We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hospitality”
Review of The Old Vicarage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #23 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our stay at The Old Vicarage was perfect! We really enjoyed the warm hospitality of Dianne and her family, and The Old Vicarage was exactly what we expected from our holiday in England. We not only enjoyed the atmosphere of the house and the rooms but also the lovely garden where we spent quite some time in the shade, hiding from the rather hot sun! From time to time, the two lovely cats said hello!
Also the breakfast was perfect, we very much appreciated the smoked haddock and of course the home made fish cakes! Everybody at the Vicarage made us feel most welcome, many thanks for 3 days of relaxing St. Ives.
Marcel, Heemstede/Holland

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 139 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

The service and staff we experienced was outstanding.
The room spotless and all the requirements for an enjoyable bath and shower, tea and coffee etc.
The location was perfect with a beautiful garden, where we sat in the evening and experienced clear sky and stars, also enjoyed a good glass of wine from the bar.
The breakfast in the morning was delicious, definitely recommended.
Plenty of space for parking, as in St Ives can be very difficult.
Thank you Dianne and Martin for making us feel so welcome and your advice of where to go to eat, it was perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We loved our stay at the Old Vicarage, it is a beautiful old building with lots of character. The rooms are spacious, light and airy. The breakfasts are scrummy! Especially Diane's homemade fish cakes, delicious! We were made to feel very welcome and the staff are all very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
We love visiting St. Ives, there is plenty to do, places to see and lots of lovely restaurants to choose from, food is a big part of our holidays!
We will be returning very soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracyjohn186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have just returned from a week at The Old Vicarage with two friends. I cannot rate it highly enough. Warm welcome, beautifully furnished bedrooms, spotlessly clean and amazing breakfasts. St. Ives is a difficult place to park a car so we were able to leave the cars at the hotel and either walk down to the town or take a very reasonable and friendly taxi ride.

We do hope to return some time. Thank you to Dianne and Martin and the housekeeping staff for making our stay so perfect.

Room Tip: All three rooms were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were traveling with our 4 teenage children so the three rooms we had at The Old Vicarage were perfect. The staff is fabulous and we really enjoyed breakfast in the morning. It is a charming place to stay within walking distance of downtown St Ives. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

A beautiful building. The entrance is beautiful with a sweeping staircase to well appointed rooms. Everything you need for a stay in St Ives. The hosts are very welcoming and the breakfast very enjoyable. All home made. A lovely quiet place to stay if you want a relaxing holiday in St Ives.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiBins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay, so relaxing and peaceful. The surrounding gardens are wonderful, you could just sit there all day. The staff are really friendly and polite. The food is absolutely fabulous, there is so much to choose from the breakfast menu, you could have a different breakfast for each day of your stay, what more could anybody ask for.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very quiet, not much distinction between each one of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5KennethandPat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#10 of 20 in St Ives
374 reviews
0.7 mi away
3 Porthminster
3 Porthminster
#19 of 102 in St Ives
128 reviews
1.7 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#24 of 102 in St Ives
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#11 of 102 in St Ives
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 102 in St Ives
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Parc an Creet, St Ives TR26 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $56 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage is a family run charming former Victorian rectory. We provide four Star quality en suite accommodation with on-site parking and our AA Breakfast award ensures our guests are offered one of the best breakfasts in St.Ives! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing