We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay.”
Review of Lamorna Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lamorna Lodge
Portishead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Friendly, welcoming & accommodating. Great breakfasts & lovely location. Good beaches. Coastal path into St Ives is a very nice walk but plenty of trains from the nearby station if you don't feel like walking. Many interesting shops in St Ives.
Unlike previous reviewer (NLR) we had absolutely no problem with our ipad on the hotel's wifi during the week we stayed and the components of the breakfasts were not of poor quality as he stated when we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My friend and I took a mini break to st Ives and we found this wonderful B&B online. Could not fault it, good location, clean, helpful staff, lovely welcome, good facilities... Wonderful breakfast! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kbrierly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel is near the top of the road leading onto the main road into St. Ives. At the bottom is the railway station into St. Ives. The hotel is bright and very clean and the owner friendly. We had a fine bedroom and an excellent bathroom with a brilliant shower. Breakfast was plentiful and multi-choice but the components of it: bread, coffee, eggs seemed of very poor quality. The free wifi was atrocious: on the first night we had a lot of trouble with it, thereafter we couldn't connect at all for the next 2 days. There was something wrong with their side - neither our macAir and Iphone would connect. However the owner claimed she knew nothing about the internet. I have travelled all over the world using our laptop from India to Morocco and had no problem. On top of this on our 2nd day our room still hadn't been cleaned by 4.30pm. Overall the place was acceptable but not as good as we had hoped for

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay when visiting St Ives. It was our first family holiday and with a 7 year old, 16 month old and newborn we were slightly concerned that 1) we wouldn't have enough space in the room, 2) we would be made to feel like we were causing hassels. Well our concerns were for nothing. From the moment we walked in (with a very tired family after a 7 hour trip from Hampshire due to ridiculous traffic) Joanne made us feel so welcome. Nothing was too much trouble including letting us use a bottle warmer and steriliser in the room for the newborn. The room was lovely with a gorgeous view of Carbis Bay beach. It was enough room and the bed was so comfy (wanted to strap it to our car roof and bring it home). Breakfast was delicious and had a lovely selection which pleased all of us. We also ate there one evening and enjoyed that meal as well. The Honesty Fridge with cold drinks was a lovely touch to be able to get cold drinks when wanted. Joanne was so friendly and helpful when helping us plan our day there. I would thoroughly recommend staying here and when we do return for another holiday we know exactly where we are going to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBeardUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We chose this hotel by reading all the fantastic reviews on this site, so had to find out for ourselves whether it was worth it.....Absolutely!
Joanne was very friendly and settled us in. We stayed in a family room which had a great sea view. The bed was comfortable and the room was spotless. Much better than large 4 star hotels we've stayed in!
Breakfast was very organised which was all served by Joanne herself. I think her husband did the cooking, but we didn't get to see him. It was well presented and the cutlery & crockery were spotless! After a day you get to know the other guests at breakfast as each room is allocated a table. Our table had a lovely sea view.
Very close to Carbis Bay beach and a short distance by car or bus into St Ives town.
Would highly recommend staying here (maybe we shouldn't cause then it will be fully booked when we want to stay again!!)

Room Tip: All rooms must be good as that is the standard of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RSmith192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here again for 6 nights and had another wonderful stay.  On arrival, Neil welcomed us with coffee and biscuits which we enjoyed on the smart new decking area at the front of the hotel - very welcome after a long journey.Our room was bright and airy with views over to the bay and lighthouse, and was a good size too.  Breakfast was up to its usual high standard and the hot dishes were well-cooked and beautifully presented.  Joanne always offered us extra toast, coffee etc.- plenty of food to prepare you for the day.  The cold drinks (with an honesty box) was very welcome during the heatwave and meant that we didn't have to worry about getting drinks all the time.  We also enjoyed a cream tea on the new terrace one afternoon - absolutely  delicious!  A range of other snacks are available in the afternoon too.  We look forward to our next visit - many thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here in June & it was excellent. We were met by Joanne on arrival & were instantly offered a tea or coffee. She then explained to us what the local restaurants were like & told us the best way into St Ives & where to park. We were shown to our room & Joanne told us how to work the tv etc. She recommended a restaurant in St Ives for my birthday supper & superb it was too.
The following morning & breakfast was really good. The choice of food is excellent & the full English was cooked to perfection by Richard. Extra toast was offered every day & Joanne is excellent front of house. Nothing is too much trouble for her & she ensures that she spends some time at each table asking about your plans for the day or where you ate the previous evening.
From some of the reviews I would say our room was one of the smaller ones but it had everything that you could need & we try & spend as little time in our room as possible when on holiday. It was very clean & the shower was very good.
This is an excellent place to stay if you are thinking of going to St Ives & we would really recommend it. Just a bit gutted that we did not have the weather we have now, just to be able to stroll down the road to Carbis Bay beach would have been a joy. I did not mention that the views from the Dining room & Guests lounge are fantastic.
Do yourselves a favour & stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bergkamp616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
764 reviews
1.3 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamorna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamorna Lodge

Property: Lamorna Lodge
Address: Boskerris Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lamorna Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious and beautifully decorated seaside residence with 9 en-suite bedrooms. Free parking. Award winning breakfast.Highly commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lamorna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamorna Lodge St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing