We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel and hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Channings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Channings
Ranked #4 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is the first Trip Advisor review I have ever written but we enjoyed our stay so much I felt compelled to do so!

When the sun shines there is no better place in the UK than St Ives and I don't think there can be a more welcoming hotel in St Ives than Channings.

Susan, Marcus are new to the hotel game but they have certainly found their calling. The welcome is warm, the breakfast delicious and nothing is too much trouble.

As other reviews have mentioned, some parts of the hotel decor are dated, but the work that has been carried out since they have taken over is excellent and judging by what they have planned over the winter, a lot more of the hotel will be up to the same standard next year.

Thanks again for making our stay so enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn_Emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Glenn and Emily and thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure having you here to stay, and we hope to see you both again soon. Thanks again, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
119
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

spent 3 nights here, a terrific guesthouse, lovely view of the harbor from our bedroom, Susan is a warm, friendly transplanted Scot, Marcus makes incredible poached eggs. Beware the climb from the harbor front to Channing's is very steep, thankfully they also offer free parking which is scarce in lovely St. Ives. If you want a quality guest house this is first class.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carollover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We enjoyed meeting you both and hope you might pop in to see us in the future on one of your frequent trips to the UK! Thanks again, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just returned from our second visit to Channings since Sue & Marcus took over, they have just done their first year of business here and I must say they are making a first class job.
The rooms are clean, well appointed and are a very good size.
The breakfasts are plentiful, well cooked and there is a good selection of either English or Continental.
Nothing seems too much trouble for them and this makes for a relaxing and enjoyable stay.
Channings represents excellent value for money and we are looking forward to a stay next year.

Room Tip: Room 1 has beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you Chris for writing such a nice review. It is always a pleasure to have guests as lovely as you, Ann, Gemma and Matt to stay. We hope you manage to come and stay again next year! Thanks again, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Have just returned from a couple of nights staying with the lovely Susan and Marcus at Channings. they were perfect hosts and wonderfully welcoming. The kids really enjoyed the stock of board games and us adults really enjoyed been able to make use of the fridge in the compfy lounge to store our wine and beers! we were delighted to be there while Susan and Marcus celebrated their first anniversary at Channings and the Buck's Fizz and breakfast was a really lovely touch. we hope to return in the not too distant future.
Orla Dove, Ivybridge

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orladove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi Orla. It was a real pleasure to meet you and your family and we love the fact that you made use of all the facilities here. Thank you for your review! Susan, Marcus and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambuslang, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our first holiday in st Ives staying at channings with good friends we had room 3 which was large and spacious and very clean . It was a pleasure to meet our hosts Susan @ Marcus and children who made us very welcome . The breakfast was very good each day and well cooked by Marcus we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this to anyone staying in st Ives .Colin @ Betty Blackburn.Cambuslang

Room Tip: Room 1 has a great sea view and room 3 is large and cool in hot weather with a partial sea view both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Betty and Colin, how nice of you to leave a review. We really enjoyed having the four of you to stay here and hope you will make it back to St Ives at some point in the future. Thanks again, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larkhall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

our first ever visit to cornwall was a weeks stay in the channings and a weeks stay in looe the hosts susan and marcus and the 3 children were a delight to meet and the breakfast was first class and we slept like logs each night they couldnt have made us more welcome and a pleasure to see each morning looking forward to going back at a different time of the year it was hot and would book the channings always thanks for all your help susan a pleasure to meet you and marcus tom and mary larkhall scotland

Room Tip: just speak to owner susan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you Tom and Mary for your kind words. It was really nice to meet you both and we would love to see you again soon. Thanks again, Susan, Marcus and kids! xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billandann
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

we have stayed at the channings many times over the years, the new owners susan and marcus made us very welcome and we stayed in room 4 sorry now room a , very clean and pleasant the new look breakfast room has great views over the bay,the breakfast was varied and cooked well by marcus ,i recommend his poached eggs,emmily the young waitress was very helpful and helped make our stay.we will return again in 2014.
it was also nice to see guest who we have also stayed at the channings many times, returning
if you want a special place to stay in st ives ,this is the one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi Bill and Ann! Thank you for writing a review, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you both again! Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trevose Harbour House
Trevose Harbour House
#1 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings

Property: Channings
Address: 3 Talland Road, St Ives TR26 2DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Guest House with free on-site parking in St Ives. Channings is close to the beaches, shops, station, coach terminal and leisure centre. All rooms are ensuite, with tea/coffee making facilities; some with stunning sea views. We have large family rooms available. The property is centrally heated throughout with breathtaking view from the guest lounges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel St Ives
Channings St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing