We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location, clean and well-run”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ayr Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ayr Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, clean and well-run”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Being fairly new to camping it's taking us time to find places we like. Ayr is the only place so far we've been back to.

You go to sleep to the sound of the sea and wake up looking at it. You can walk into St Ives in 10 minutes (anyone who's been there knows that it is a nightmare to park in). The shower block and facilities are very good indeed. And there's no on-site bar with bingo and a kids club, thank goodness.

At £27 a night for a tent it isn't cheap, but nor is St Ives.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Retreaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    80
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
125
186
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have camped here before and it is just the Most perfect spot, high up on the cliffs overlooking St Ives, the views are simply stunning. The shower blocks are amazing, very lean and done to the highest spec imaginable. There is a breakfast bar where you can get bacon rolls etc every morning, good playground for the kids. Bit pricey at £30 a night to camp for a family of four, but I guess you pay a premium for the location and facilities.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EvieandGracesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Thank You Ayr Holiday Park for a great week. We hired one of the sea view caravans overlooking St. Ives town and what a view we had. Excellent! It was late season and we considered it very good value. Also within walking distance to the harbour with all its pubs and cafes. Plenty of Taxis if the up hill walk is too much. The reception staff were very helpful. The Toilets/Showers are very very clean. Just can't fault the place. It was an excellent week and will always be remembered for been just that. We took our old friend, John, with us who was seriously ill. He died not longer after and I will always be greatful to Ayr Holiday Park for giving him a wondeful week....he enjoyed it immensely. I would recommend this park to all those considering a stay here. In the past we have camped here and It does get busy in the summer months, so if like us you prefer it quieter then off season is equally good. Thanks again!

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view and September is a good time if you want to miss the crowds. but still get mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klivex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner recently stayed at this holiday park in our motorcaravan. Upon arriving we were greeted kindly and welcomed even though we hadn't booked and was given an amazing pitch for the night! We couldnt have asked for a nicer pitch. The washrooms were spotless and the whole campsite was clean. The views were amazing! Well worth staying here if your near by. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here this June for a night, Fantastic spot, a little more expensive then the other campsites we have stayed in but worth it.

Great views walking distance to st ives town. Toilets and showers the best i have ever been in in a campsite. Happy Days. Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We arrived on the Saturday as refugees from an appalling nearby site, we were stressed out, cold and tired after our 7 hour trip down. We were met by friendly staff with a can do attitude and were quickly shown to a couple of available caravans, both were brilliantly appointed, clean, smart and had fantastic views. The park is immaculate, quiet and convenient for the harbour and it's amazing beaches. The team at Ayr Park really saved our holiday. Thanks guys, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east Midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

What a great campsite, we stayed in a tent for a week in july and had a great time despite the wet weather. The site was very well kept. Staff hard working. The shower/toilet blocks are spotless with underfloor heating and plenty of water taps around the site too. The views across the bay and the atlantic were fantastic. Will recommend to fellow camping friends and would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samb076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.0 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayr Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayr Holiday Park

Property: Ayr Holiday Park
Address: Ayr Holiday Park, Ayr, St Ives, Cornwall | Off Alexandra Road, 600 Metres From Tate St Ives, St Ives TR26 1EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only holiday park in St Ives itself, offering holiday caravans for hire and pitches for motorhomes, touring caravans and tents. We are open all year, have great sea views from the park and are just a ten minute walk from the town and beach. Our sister hotel, The Garrack, welcomes Ayr guests for dining in the AA Rosette restaurant and for drinks and snacks poolside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ayr Holiday Park Hotel St Ives
Ayr Holiday Park St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing