We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Setting for a Wedding”
Review of The Old Vicarage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #22 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My partner and I got married in the Conservatory at The Old Vicarage in April 2014. We could not have been happier with the experience. The rectory itself is a beautiful building, retaining original Victorian features interspersed with an air of quirkiness which only adds to its charm.

We had Cornish Cream Tea and Champagne afterwards and photographs were taken in the wonderfully mature and secluded gardens.

Dianne was very welcoming and the whole experience was moving and memorable. I would highly recommend The Old Vicarage as a venue for a wedding.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainbowsmoothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 142 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

we had enjoyable w/end at the old vicarage ,warm welcome from Dianne .Car parking 1st class
Nice old house full of charm,comfortable bedrooms .breakfast superb full menu 8-30 to 9-30
Honesty bar is great for late night drink and you will probably know bar staff.we left the car in the car park walked downhill to town and beaches,taxi back up at night as easy as parking in town
without the hassle .Restaurants in St Ives 1st class we used Sea Salt and the Mermaid would recommend both. Walks along coast path St Ives to Lelant nice 4 mile walk and enjoyable train ride back regular inexpensive service

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very friendly, Made to feel very welcome. Spotlessly clean.Massive choice for breakfast.Very pleasent staff.Parking no problem.Jo Jo our dog loved it too.Beautiful gothic house. Lots of original features.Looking forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: just a little bit out of town but would recommend to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed for one night with two friends, liked it very much. The rooms are decorated beautifully, comfortable and they have a cosy bar on the ground floor in which we enjoyed some drink while playing cards. Had a nice conversion with the host Martin, and will definitely choose The Old Vicarage again if travels back to St Ives.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shupei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was lovely. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are very comfortable. Wifi is available in all rooms. They even have an honesty bar downstairs, where you drink what you like and make a note of your tab with your room number and pay when you check out.
The breakfasts are sumptuous: homemade yogurt with fresh fruit salad, full Cornish breakfast, smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, homemade fishcakes with poached eggs, kippers etc.
The only downer is that the hotel is situated uphill from the town centre and it is a bit of a steep walk. You can catch a bus 9up til 6pm) or get a cab if the walk is too arduous. The benefit of the location is that it is very quiet and has lots of areas to sit in the garden. The hosts are friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yas52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a nice little place! It's in the middle of a residential neighborhood, you go down a little driveway and suddenly there's this old house and beautiful yard. Would have been nice to stay longer to just relax in the garden.
The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. We did not have a car and they made accommodations so we could store luggage even when noone was there. The rooms were like your great aunt had decorated and quite charming. It felt like home, not a b&b
It's a good walk into town- and coming back it's up a long long hill. I guess I earned lots of ice cream that way, even if my ice cream kept getting stolen by seagulls. It would have been nice to be closer to town but it was also nice to be away from the mobs and noise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCJuveFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Old Vicarage. We were made to feel very welcome & nothing was too much trouble! Breakfast was amazing as was the service! The only downside for some could be the distance from the town centre but there is a bus & we enjoyed the walk into & out of town twice a day! We will certainly be going back there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelhollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
3 mi away
Halwell Lodge
Halwell Lodge
#18 of 102 in St Ives
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 102 in St Ives
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#2 of 7 in Carbis Bay
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Storm in a Tea Cup
Storm in a Tea Cup
#20 of 102 in St Ives
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Leaf Guest House
Little Leaf Guest House
#3 of 102 in St Ives
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Parc an Creet, St Ives TR26 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $56 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage is a family run charming former Victorian rectory. We provide four Star quality en suite accommodation with on-site parking and our AA Breakfast award ensures our guests are offered one of the best breakfasts in St.Ives! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing