We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Channings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Channings
Ranked #4 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed at the Channings for 3 nights. Susan and Marcus are very friendly and welcoming and have good local information to share about the local area. I found the B & B very comfortable and clean, a great location and the Breakfast offered was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
It was lovely to meet you Sophia! Good luck with everything! Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
135
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Channings for a long weekend in my first visit to St Ives. It is a family-run guesthouse located nearby the old town. Room was comfortable, clean and well-equipped. There is a good choice of breakfast and everything is prepared on the day.

Hosts Susan and Marcus are very kind and always there to help. It was a pleasure dealing with them.

I would recommend Channings to anyone looking for B&B accommodation in a good location and kept to a great standard.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuito66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. Hopefully see you again soon in St Ives! Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Travelling out from London during the week, we stayed in this gem whilst visiting Cornwall. Our standard checklist that includes free (and fast) WiFi, hairdryers, in-room coffee making facilities, available parking, proximity by foot to a good variety of shops, cafes and restaurants... were met. Delicious home made breakfast served in the bright and cheery dining room also made it the perfect way to start our day. Amidst the morning madness Susan managed to squeeze in time to share sightseeing and dining tips. Thanks to her recommendation of taking a short walk from Sennen Cove to Land’s End, we skipped the car chaos and enjoyed spectacular views.

Thanks again Susan and Marcus, and good luck with the grand plans you have in store for Channings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndieaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for the review! Hope the rest of your time in the UK went well. Best wishes, Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a very enjoyable four night break at Channings. The hotel is very well situated not far from the centre of the town and, although the hills are steep, (the more so after eating in one of the excellent eating places in St Ives!) the car can be left in their private car park. Our room was comfortable, spotlessly clean with very good facilities (free WiFi was also provided) and had a large bay window with stunning views overlooking St Ives Bay. Susan and Marcus were excellent hosts and breakfast was superb with a good choice, fresh ingredients and very well prepared and presented. We also thought it to be very good value for money and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a great view of St Ives Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Did you manage to see the Queen I wonder?! Louis managed to take a good photo of her!! Hope to see you both again in the future and hope your kitchen renovations are progressing smoothly. Thanks again, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend recently stayed at Channings and couldn't of been happier with our stay. The location is great, views are breathtaking, ample parking and the bedrooms are immaculate. The breakfast was with out doubt the nicest breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. Susan and Marcus made us feel really at home. I would highly recommed Channings for a St.Ives get away and we will definatly be back

Room Tip: Sea View room is definitely worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Very kind words Daryl, thank you! It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and Una. I hope the kayaking went well. Best wishes, Susan and Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shepton mallet
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed at the channings many times ,and pleased to say that susan and marcus who have recently taken over , were very welcoming and friendly host , we loved the new dining room with great sea views ,lovely breakfast ,and a lovely lounge if you want to relax in ,bedrooms are also immaculate,and furnished well ,with lovely ensuite bathroom , no worrys with car parking , we really enjoyed are stay last week ,and look forward to are next vist ,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane56steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
It was lovely to meet you both and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write a review. Hope to see you again soon! Susan and Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spent a week over the Easter holidays staying at Channings. Susan and Marcus were very warm and friendly hosts, nothing was to much trouble, rooms spacious, clean and great views of the sea. The update in the dining room is bright and refreshing, a great choice for breakfast recommend the cooked mushrooms !! No need to use car as location is great for beaches, shops, café all within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 920SamR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it, and are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
967 reviews
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings

Property: Channings
Address: 3 Talland Road, St Ives TR26 2DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Guest House with free on-site parking in St Ives. Channings is close to the beaches, shops, station, coach terminal and leisure centre. All rooms are ensuite, with tea/coffee making facilities; some with stunning sea views. We have large family rooms available. The property is centrally heated throughout with breathtaking view from the guest lounges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel St Ives
Channings St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing