We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place”
Review of Ayr Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ayr Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Great little place to stay if you want to be close to St Ives. Arrived late but a note had been left for us in reception to tell us our pitch number etc. Pitch was large and included water and electric if needed. We got our 4 man tent and car in wothout a problem.

Staff in reception were friendly. Toilets and shower block looked fairly new and modern and were always clean. There was a games room but thats about it, not a problem though as you are just 10mins walk from the main town and plenty of places to eat and drink nearby.

Definately going back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roser73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    82
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
125
191
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Colsterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

I planned to stay for the bank holiday but felt so badly treated that I felt I had to leave after one night.

We arrived and parked my vw camper on the hardstanding and then erected the awning on the adjacent strip of grass. After about an hour of struggling in the wind and dodging dog muck we eventually finished. The manager then arrives and demands that we had to move the awning ad one of the pegs was 2 inches onto the pitch next to us and we were contravening health and safety.

We did move and ripped our brand new awning in the process. My partner decided to go to the office and mention it to reception who couldn't have given a toss.

We left the very next morning and we will never go back.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FletcherBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Ayr Holiday Park, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
I am sorry that you had a bad experience at Ayr. Our pitches are designed so that you can site your motorvan next to the service bollard, with your awning then also pitched on the gravelled area. The grass area is then available for you to sit out on and the grass does not suffer from groundsheets being laid on it. The grass area also gives good separation from your neighbours for privacy and to prevent the spread of fire, hence the health and safety call. I am sorry that we did not notice sooner how you were siting your outfit, as we would have asked you earlier to move your van next to the service bollard. Apart from the fire risk, we have to be mindfull of the reaction of your neighbours, who would probably have complained to us that you were to close to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon traveller
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Excellent facilities which are kept immaculately clean. We had a very large pitch which allowed us to spread out and not feel cramped at all. Bench/tables are available over the park and are great to sit at and look at the stunning view. Staff were very helpful. A quick walk into town - just take it easy coming back up the hill. We went for the estival and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I just wish the music in the shower block came with a volume control.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, Surrey
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2008

Great campsite. We stayed a week during the annual St Ives September festival and it was wonderful.

The view from the site across the cliff to the beach and sea is just breathtaking and it was lovely to wake up to it each day and sit outside the tent enjoying a cooked breakfast.

Little shop nearby for supplies and a man in a van drives round each morning selling groceries and newspapers.

The toilet and shower blocks are the best I have ever seen. Modern, clean, warm, with music piped through and plenty of space.

All in all, great value and highly recommended. Features in the book 'Cool Camping'.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sconifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAIGNTON, DEVON
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2007

We have stayed at Ayr Holiday Park quite a few times now, usually 2 or 3 times per year and each visit has been great.

This time we stayed for 2 weeks in a static caravan. As usual, good sea view, spacious caravan, clean, tidy and all facilities inside the caravan which you'd expect.

We always enjoy staying here because it is only a 10 minute walk down into St Ives itself (and usually a short taxi-ride back up - you could walk it, but its a very steep hill to walk up, so would recommend a taxi ride back up).

The holiday park itself suits us brilliantly, its a small friendly family site, no clubs, pubs, shops stag or hen parties, etc and just a small games room for the children. Ideal for a nice peaceful and quiet holiday.

  • Liked — Peaceful and very relaxing
  • Disliked — None really
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 0ANGELA0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.0 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayr Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayr Holiday Park

Property: Ayr Holiday Park
Address: Ayr Holiday Park, Ayr, St Ives, Cornwall | Off Alexandra Road, 600 Metres From Tate St Ives, St Ives TR26 1EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only holiday park in St Ives itself, offering holiday caravans for hire and pitches for motorhomes, touring caravans and tents. We are open all year, have great sea views from the park and are just a ten minute walk from the town and beach. Our sister hotel, The Garrack, welcomes Ayr guests for dining in the AA Rosette restaurant and for drinks and snacks poolside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ayr Holiday Park Hotel St Ives
Ayr Holiday Park St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing