We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gonwin Manor Cottages
Ranked #22 of 27 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful cottages in quiet location but walking distance to Carbis bay beach and 5 min car journey to St Ives. Luxury accommodation, cream tea and a bottle or red waiting for you when you arrive. Perfect base to explore the gorgeous surrounding areas of Cornwall. And owners dogs just make the experience even lovelier with a friendly greeting for you each day! Would ( and have) recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Stayed in both Bluebell cottage and Sunflower cottage. Both gorgeous but our preference is Sunflower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewerU K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for a week 12-19 July in the Rose cottage. The location is fabulous, the cottages have everything you could possibly need so you can have a home away from home. The owners are so helpful and the service is second to none, nothing is too much bother for them. Gonwin manor really exceeded all our expectation and we will certainly be returning.
The daily visits from the owners dogs George, Mabel and Chester made us chuckle every night, Steve and Gill thank you for a wonderful week!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for a week Friday 28th June - Friday 5th July. What a relaxing week in a smashing place!
The cottage (Lavender) was just spot on. Everything you could possibly need from a self catering holiday was there. A real home from home.
The little private gardens are fabulous and if only the weather had been better we would have used the BBQ!
Our puppy Baxter loved the freedom and his new friends Mabel, George and Chester.
We would recommend the Fire House in St Ives, the Badgers Inn in Lelant and the Lamb and Flag in Hayley all dog friendly and lovely food.
Will return and will certainly be recommending to our family and friends.
Thank you Jill and Steve for all the little touches that make this holiday so special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

To say that Gonwin Manor exceeded my expectations is an understatement.
Steve and Jill who manage the property could not have been more welcoming or more dog friendly as they have three dogs of their own. The grounds are beautifully kept with areas designated for doggy business! The property goes straight on to the coast path, over Porthkidney Sands which allows dogs on the beach all day, all year.
The property itself is beautifully equipped with Dualit and Neff appliances in the kitchen and a jacuzzi bath - perfect after those long coastal walks.
The personal touches really made it. A welcoming cornish cream tea with chocolates made locally and a bottle of wine, a fire that had been laid, a beautiful vase of roses, lovely linen, robes and towels, wifi...I could go on...just made it feel like a home from home.
I'll be back!

Room Tip: Pictures of the cottage interiors are all online; take a look!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here again recently as we had had such an amazing experience in February 2012.
It was perfection last year and yet again this year.
I cannot praise Gill and Steve and Michael and Sharon enough. They know what they are doing and do it brilliantly, nothing is too much trouble.
This is the perfect site to explore all of west Cornwall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I along with our three and a half month old baby girl had a great experience at Gonwin. The cottages are beautuful, fully kitted out and the location stunning. The Spa onsite, Aqua Spa is excellent, we had 3 treatments there and were hugely impressed by the quality of the treatments and value, the staff there were very friendly. Massively recommend it. The owner Sharon is extremely nice, she went out of her way to ensure we had a wonderful first holiday with our baby girl. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTMWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from another week at Gonwin manor cotages and as usual the service and accomadation is outstanding. To top it all off there is now a new spa on site-fantastic. I had 2 amazing massages and my daughter had a gel manicure. My husband and the family played golf with Steve which was great fun. Our dog enjoyed the company of the resident dogs. All in all everyone was happy-great week. Booked to return in Easter!

Room Tip: All excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
746 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gonwin Manor Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gonwin Manor Cottages

Property: Gonwin Manor Cottages
Address: Gonwin Manor Gonwin Manor Drive | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 3GN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — Gonwin Manor Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Gonwin Manor Cottages Hotel St Ives
Gonwin Manor Cottages St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing