beautiful home, wonderful food. Hospitality beyond expectations!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellbellmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Bothalan, Margaret and Martin were the most welcoming and accomodating hosts we have ever come across. Hotel spotless and our room was nicely decorated with fantastic sea views. For those who travel by train (like we did this time) the Borthalan is only a couple of minutes walk from Carbis Bay Station. Not having a car was not a problem as Martin ran us in to St Ives a couple of times and at the end of our stay drove us to the mainline station at St Erth to get the train back home ! We celebrated our Silver Wedding Anniversary during our stay and there was a card and a bottle of wine on our table when we went down for breakfast ! Hotel in a quiet location and for those who enjoy walking the coastal path takes you into St Ives, but it's very hilly in places, or take the train for £2.00 return (much easier than driving and trying to park the car). We hope to return to St Ives some day and would not hesitate in booking the Borthalan again

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrattonSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Our group stayed in 2 rooms during the late May bank holiday. While the rooms and ensuites are small, they are impeccably clean and adequately furnished. The owners, Margaret and Martin, could not have been more friendly and helpful. Breakfast was made to order and more than adequate. The tariff was reasonable in an expensive area. It is a short walk (steep incline) to the train station to St Ives and the beach. A few restaurants are located within walking distance. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed at the Borthalan Hotel from 3rd May - 10th May 2009. I would recommend this Bed & Breakfast to anyone whether they are thinking of visiting St Ives for a weekend break or for longer as we did. The rooms were very well kept,clean and had everything we needed. The full english breakfasts are great and set you up for the day. More often than not we didn't eat at lunchtime because the breakfasts were so good.

The owners Martin & Margaret are lovely and they make you feel very welcome as soon as you arrive. They suggested places for us to eat in St Ives and nothing was to much trouble if we needed anything.

The hotel is located a short walk out of St Ives, overlooking Carbis Bay. If you choose to go into St Ives you can either use the coastal walk which takes around 20 minutes or you can catch the train from carbis bay station and be in St Ives in 3 minutes, this cost £2 return.

If you want a nice relaxing break away from the hustle & bustle then stay at the Borthan Hotel and you will have a great time. We are looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fruitbat251084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

I wish my stay could have been longer then one night, St Ives is a beautiful place and staying at this hotel made it even better. The hosts are very friendly, the hotel is very clean and the food is excellent.
It's a short walk to Carbis bay beach, and about a 20 minute walk to central St Ives. If you don't want to walk there is as a bus service on the rain road to St Ives and train service (might only operate in the summer months), these two forms of transport are only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

The hotel has a lot of character and atmosphere, and I will be staying there again on my next trip to the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrRembrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Ideally situated in Carbis Bay just a short £2.00 return trip on the local train to St Ives. Much better than staying in St Ives as parking is at a premium. We had a sea view room spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. Martin and Margaret are fantastic hosts and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was excellent and kept us going all day. We would not hesitate to return and recommend hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.0 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#18 of 20 in St Ives
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borthalan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borthalan Hotel

Address: Boskerris Road, St Ives TR26 2NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: $93 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borthalan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Borthalan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borthalan Hotel St Ives
The Borthalan Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing