We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique break nr St Ives”
Review of Headland House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Headland House
Ranked #8 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique break nr St Ives”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Couple in our 20's from Bristol.
We've already been back to this luxury guest house and will definitely be returning again this summer. We first went in 2010 in August. It's situated over looking Carbis Bay, the room we chose had a view of the bay, the view is beautiful to wake up to. Each room is decorated differently with different things on offer. A lot of attention to detail makes Headland House feel so special. The warm welcome on arrival both times was much appreciated after the 3 hour car journey, with directions into town & the offer of suggestions/reservations for dinner. There is free cake on offer in the afternoons in the snug, an honesty bar, a snug with a tv and dvd player for you to relax out of your room. Beautiful outdoor space with seating. They really have thought of everything. A 2 minute walk to Carbis Bay or a 10/15 minute walk to St Ives, the walk in is lovely. There is parking supplied directly below the beautiful gardens. And the breakfast is beautiful, there is a good choice of juice, cereals and the option for various cooked breakfasts, I'm not a fry up fan but this breakfast isn't greasy its cooked perfectly and is delicious! I really couldn't recommend this place more. I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJefferies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
283
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We loved Carbis Bay, and Headland House is the perfect place to stay to see the views from your bedroom. The bedrooms were dressed comfortably and cosily, if a little small, but a good retreat from the Cornish 'Mizzle'. Mark and Fenella serve a tasty, locally sourced breakfast and were very happy to encourage the use of the communal sitting room by offering complementary afternoon tea (& coffee) with yummy cakes, and complementary sherry with the honesty bar in the evening. A short (2 minute) walk to the beach, and medium walk (20 minutes) to St Ives. A longer walk across the cliffs and beach took us to Levant and the Badger Inn for Sunday Carvery on Mark's recommendation. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We found Headland House via Mr & Mrs Smith which has always recommended great boutique hotels, and this is one of the best!!! We stayed for seven very cosy and relaxing nights, owners Mark and Fenella are perfect hosts, friendly, chatty (but not intrusive) and welcoming, just what you want from a boutique hotel. The Hotel is very calm and decorated in a traditional heritage style with warm greys and subtle wallpaper. the rooms are designed to a very high spec with lovely soft beds, a roll top bath and TV and DVD player for sleepy days in bed. The breakfast was amazing, Mark takes charge of the breakfast and a full English (amongst other options) is offered with great locally produced ingredients which is always nice to see. In the afternoon's Fenella lays out a complimentary home made cake to enjoy - her carrot and chocolate cakes are just brilliant with a cup of coffee. The Hotel also has a honesty bar in the evening and has a great library of DVD's to borrow for your room. Fenalla and Mark have a great list of restaurant recommendations, each one we tried was amazing, St Ives has a great standard of food on offer, even fish and chips on the harbor is a must. I would definitely recommend Headland House and before we left we couldn't resist booking in for the following Easter its that nice!!!!
It gets booked up fast so get in there quick!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_and_Laragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Great welcome in a relaxed setting. Really enjoyed our time here. The breakfasts were awesome, absolutely incredible. Most of all Fenella was incredibly welcoming and accomodating; a fantastic host. Absolutely great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanuq2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2011

On a recommendation from friends we stayed at Headland House in Carbis Bay when we recently visited Cornwall for a few days.
On our arrival we were greeted very warmly by the owner Mark & being pensioners he carried all our luggage up to our first floor bedroom.The bedroom with en-suite shower room was exceedingly clean, tastily decorated & with a spectacular view over Carbis Bay.We found the bed extremely comfortable & so experienced three very quiet, peaceful,relaxing nights sleep.
At breakfast the first morning we were greeted by Fenella ,Marks wife,whom we found as equally charming as her husband.She served us with our plentiful,hearty 'full monty' breakfast whilst at the same time being the local tourist guide advising us of places of interest to visit & local restaurants to eat including St Ives which can be easily accessed by the train which is only about a three minute walk from the hotel.
An added & welcome bonus to our stay was the honesty bar in the lounge & 'fridge' in our room. We could drink wine & mingle with the other guests in the lounge [refraining from indulging in the cake] or sit on our bed drinking chilled champagne admiring the lights of St Ives.
In our opinion this is an idealistic,well priced B & B that needs to be visited for its charm,hospitality & location.
Thank you Fenella & Mark for a wonderful stay & we will see you again next year.
Rio & Edward.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This was our first stay at Headland House and it certainly won't be our last! After a long drive we were met by Mark who was warm, friendly and informative. The house was warm and stylish with a lovely relaxing feel. Our room had a super comfortable bed with far reaching views over the bay. The small touches like a slice of cake on arrival and the honestly bar were really nice as were the delicious breakfasts served with chilled music and a variety of juices and organic yoghurt. A very well priced B&B which we will certainly be recommending to our friends. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumblethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Headland house is FANTASTIC! We had an amazing time here and wanted to stay longer. Fenella and Mark are perfect hosts, and the other guests a pleasure, its amazing what you learn over chocolate cake!
Fenella will give you a list of places to eat, we went twice to Alfresco, the food was amazing and they really made a fuss of us-thank you!
The train runs from Carbis Bay into St Ives, so park up the car and walk or take the train.
Rooms are fab and very well done, breakfast, well what can i say apart from AMAZING, The first day i ate far too much, on reflection should have stuck with my full english instead of one of everything!
Will definately go back, was a perfect get away for our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiltonKeynesKez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland House

Property: Headland House
Address: Headland Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Headland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland House Hotel St Ives
Headland House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing