We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming hosts, convenient location, great breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tregony Guest House
Ranked #10 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Welcoming hosts, convenient location, great breakfasts”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Tregony for 4 nights in April. The location was perfect, being 5 minutes walk away from the town centre, but just up the hill from the Tate and Hepworth galleries.

The B&B is at the top of a steep hill, but for that you are rewarded with fantastic views over Porthmeor beach, and the location is very, very quiet as you are away from the bustle of the town centre, but still within easy reach.

We didn't have any problems with the shower mentioned by others.

Shane and Lorraine were welcoming hosts and the breakfasts were first class: plenty of choice and great quality, local food. And plenty of it: we didn't need to eat again until evening!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house have a great view over the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
91
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed in Room 5 top of the house. Cosy room with fabulous view on to Porthmeor Beach. Avoided the shower after hearing all the monkey noises from husband (see review by GFDI). Nice breakfast and very friendly couple running the place. Would stay again, if shower behaves.

Room Tip: Room 5 for best view in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Great view from the room looking out over the bay.Comfortble, and clean, but the ensuite shower let it down. The shower room was small and the shower alternated between scalding hot and freezing cold every 30 seconds.

Location was good, peaceful and quiet! Boasts were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GFDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Fantastic veiws from this little B&B overlooking the beach and sea out of St Ives, only problem with the location was it's at the top of a very steep hill so you have to pretty fit to keep making the journey, we came very early by train and the owners were very accomidating letting us leave our bags there rather than taking them around town before checking in. Breatfast was very good both days, a big selection cooked well. Room was more than adequate for what we needed with tea and coffee facilities, and a good bathroom. Could have done with more local information in the room as a lot of the information was quite old. Owners very friendly and interested in what we were there to do. All in all a nice little B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in August 2012. The owners were friendly-great service at breakfast.
We stayed in room 5 and had marvellous views out to sea and along the coast.
The room was clean, well furnished and had a selection of hot drinks to make and good quality shower gel and shdmpoo provided in the bathroom. We did encounter problems withe the shower tripping mid use which was a bit of a hassle.
Breakfast had a good choice of fruit, yoghurts and cereal as well as your choice of a variety of cooked breakfast goodies.
Potential guests do need to be aware that, even though only situated a 5 minute walk from the harbour and local amenities, it is a very steep walk back up to the B&B. Parking is also a bit of a nightmare as there us none at theB&B and street parking/carpark spaces are very limited. Nightmare!
Overall, an enjoyable stay and I would be happy to recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becster2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The first thing to write is finding this B&B is quite tricky and don't rely on your sat nav as we were going round and round St Ives and just happened to come across it out of luck more than anything! Take a print out of the roads to give yourself half a chance. Once inside the B&B is lovely, the room and bathroom was large and the breakfast yummy. It is a little bit of a walk down to the beach and anybody with mobility problems may want to reconsider however it is a really lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed in the family room for 3 nights while walking the coastal path. The room had lovely sea views & comfy chairs to sit & look at the views. It was great to have biscuits & bottled water provided, as well as Earl Grey tea. The room was very clean with a good shower & plenty of hot water. Breakfasts were locally sourced, fresh & tasty, with choices. The owners Lorraine & Shane were very caring, friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
909 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
227 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregony Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregony Guest House

Property: Tregony Guest House
Address: 1 Clodgy View, St Ives TR26 1JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tregony Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregony Guest House is a 4-star silver accredited, beautiful three-storey end of terrace townhouse, with spectacular panoramic views of Porthmeor Beach, The Island, Clodgy Point, and the Atlantic Ocean. We aspire to offer our guests a warm welcome, attentive service, comfortable stylish rooms, and delicious breakfasts. We are well situated, with only a five-minute walk to the cobbled streets of the old town and the harbour front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Tregony Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregony Guest House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing