We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Rathlena" 5 Star Stay!”
Review of Rathlena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathlena
Ranked #36 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have just spent an amazing six days in St Ives staying at this very welcoming guest house run by Evelyn and Tony. Evelyn was the perfect host providing breakfasts of a very high standard with a variety of fruits cereal yoghurts cheeses croissants etc. alongside a full traditional English breakfast. The deluxe bedroom was tastefully decorated with an excellent rain shower and balcony with beautiful sea view. Information on St Ives and places to visit was readily available either by leaflet or from Evelyn herself - nothing was too much trouble. An unforgettable experience. Thank you for making it a holiday to remember. I shall definitely stay again on my next visit to St Ives.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 174 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Well, what can I say. Amazing place to stay while in the beautiful town of St Ives. Will 100% go back (Maybe for good). The view from the room was superb and it was the most relaxing few days I have ever had.

Thanks to Evelyn for a great stay.

All the best.... Carl (From Newcastle Under Lyme)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at this BnB for 2 nights in the double room with the large balcony. It Is such a beautiful home and we felt instantly welcomed by the lovely, friendly Evellina. Breakfast included which has everything you could want! It is in an optimum location to walk down to the main village of St Ives, although we took a car to access some of the beaches (Gwithian, Sennen Cove).

Lovely stay - we will be returning for sure!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were struggling to find somewhere to stay and were very lucky to stumble upon Rathlena. The reviews were very good and we can vouch for the wonderful hospitality and friendliness of Evelyn who seems tailor made to be a perfect host. She was very customer focused in a naturally caring way. It was really nice to be made to feel so welcome.

The breakfasts were delightfully hearty and tasty. You certainly won't need to be thinking about lunch!.

The room was spacious and had a marvellous view of the sea, along with patio doors onto a balcony with seating. It was nice to feel that the room wasn't some sparse business like hotel room but more like a warm and comfortable room you'd perhaps use when visiting a home from home location. Home from home; but with sea air and view.
.

Room Tip: We loved our room. It was a large room in the middle of the first floor which was laid out so that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have just returned from a lovely four night stay at Rathlena and have had such a lovely time.The room was spotless and very spacious and the large bed was amazingly comfortable. We stayed in the deluxe room with sea views from the bed and balcony and couldn't believe how lovely it was. We particularly enjoyed the rain shower in the bathroom.
Evelyn clearly loves sharing her home and is a fantastic host, the breakfast was massive and very well cooked and all the extras on the table every morning came as lovely surprise. Unlike some small B&B owners Evelyn isn't pushy or to over bearing she simple wants to make sure you are having a great stay and that shines through in everything.
A fantastic break in a great guesthouse where going the extra mile seems to come easily.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had the best time in St Ives. The host Evelyn made our stay even more special with her warm friendly personality & service. Her breakfast was carefully prepared each morning -lots to choose from (from pancakes, croissants, fresh fruits, toasts, cereals etc. to full English breakfast). Rathlena is very clean & nicely decorated through out. We loved our room with sea views, balcony, luxury decor and very comfy bed. Also benefits from off street parking on a private driveway which is very hard to find in St Ives. We couldn't ask for more and highly recommend this B&B. Even our 6 month old LO was very upset when we were leaving. We're glad we picked Rathlena - miss you already. 5*

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked the Rathlena guest house by chance for a post wedding break to St Ives. After a bit of Internet research it was proving difficult to find a hotel in the location we wanted, who would accommodate both us and our 1yr old surprisingly for 2 nights? The majority of b&b's in St Ives have a no children under 14 policy! I was given the number for the Rathlena by another b&b and told to try them. What a fantastic place! Run by a lovely family who are very friendly. It only has three rooms but ours was amazing with heaps of space, much larger than most hotel rooms and full of lovely furniture and interesting pieces. From the massage chair to the binoculars that were hanging beside the window for the balcony sea view. Evelyn makes a fantastic breakfast too with some amazing extras on top! Soo much to choose from and taken in the lovely dining room. More than enough to keep you going through the day.Stunning house and gardens too. This is a perfect place to stay if you want something a little special with a luxury room and would highly recommend it to anyone. We would certainly stay here again if we came back to St Ives.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GT0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.1 mi away
The Borthalan Hotel
The Borthalan Hotel
#17 of 20 in St Ives
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glanmor Guest House
Glanmor Guest House
#35 of 102 in St Ives
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ten Ocean View
Ten Ocean View
#37 of 102 in St Ives
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathlena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathlena

Address: 9 Bahavella Drive, St Ives TR26 2BF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $165 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea views peace and tranquility, yet minutes walk to town make Rathlena a real find. In recent years extensive refurbishment has ensured comfort and elegance throughout. All bedrooms enjoy private balconies taking advantage of the spectacular sea view outlook, superb en-suites and all thee added extras one comes to expect from a four star establishment. We provide breakfast of the highest quality and standard. Rathlena is situated in its own grounds providing safe off round parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rathlena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathlena St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing