We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb lovely people in a wonderful space”
Review of Headland House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Headland House
Ranked #11 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Headland House is just a delight, run by two of the loveliest friendliest people in Mark and Fenella Thomas, with their excellent staff near the fabulous Carbis Bay. The location is perfect for any type of stay, though they do not really allow small children...a bonus!

The rooms are well-designed and comfortable, showers very good indeed, breakfast fresh and plentiful (you barely need any lunch once Mark has served his legendary scrambled eggs) so the whole experience is better and more personal than most large hotels. This is one friendly accommodating place to stay... I almost forgot the "honesty box" bar with Betty Stoggs local beer - what a treat!

if you wish to be alone, they will leave to your own devices too... but I do advise picking their brains as I think they know everyone locally and everywhere to go.

Room Tip: All rooms vary, so get in early for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJSCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 376 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Such a wonderful little B&B with really lovely owners!! It was the start of our around the UK trip and we couldnt have come to a better start! The rooms and the whole place are sooo tastefully decorated. We had a beautiful sea view from our room! The breakfasts are delicious and the owners go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable. If I ever went back to St.Ives I would without a doubt stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our second visit to headland house and we will be going back . Lovely relaxing atmosphere, very clean with classy decor in the bedroom, snug and breakfast room. Great attention to detail to make you feel like its a real treat to stay. Good choice for breakfast. Lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendywoo735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I would have to say that Headland House is the most beautiful and relaxing place I have ever stayed. The rooms are perfect with stunning views and unique little touches. The breakfast is filling and delicious, maybe the best I've ever had! Mark and Fenella are lovely, welcoming people and I would highly recommend staying at their gorgeous B&B if you need a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessicaMardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Mark and Fenella have a beautiful house in Carbis Bay, just a 3 minute train ride from St Ives. Our room was perfect, overlooking the Bay. All the special touches- like cake in the afternoon, an honour bar and the most wonderful breakfast of any B&B in the UK - made for a relaxing, happy stay. They have an excellent library of books and DVDs, plenty of information about the area, and warm welcoming hearts. Delightful!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Mark and Fenella are great hosts and were helpful in giving us advice and recommendations on where to go in St.ives!I would defiantly stay again and recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend away!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Headland House will forever hold a special place in my heart. My boyfriend and I spent three nights here at the end of September and fell in love with it. It was our first holiday together and one that I won’t forget. Both Mark and Fenella were lovely, welcoming and really interesting people. Just spending the odd moment chatting to them they really made us feel like Headland House was our home for the time we were there. Albeit a ridiculously gorgeous home with the most beautiful little touches.

We stayed in the Cape Cornwall room which, as the website says, was perfect for that special break away. The bed was incredibly comfy, the room spacious and the bathroom made it – the freestanding bath was divine! The breakfast, served between 8.30am – 9.30am every morning was delicious and a great way to set you up for the day. The décor of the whole house is stunning and every room you’re in feels like it’s straight out of a interiors magazine, but with an incredibly welcoming and down to earth feel.

Headland House is in a great location and Mark and Fenella were fantastic at recommending things to do, from the best restaurants in St Ives to lovely coastal walks, they really do know the area like the back of their hand. They were also kind enough to offer us a pre-packed lunch for our walk, but we decided on a pasty along the beach instead – when in Cornwall!

We both had a wonderful time, have been recommending it to friends and family of ours and are already talking about going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LolaG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
418 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trevose Harbour House
Trevose Harbour House
#1 of 102 in St Ives
480 reviews
1.6 mi away
Storm in a Tea Cup
Storm in a Tea Cup
#17 of 102 in St Ives
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland House

Address: Headland Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $173 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Headland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland House Hotel St Ives
Headland House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing