We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Channings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Channings
Ranked #4 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great stay in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Booked from Australia and took our chances.We could not have been happier with the quality,service and location just up the hill and a short walk to all of Saint Ives attractions. New owners Susan and Marcus were courteous and helpful and have plans to update the decor and feel of the B and B.We will be recommending St Ives and Channing's to all of our mates in Aussie.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for this review. It's nice to know that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope the rest of your trip went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
119
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheepscombe
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Had a great 5 nights at short notice 2 wks after Susan, Marcus & their kids took over. If their other guests are treated as well & as courteously as we were then I'm sure they'll have a great future ahead of them.

The hotel feels a bit Fawlty Towers in terms of decor but I know all of that is planned for an update. Our bathroom was newer & v nice. We are intrigued to see how they improve it when we return. Everything was spotlessly clean & cosy. Marcus's hearty breakfasts kept me going most of the day & it seemed as if nothing was too much trouble. I got the feeling the other guests felt the same.

It's 5mins walk to the harbour down hill. Private parking at the rear & great sea views from the front. It's not really a hotel, more of a v nice B&B now. They were happy for us to bring our 2 Cocker Spaniels & if we'd have wanted, I think the hamster would have been welcome too!

Happy to recommend!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank WillTheBold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
It was a pleasure meeting you and your family. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely week's stay at the Channings in St Ives. Susan and Marcus were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, which is much appreciated with 3 young boys!
Our room had fabulous sea views,the breakfast was great and the hotel was clean.Only a short walk to the town and excellent beaches,and very good value for money.
We had a flat battery on our car on the day we departed and they helped us with a charger to get us going!
We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you and your family here, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
170 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Not usually my style to start a review with a grump, but.... while walking the South West Coast Path I've revisited many of my favourite West Country places from the past 30 years. Some are still great but some really do have ideas above their station - and the common thread seems to be some sort of 'celebrity thing'. Padstow has the 'Rick Stein effect', Watergate Bay with Jamie Oliver's restaurant, Salcombe with its silly property prices and C List Celebrities..... Well St Ives is heading that way thanks to the Tate and my B&B search threw up an endless list of 'Boutique Hotels' with their eco-friendly toiletries, vegan menus and £100+ a night rooms.

So....... thank goodness for places like Channings Hotel!

Everything you need for a comfortable stay, really friendly and helpful hosts, clean well-appointed rooms, off-road parking and a cracking good breakfast.

Downsides? Hardly any. It's a bit of a hike back up the hill from the town centre and you can't use the WiFi if it is being used in the hotel office.

If you want a comfortable stay with excellent hosts and at a sensible price - give the Channings a call.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trevose Harbour House
Trevose Harbour House
#1 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings

Property: Channings
Address: 3 Talland Road, St Ives TR26 2DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Guest House with free on-site parking in St Ives. Channings is close to the beaches, shops, station, coach terminal and leisure centre. All rooms are ensuite, with tea/coffee making facilities; some with stunning sea views. We have large family rooms available. The property is centrally heated throughout with breathtaking view from the guest lounges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel St Ives
Channings St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing