We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous Guest House to stay in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thurlestone Guest House
Ranked #16 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
1 review
“What a fabulous Guest House to stay in!”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Our second stay at the Thurlestone, having thoroughly enjoyed a previous short stay in 2008. Our family were not disappointed to have chosen to visit Carbis Bay again.

Mandy and Gary are always so welcoming - perfect hosts and they really can't do enough for their guests. Their cheerfulness and attention to detail hadn't slipped since our first visit.

Our family stayed in two rooms; A beautiful, clean, well-presented Family Room with great sized bunk beds for our teenage twins and a delightful, bright, cosy single room for our older teenager. Both rooms were very tastefully decorated and offered very well stocked refreshment trays on our arrival!

The footpath opposite the Guest House leads to a coastal path which goes into St. Ives with some stunning views along the way!- we were lucky enough to see seals swimming in Carbis Bay.

Our family highly recommend The Thurlestone - we hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bint5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
76
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed at the Thurlestone Guest House for a couple of days so we could attend a wedding. From the moment we arrived Mandy [the owner] was there to greet us, she was so friendly and we were made to feel so welcome. The room was really clean and had a beautiful view out over Carbis Bay. We could even have our room cleaned every day if we wanted. Breakfast was lovely and fresh with plenty of choice!! The staff were also really friendly and made you feel at ease. We had a wonderful weekend in Carbis Bay [ which is gorgeous] and to stay at the Thurlestone made it all the more special. Thank you Mandy for looking after us you were fab!! Hope to stay with you again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This was a return stay for us and we weren't disappointed, Mandy & Gary are superb hosts! The rooms are modern, well presented and are kept very clean. Breakfast is amazing, it sets you up for the day.
In terms of location the footpath opposite takes you into St Ives along a beautiful 20 minute walk, just get a taxi/bus back to avoid the steep return journey. This may be a four star guest house but really has five star touches! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezzab67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2010 with my husband and our 14month old baby. The owners were really welcoming towards us all, even providing a high chair and plastic bowl/plate for our toddler. We could not ask for more in this respect.
The B&B was very clean and tidy, the breakfast was great and it was good that there was plenty of parking outside the B&B.
The room was always spotless but was pretty small. Maybe this was emphasised by the fact that we had a toddler and a travel cot in our double room (not the family room). The en suite was also tiny - your knees were under the sink when you sat on the loo!!! But don't be put off - it was so lovely and clean and welcoming that we were happy with our choice of B&B.

The B&B is on the main road out of St Ives which is pretty busy so its not the best location- you could not leave your window open due to the traffic noise but you can't hear it much with the window shut. To walk to Carbis Bay beach (which is lovely) is very steep down a little footpath but it is do-able. We did it with a pushchair so it can't be that bad, although I wouldn't fancy the walk back again. To walk into St Ives takes about 30 minutes along the main road and is an energetic walk with some steep hills - good for walking the breakfasts and the pasties off but might be a bit far for most people. There are plenty of taxis in St Ives if you don't fancy the walk. St Ives itself is gorgeous - we cant wait to return.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank No_1_Derbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We took a complete chance on Thurlestone as we were taking my mother in law to St Ives for her 80th birthday but couldn't get accomodation there. However, we are so glad we found it! Mandy and Gary are excellent hosts making you feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a double and single sea view room. What a great relief that our room (room 2) had a superkingsize bed! At 6'4" and 5'9" we sometimes have a problem with small doubles! The rooms were lovely. Clean and well furnished with everything we could need. and always plenty of hot water! Breakfasts were amazing! Again all you could wish for and more. There is quite a sttep pathway across the road leading down to Carbis Bay beach. Easy going down, hard work coming up but well worth the walk as the beach is fabulous. Nice to be able to come back to the guest house and recover with a glass of wine in the lounge! Great advice from the family as to where to visit, Minack Theatre being a favourite with all three of us. Spectacular especially in the red hot sunshine we were fortunate enough to have for our whole viisit. Nice to be situated outside of St Ives which was very busy, but only £5 by taxi for the three of us, £1.45 per person by bus(almost outside the door) or £2 by train. Lovely restraunts in St Ives especially for fish lovers. Would definately recommend and will go back. Good value, extremely comfortable, excellents hosts and great breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morsy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Room was great for a family and the owners were extremely indulgent of our young boys. Clean, with an attractive room for breakfast. Owners even drove us to the train station! A bit of a hike to town, but manageable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMBII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
317 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

i stayed here for 2 nights in may. gary and mandy are ideal hosts - friendly, welcoming, helpful - and the hotel is faultless. very comfortable, easy access, free car parking (which is difficult in st ives)all very clean and tidy, easy wi-fi, lovely bar, and superb breakfasts. There really isnt anything you could find fault with - the accomodation, the owners, the prices, or the service. All in all, just perfect, and I will come back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.0 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.3 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#16 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurlestone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurlestone Guest House

Property: Thurlestone Guest House
Address: Thurlestone House St. Ives Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thurlestone Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurlestone Guest House is a AA 4 Star Silver award Guest House. We have been awarded Trip Advisers Certificate of Excellence for 4 years running Beautiful sea views. light options or a freshly cooked English breakfast. Always a warm welcome. Sorry there is on longer a bar/lounge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Thurlestone Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurlestone Guest House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing