We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Headland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Headland House
Ranked #6 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Headland House at the end of June, it was brilliant. The B & B itself is very sweet and the special touches of afternoon tea, hot chocolate in the room made it feel very special. The beach in Carbis Bay was stunning, perfect for early morning walks.

Fenella & Mark were very warm & welcoming and made the stay at Carbis Bay lovely. Breakfast in the morning was a great start to the day.

We'd love to go back, sorry this review is late Mark & Fenella - you added to our amazing time in Cornwall, thank you so much!

Shona & Tom

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _smc_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
281
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have just come back from a weekend at Mark and Fenella's gorgeous hotel and happy to say everything is even better than it was the last time we visited. The rooms are divine, the view is gorgeous, breakfast is delicious and the hosts are everything you want from a boutique hotel - there when you need them but discreet the rest of the time. It's by far the best hotel in the area and totally reasonable too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCox066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We returned to Headland House, a few years after our last visit and were relieved to find everything just as perfect as when we left. We were greeted by Mark and Fenella, like old friends and even treated to some amazing Lavender chocolate as a congrats gift on my pregnancy.
The place never ages, which is testament both to the owner's timeless style and attention to detail; and the complimentary chocolate cake was as lovely as ever, as was breakfast!
This is still our favourite place to retreat to for some R&R, hands down and proved to be the perfect destination for both a wedding stopover and an impromptu baby moon- still a great price too! Thank goodness.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We arrived at Headland house in the early afternoon to be met by the owners Mark and Fenella who made us feel instantly welcome as we were shown around the hotel and even had our bags carried to our room. Once we had settled into our room we were able to help ourselves to cake, coffee and drinks at the honesty bar before heading into St.Ives for a delicious meal at a local restaurant that had be recommended on the list of restaurants we received off Fenella when we booked. After a wonderful evening out in St.Ives we caught the train back along the coast to the hotel where we were able to relax with DVD's and magazines that had been provided for us. The next morning we woke up to stunning views overlooking the beaches stretching from Carbis Bay around to St.Ives harbour. The breakfast was just as great as everything else, we were asked what we would like to drink when we sat down, fresh toast was brought to us, as well as having a fruit smoothies on the table and a buffet table with the choice of cereals, yogurts, fruit juices and fresh fruit and as if that wasn't enough we also had the option of an English breakfast or something off the specials board, couldn't have asked for better. Mark and Fenella really did make our trip very enjoyable and would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Turned up a little late on Friday night and was politely greater at the door by Mark. He showed us around headland house and took us to our room and then kindly booked us a restaurant in St.Ives so we were able to calming unpack and not have to stress (what a wonderful and positive way to start our weekend). Headland house truly is what I would describe as the perfect boutique retreat. Just two minutes walk away from the train and 5 minutes away from Carbis bay beach which we were also able to view from our gorgeous room. We had a wonderful time in St.ives with the beautiful little shops and amazing restaurants and all in all we had the most amazing weekend which was both really needed and to top it off; the sun even shone during most of our stay which was an added bonus.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfoob556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed 1 night for my 50th birthday and it was a real treat! Lovely chocolate brownies on arrival,comfy bed and beautiful furnishings throughout the whole house and a sea view! We would definately recommend to all our family and friends who wish to explore this fantastic area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Headland House is beautifully decorated and perfectly situated on Carbis Bay, within 2 mins walking distance from the station which takes you to St Ives in 3 mins. The rooms are tastefully decorated with all the amenities you would need - great toiletries, very comfy bed and all the mod cons like wifi and TV.

Fenella is the perfect host who does all the thinking for you when you are on holiday. We loved all the little touches in the B&B, from delicious cakes in the afternoon to an honesty bar and chilled out "Mr and Mrs" music playing in the dining room. The breakfast is stunning with a huge variety to choose from with local produce.

I would have no hesitation recommending Headland House and would love to visit Mark and Fenella again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Heligan for one night (lovely and very private) and the Porthminster for the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimmiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.3 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland House

Property: Headland House
Address: Headland Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Headland House Hotel St Ives
Headland House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing