We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful w/end at the old vicarage”
Review of The Old Vicarage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #25 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful w/end at the old vicarage”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

we had enjoyable w/end at the old vicarage ,warm welcome from Dianne .Car parking 1st class
Nice old house full of charm,comfortable bedrooms .breakfast superb full menu 8-30 to 9-30
Honesty bar is great for late night drink and you will probably know bar staff.we left the car in the car park walked downhill to town and beaches,taxi back up at night as easy as parking in town
without the hassle .Restaurants in St Ives 1st class we used Sea Salt and the Mermaid would recommend both. Walks along coast path St Ives to Lelant nice 4 mile walk and enjoyable train ride back regular inexpensive service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
56
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very friendly, Made to feel very welcome. Spotlessly clean.Massive choice for breakfast.Very pleasent staff.Parking no problem.Jo Jo our dog loved it too.Beautiful gothic house. Lots of original features.Looking forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: just a little bit out of town but would recommend to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed for one night with two friends, liked it very much. The rooms are decorated beautifully, comfortable and they have a cosy bar on the ground floor in which we enjoyed some drink while playing cards. Had a nice conversion with the host Martin, and will definitely choose The Old Vicarage again if travels back to St Ives.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shupei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was lovely. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are very comfortable. Wifi is available in all rooms. They even have an honesty bar downstairs, where you drink what you like and make a note of your tab with your room number and pay when you check out.
The breakfasts are sumptuous: homemade yogurt with fresh fruit salad, full Cornish breakfast, smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, homemade fishcakes with poached eggs, kippers etc.
The only downer is that the hotel is situated uphill from the town centre and it is a bit of a steep walk. You can catch a bus 9up til 6pm) or get a cab if the walk is too arduous. The benefit of the location is that it is very quiet and has lots of areas to sit in the garden. The hosts are friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yas52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a nice little place! It's in the middle of a residential neighborhood, you go down a little driveway and suddenly there's this old house and beautiful yard. Would have been nice to stay longer to just relax in the garden.
The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. We did not have a car and they made accommodations so we could store luggage even when noone was there. The rooms were like your great aunt had decorated and quite charming. It felt like home, not a b&b
It's a good walk into town- and coming back it's up a long long hill. I guess I earned lots of ice cream that way, even if my ice cream kept getting stolen by seagulls. It would have been nice to be closer to town but it was also nice to be away from the mobs and noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCJuveFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Old Vicarage. We were made to feel very welcome & nothing was too much trouble! Breakfast was amazing as was the service! The only downside for some could be the distance from the town centre but there is a bus & we enjoyed the walk into & out of town twice a day! We will certainly be going back there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelhollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire england
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Looked around for a place at a difficult time due to August bank holiday plus we had a dog as well and the Old Vicarage came up and I must admit it came up trumps and lived up to its recomendations from others... lovely breakfast and nothing was too much trouble, delightful garden to sit in the dog enjoyed that too and despite the fact it is out of the town at the top of the hill, next door is the rugby club where they run buses up and down to the town so very convienient, although I had my 92 year old father with me so used the car a lot and infact found parking in the town all be it expensive, but its st Ives a nice place to be !

Room Tip: room 7 a nice twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJV61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
2.9 mi away
The Badger Inn
The Badger Inn
#29 of 102 in St Ives
322 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#14 of 102 in St Ives
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#9 of 102 in St Ives
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Poldhu Guest House
Poldhu Guest House
#93 of 102 in St Ives
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
385 reviews
1.6 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: Parc an Creet, St Ives TR26 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage is a family run charming former Victorian rectory. We provide four Star quality en suite accommodation with on-site parking and our AA Breakfast award ensures our guests are offered one of the best breakfasts in St.Ives! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing