We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rose Cottage is a no no if you want sleep!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gonwin Manor Cottages
Ranked #16 of 27 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Rose Cottage is a no no if you want sleep!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2010

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Gonwin Manor in Rose Cottage. We had a bit of a nightmare before we even got to the cottage to be honest. When we got the brochure through it spoke of a fully equipped gym on site, hence us booking it however upon looking at reviews a week before we were due to go I found another individual complaining that there was no sign of the gym!! When enquiring I was told that there was indeed no gym and they hadn't got planning permission. I found this strange as the gym was also advertised on the website a week before we left and still shows on the website. I feel that the price would have reflected the use of the gym however we were not offered any adequate apology or indeed reimbursement of part of our holiday. What is annoying is that we always stay somewhere with a gym or pool and would have picked somewhere else had we not been mislead at the outset. (We would recommend Fox Valley Cottages near Foye if you want a nice indoor pool - stay at Foxes Den Cottage!).
When we arrived the cottage was beautiful and very well equipped. We had a pasty supper ordered which was ridiculously expensive and whilst nice I wouldn't recommend buying it as frankly it's not worth it. Rose Cottage has another cottage over half of it and on three nights we were unable to sleep as we could hear loud footsteps and the washing machine was on til midnight for some bizarre reason for most of the week!! We did complain after a few nights and the noise then stopped although the footsteps are very loud (just as if you are at home and a teenager is stomping!). The brochure confirms wifi is available. When we arrived we were given a card with a log in however it wasn't until we read the card that we realised a charge applied however again nothing was mentioned in the brochure and we were lead to believe it was free. It cost a measely fiver but when you are paying £1000 for the week you would expect this to be free surely?! There was a disgusting odour coming from our bathroom and our kitchen sink. When we complained about it we were told that there was nothing that could be done and the water just smelt!! It must be something to do with that place and in the summer it must be even worse. We had to have the fan on constantly in the bathroom and even then it was still apparent. We stay in the area regularly and have never smelt anything like it. The grounds of Gonwin Manor are great with a manmade lake. One side of the lake has a seating area with sun loungers and a BBQ. The views are great so it's a good chill out area. All in all if you want to pay over the odds then go ahead but you are paying for the views out the back garden. You are also paying for sleepless nights and a very bad smelling bathroom and kitchen sink. On the plus point there is an IPOD connection in the wall in the lounge which means music can be piped through to the rooms which is clever. There are also books and games in the lounge. The lounge has a sofa however it needs replacing as it was very saggy and it seems worn out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Slough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed in Bluebell for a holiday by the sea as the website seemed to imply that the beach was just at the end of the garden. What was actually at the end of the garden was the coastal path that led down to the beach after a 20 min walk. (There was me dreaming of us strolling to the beach in flip flops before breakfast!). Now the coastal path is lovely (having spent a week hiking it a few years ago) but you do need to come prepared for mud and nettles in some places and so I feel the website was not at all helpful and downright misleading with its description and photos.
Also, my brochure stated a fully equipped gymn (and this is also shown on the arial map on the website) but no sign of this at the actual place (not as disappointing as the distance to the beach).
Now the cottage itself was very nice and clean. Being rated as 5*, it had supremely comfy beds, quality bed linen, lots of white fluffy towels, bath robes etc... which were all wonderful. Add to this TVs everywhere, ipod dock and a very well equipped kitchen and you have an extremely comfortable stay. The double bedroom is a bit dark as there is only a small window in the corner. Bedside cabinets and lamps are NOT standard which was surprising. Our five year old loved the jacuzzi bath but it wasn't actually very comfy to lie back in due to the spouts digging into your back.
There are wonderful views from the garden. There could be some outdoor games/equipment if they were trying to make this place family orientated. Don't know how well the 'private' patios with barbecue work as the weather wasn't ever nice enough that week for any of the cottages to brave it - but the hedges are only 1m high around each patio so it's more personal rather than private. And there was a patio belonging to some other cottage around the other side which looked directly through the corridor window into our bathroom so we had to keep the blind down (frosted glass might have been better!).
All in all, we did enjoy our stay. It is, after all, a lovely area. There's a lot that's spot on and just a few niggles that let it down especially when considering the price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyXS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Spent 2 weeks in Sunflower cottage with our 3 young children and it really was the most wonderfully relaxing experience. The cottage is amazingly comfortable with such excellent fine details to make your stay as enjoyable as possible! The beds are simply to die for! The children could play outside in the grounds and just loved the resident pooches George and Jess!..The location was perfect as not too far from St Ives and it's wonderful ambience and not to mention the Porthminster cafe which is an essential visit and finishes your walk along the exquisite coastal path walk perfectly!! VBook a table by the window asap..
We will most defineltly stay again..is pricey but you only get what you pay for these days and this guarentees an unforgettale stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoodwinsDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

An amazing place. Beautiful cottages. Very well equipped kitchens etc with top end appliances. Nice touches such as the IPOD docking station. Fantastic beds. Amazing location overlooking the sea and beaches and next to a golf course.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gr00mus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

Often a webite will leave you disappointed by the reality of a holiday - the reverse is true at Gonwin Manor: the website doesn't do the experience justice.

We were greeted by Sharon's mother who made us feel really welcome and at ease. Our hosts couldn't have been more friendly and obliging but were always completely discrete. As mentioned in other reviews, the attention to detail and the provision of a fresh cream tea, bottle of wine and chocolates was a lovely touch. The facilities in Lavender Cottage were first class; the kitchen was more than well equiped and the furnishings were beauiful. The owner's dogs were a extra added bonus - we wanted to bring them home with us!

The manor overlooks Porthkidney beach - truly amazing and almost empty even on a hot sunny day. The walk into St Ives is also stunning but takes a good 45 minutes. Restaurants we can recommend in St Ives are The Wave and Alba - both serving excellent seafood and other local produce, with very reasonable wine lists.

Further afield, the walk from Zennor to the Casacks and back via the fields is well worth the effort - about 3 hours in total. Sennan to Lands End is a much shorter walk but still provides breath taking views. There are also plenty of walks to be had closer to Gonwin Manor.

The Minack theatre is also a worthwhile trip but get there when the gates open to get a good seat, take a cushion and picnic and wrap up warm as it does get cold!

A perfect holiday, you will not be disappointed by this place - we certainly intend to visit again!

  • Liked — The luxury - excellent facilities and attention to detail
  • Disliked — loved everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kellyws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth Lincs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

we stayed in Bluebell cottage at the beginning of August and loved it. Everything is 5* quality, comfy beds, plasma TVs in all rooms so no kids arguing which channel they want on! Don't forget your iPod as you can plug it into the cottage wide hi fi system. The kids fell in love with the owners two spaniels, George and Jessie (I've never spaniels so placid, maybe it's the west country air?). Beautiful walks on the doorstep, and only 10 mins walk to Carbis Bay beach - pure white sand and turquoise blue water - paradise.

Nothing's too much trouble for Sharon and her mum, we really appreciated the little touches, like the bottle of wine and the clotted cream that greeted us on arrival, the kids even had some treats to feed the dogs.

Sorry we had to leave, we'll be back. Thanks.

The Grahams

  • Liked — the quality and location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BecandBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We recently stayed at Gonwin Manor cottages in Rose Cottage.

The cottage has lots of lovely gadgets such as fantastic kitchen equipment and jacuzzi bath. The IPod link that allows music to be played in any room was great. The cream tea and wine and chocs were a nice touch.

We were disppointed though by the noise that carried through from above. It didn't explain on the website that there would be an apartment above the cottage. We were woken early every day and kept up late several nights by the people above walking about, and things like the washing machine/dishwasher on. We were quite surprised how much noise carried. This obviously wasn't their fault but meant we never really had a lie in, which we were looking foward to. If we had known this, I would have chosen a smaller cottage which didn't have anyone above.

The lake and decking area is lovely and the views amazing. We were surprised people didn't seem to be there more often.

Is in a good location for St Ives and the rest of south of Cornwall. We were a bit disappointed by St Ives, which wasn't quite a nice as we expected. Highly recommend the Porthminster Beach Cafe and a trip to Falmouth.

Overall, it was a lovely place but would not recommend that particular cottage if you do not want to be risked being disturbed from overhead.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Padston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#4 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#16 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gonwin Manor Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gonwin Manor Cottages

Property: Gonwin Manor Cottages
Address: Gonwin Manor Gonwin Manor Drive | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 3GN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — Gonwin Manor Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Gonwin Manor Cottages Hotel St Ives
Gonwin Manor Cottages St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing