We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE SMALLEST ROOM WE EVER STAYED IN” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nook

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nook
Ranked #37 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
san antonio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“THE SMALLEST ROOM WE EVER STAYED IN”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We booked a double room with shower ensuite for 3 nights and were given the smallest room that we ever stayed in. We stayed in Room 6 and the dimensions of the room were about 8ft by 11ft. We could barely function here and had to use our engineering skills to get our luggage and ourselves into the room. The people at the Nook were lovely and helpful and the breakfast was quite satisfactory as was the condition of the guest house. If the room was truly habitable we could have given the nook better marks. Also, if you stay here be prepared to use a taxi for the return trips up the hills from the town center.

Room Tip: Please discuss the room size prior to booking to avoid a most unpleasant experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadwarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    70
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
129
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is an old house operating as a bed and breakfast. There are 6 guest rooms on the second floor but no elevator so beware if, like us, you are of a certain age and have heavy luggage. Our room was quite small and we could hardly manage to get around the bed. The owners, Louise and John and their staff, Vicky and Tamsyn, are very accommodating. I think they hope to make up for the lack of amenities with a warm, friendly welcome and they almost pull it off. There were no sea views from our room and it was a 15 minute walk from the hotel into town. The walk can be pleasant but unfortunately we encountered a lot of wet and blustery weather. The walk from town to the hotel is more difficult as it is uphill and at night there is little illumination. Breakfast was made to order or you can opt for yogurt, cereal, bread on the lighter side. It is a clean, spartan accommodation but nothing special.

Room Tip: If they are not fully booked you can ask to see the room before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

It was our wedding anniversary on the 3rd November and so decided to go away for the weekend to celebrate. St Ives was our choice of destination. A quick search came up with The Nook. We were so glad we found this charming, cosy, welcoming guest house.
The breakfast was lovely, with a good choice on offer. The small team would even go "off menu" as they aimed to please.
The room was spotless, warm and very comfy. Snuggly would be a good word, if it was a real word. We and a lovely view across the bay to Hayle Sands (Number 4). Liked the art work, fridge and TV.
Best of all was the welcome, though. The staff really make the effort and we were very grateful that they helped make our weekend such a memorable one, especially Vicky.
Bit of a walk into town, but a Taxi back was only £3.00, when you have had a good night.
Perfect thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martintravels9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Very cute room, lovely comfortable bed, had such excellent sleep here, really great staff. Location was pretty good with a short walk down to the waterfront, walk back at night with a full tummy takes a little longer up those hills but good exercise. Breakfast was decent enough. Shower is a bit tricky to get working right but that would not stop me from staying there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chad l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We recently had a 4 night stay at this very nice B&B, which is run by sisters Vicky and Tamsin, who are both extremely helpful. Our room whilst not overly big was ample for our needs. The room and bedding were very clean and the bed had a firm mattress. The bathroom was modern and all fixtures and fittings were in good repair. Our only issues was the room was too hot, it appears they have been awaiting a plumber to fix the thermostat. There was a wide selection of food for breakfast: yoghurt, cereals, preserves, fresh fruit, toast and a selection of cooked items. Everything was nicely presented and cooked as requested. We opted to include parking and didn't have any problems with parking. Nothing appears to be too much trouble at the Nook and we would certainly return. It's not too far to walk into St Ives as long as you don't mind the steep hills.

Room Tip: If you have specific needs I would recommend you phone before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked this b&b as u could pre book parking at £2 a night. We were a bit worried after reading other reviews that the spaces were small as we have a 4x4. When we arrived the parking was fine, no problem getting in and out of the car. We had a warm welcome and we re really happy with our light spacious room and filling breakfast. Only downside is that the showers weren't as powerful as other places we be stopped, but we this wouldn't put us off stopping again. Walk down into the centre of st Ives took around 10 mins, but it is uphill on the way back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milly1978-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Clean, quiet and friendly, Perhaps we were unlucky but the room was way too cramped. Just as well we are both skinny because anyone on the large size would have been unable to get in or out of the 'ensuite'. The door opened into the bathroom and the manouver to get out was awful! The room itself was tiny and hot ...no space for a chair and when you sat on the bed, the whole thing slewed into the other bed .The most uncomfortable room I have ever stayed in..

Room Tip: Ask for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAC224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.3 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#9 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Old Farmhouse
The Old Farmhouse
#79 of 106 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#20 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nook

Property: The Nook
Address: 5 Ayr Terrace, St Ives TR26 1ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nook 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nook guest house in St Ives, Cornwall, is close to the Porthmeor Surfing Beach, the Tate Gallery, St Ives Harbour and town centre.Our on-site car park means the guest house is an ideal base for exploring Cornwall’s spectacular coastline, gardens and countryside. If you want to stay closer to home you could simply soak up the beauty and atmosphere of St Ives with its art galleries and cobbled streets. The Nook offers bedrooms with full en-suite facilities and a modern and contemporary feel and has been awarded an AA 4 Star Gold Star Award for Guest Accommodation.For the safety and comfort of all our guests we operate a no smoking policy. Guests wishing to smoke may use the outside patio area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Nook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nook Hotel St Ives
Nook St Ives
Nook Hotel St Ives
The Nook St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing