We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel, briliant location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Headland House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Headland House
Ranked #8 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel, briliant location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

This was my first ever visit to Cornwall and I am regretting the missed opportunities to have visited in the past. Headland House is simply perfect - such a relaxing environment and we spent happy hours wrapped in cosy blankets outside just enjoying the views, despite the cool spring breeze. The rooms are all fantastic - crisp white sheets and most rooms with a great view. The snug bar is a perfect area to come back to after a long walk and relax over a cup of tea and the complimentary carrot cake! Hard to beat all round.

Mark and Fenella are the best hosts ever and the breakfasts just superb - a great start to your day when your plans are to walk and explore the surrounding areas - a good excuse to indulge in great poached eggs with all the trimmings! The location is perfect - a short stroll to the local train which takes less than 5 minutes to take you into St Ives which is full of beautiful little streets and shops to explore and excellent restaurants. If you want to be more energetic, the walk into St Ives takes less than half an hour, depending on how much time you take to dawdle and look at the stunning views along the way. The scenery looks as if you are in the Caribbean - the sand is golden white and so clean, as is the water. The local beach is a 5 minute walk downhill (slightly longer uphill!) but just beautiful to walk along and so unspoilt. There are lots of local walks along the stunning coastline.

Mark and Fenella are great at recommending what to do and what to see, and which restaurants to visit - whether you want something simple and easy, or the Porthminster Cafe, where we all sat one evening watching the sun go down over a deserted beach and clear blue waters - we could not believe we were actually in England.

If you are planning to visit this part of Cornwall, pay Headland House a visit - you will want to go back time and time again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jweb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
282
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

Spent a wonderful two nights here! The service was very friendly and helpful - down to a list of local restaurants e-mailed when you booked, the room was modern and impeccably decorated with a sea view, and the standard of breakfast excellent.

St. Ives is very difficult to park and a real benefit of this hotel in Carbis Bay is that it is a few hundred yards from the Branch Line which means you can leave your car there and catch the train into town.

Would thoroughly recommend and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawdy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Great hosts! Lots of good tips of where to dine and navigate St Ives. Lovely well appointed, bright, very very clean accommodation with many extra touches... fab daily complimentary cake & tipple! Breakfast to suit any taste and extremely good quality. Would not hesitate in recommending or returning.

Room Tip: Room 2 had a brilliant sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muff171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

... We stayed at the lovely Headland House B&B in Carbis Bay for two nights earlier this month.

The B&B is absolutely fantastic. Mark and Fenella are great hosts and find the perfect balance of making you so comfortable that you feel like you are in your own home but at the same time making sure you feel you are being thoroughly spoilt! They gave us great tips on where to visit; Porthcurno Bay and the Minack Theatre were an inspiration - so beautiful!

The breakfast was delicious and served up in the light and airy conservatory. Likewise the complimentary carrot cake was scrumptious and the honesty bar in The Snug a great idea - several guests can spend time in here and the other shared areas (sitting / dining room and lovely outdoor decking area) without feeling like you have to constantly make polite conversation. A cheery hello will suffice!

As other reviewers have said, the attention to detail in the house itself is beautiful. Everything is spotlessly clean and tastefully designed. Although our room was at the back so didn't have a view, it was beautiful, clean, cosy and snug with a gorgeous bathrooom en suite.

Parking in St Ives itself was difficult, so Carbis Bay is an ideal spot to base yourself as you can walk to the little train station (about 3 minutes from Headland House on foot) and take the train to the Porthminster end of St Ives. The train takes about 5 minutes or you can walk the coast path which takes about 25 minutes. We ate at both Porthminster Cafe and Al Fresco restaurant, both of which were lovely dining experiences, with Porthminster Cafe being right on the beach and Al Fresco on the harbour front in St Ives itself. Taxi from St Ives to Carbis Bay was about £8.00.

I would recommend Headland House to anyone who is looking for a quiet getaway in a beautiful B&B and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellsbells74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

We have had some wonderful 1 night and 2 night stays at the headland house. A real get away from kids and usual stresses of home. Beautiful bespoke rooms (nice to stay in a different one each time!.). easy access to St Ives many restaurants and shops with train within walking distance. Very clean and great breakfast. Nice relaxed feel with high standards and quality.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendywoo735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Headland House is like the home you wished you lived in. This is our third visit to stay with Mark and Fenella and I'm pleased to report that it was as lovely - if not better - than previous occasions. Standards just do not slip here and you always leave feeling relaxed, rejuvenated and full of renewed spirit for the daily grind! Mark and Fenella go out of their way to look after their guests and those little extras that you don't often see in other B&B's - scented candles, ambient music, reading/film fodder and spot on restaurant recommendations to name a few - really do raise the bar and make all the difference. We both travel a lot, both for work and pleasure and Headland House is still the place we're drawn to when we want to switch off, relax and be affordably pampered! Thank you, once again, for an amazing weekend! Can't wait to be back...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

I stayed here with my Mum for our yearly holiday together (without the boys!) and it was simply lovely. Mark and Fenella were very welcoming - and extremely good chefs as breakfast was one of the best parts of the day! They catered well for my mum's gluten free diet and seemed to be very knowledgable about what she could and couldn't have. Our room was nicely decorated with a view of St Ives and if it wasn't so far away we'd go back as often as we could.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clooina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headland House

Property: Headland House
Address: Headland Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Headland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland House Hotel St Ives
Headland House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing