We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lusciously gorgeous”
Review of The Old Vicarage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #21 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a beautiful B&B. Gorgeous building, tastefully decorated with period pieces. Spotlessly clean and in a great location. There is a lounge room, sitting room and dining room for guests, all comfortable and inviting. Plenty of on site parking, just 2 minutes up the road from the village of St Ives. The breakfasts were fantastic, fresh fruit, yoghurt, and a full hot breakfast menu to suit every appetitive. Friendly and helpful hosts. Definitely would recommend this property.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 142 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely place to stay for a short break or a longer holiday.Very clean accomodation,terrific breakfasts to start the day with,good choice. Friendly staff to look after you,nice grounds,although we went at the wrong time of the year to really appreciate them.Nice and quiet,good position except for the trek back up from the town,we took taxis back up which were very reasonably priced.(£4.00).Penny ,who looked after us with breakfasts etc. is a star.Overall,ex.stay.

Room Tip: All on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dumperoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at The Old VIcarage in july/august 2012 for a week. Our family of 2 adults and 2 children of 13 and 7 occupied one of the family rooms which was comfy and cosy and kept nice, clean and tidy by the friendly staff each day. The breakfasts were extremely good and we enjoyed every one of them - trying most of the options available. We enjoyed the walk down into st ives every day, but as a family with lots to carry to the beach we got the bus back to the rugby club which was at most only a 2 miniute walk from The Old Vicarage - very handy. Most evenings we went back into st ives walking both ways.
We stopped at The Old Vicarage as we were able to get married there and we wanted a small wedding - just our family of 4 and 2 friends to be witnesses. The building looked really beautiful and seemed to be be perfect for our wedding - just what i was looking for. We all really enjoyed the day we had a choice of 3 rooms for the ceremony and chose the conservatory - having all the plants and the sun shining through the windows was lovely. The gardens were lovely and a great place for the wedding photos.
Dianne and Martin were both friendly and in the background but would be there should you need them. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here over a long weekend with out three children. We loved it! The owners, Diane and Martin, made us extremely welcome. The house is beautiful and feels full of history. The rooms were spotless. The children had a fantastic time playing hide and seek in the huge garden. Our youngest thought he'd found pirate treasure on the drive! The breakfasts were great, including the veggie one. We enjoyed the short walk down to the beach and St. Ives itself is a great place to wander around. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaM735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A really lovely family run place, couldn't have got a warmer welcome from Dianne and Martin. Wonderful to be back again.

An absolutely stunning building - so much history and wonderfully decorated, quiet location, spotless rooms, fantastic breakfast, and best of all the small bar. We'll definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone visiting St.Ives.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_SELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have stayed at the Old Vicarage Hotel many times over several years. It is a delightful place, very comfortable and welcoming. The building, its location, the gardens, the interior and decor are beautiful; as others have said, it is an 'Oasis'. The breakfasts are superb as is the breakfast room in which they are taken. All of the staff are very friendly and welcoming. It is a superb location to base oneself and explore St Ives and the fabulous West Cornwall coast and landscape. I thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked two rooms for a family party of four adults, ours was to include a cocker spaniel dog who unfortunately had to be put to sleep earlier in the year.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and there was no trace of previous occupancy by four legged friends, the beds were very comfortable, breakfast a real treat and the staff friendly and helpful.

Situated in a quiet wooded oasis insulated from every day sounds and with parking on site, the walk down to St Ives was ok but a taxi back most welcome, though fares did vary between drivers!

We all enjoyed our stay at The Old Vicarage, and recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,756 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
27 The Terrace
27 The Terrace
#10 of 102 in St Ives
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Leaf Guest House
Little Leaf Guest House
#3 of 102 in St Ives
794 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trevose Harbour House
Trevose Harbour House
#1 of 102 in St Ives
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Parc an Creet, St Ives TR26 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $58 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage is a family run charming former Victorian rectory. We provide four Star quality en suite accommodation with on-site parking and our AA Breakfast award ensures our guests are offered one of the best breakfasts in St.Ives! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing