We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Anchorage B&B St Ives
Ranked #46 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and the location, décor and service were first class.

It looks small from the outside but the room we stayed in was very spacious.

The only down side is the sound from the gulls at 6 in the morning. However, I like this. My wife was none to keen!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNIGHT_RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 115 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

The Anchorage is in a perfect location right in the heart of St Ives. I stayed in the winter so crowds were not a problem. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The stairs to Room 1 are steep but manageable and worth it for the view. Chris is an excellent host and very helpful with information and local knowledge. Very good breakfast.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank spencerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Loved this place, it was everything we hoped it would be and more. Cosy, central to everything in the town, a lovely breakfast and spotlessly clean. And a marvellous host to look after everything. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I spent 3 nights at this B&B in St Ives.
THe whole experience was excellent.Greeted by the owner. Mr C England
downstairs sitting room had very good information on St Ives and surroundign areas. small libery of books plus DVDs.

Bedroom had ensuite.room very well appointed and very clean .Had a view to the sea.
Breakfast,, requested to complete order night before. good selection of cereals etc and the owner cooked an excellent breakfast.
Each day the room was cleaned and fresh biscuits, coffee etc were left.
I have not stayed in a B&B before and was very pleased with everything so much so that I have booked for another 3 nights in the New Year.
Well done CHris England.

Room Tip: JUst take care on the short fight of stairs, being a very old place the stair case has narrow steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights over the August Bank Holiday weekend and very much enjoyed our stay.
Located on a cobbled street with lovely flowers covering the exterior, tourists were regularly taking photos of this picture perfect street. Shops, restaurants, the harbor and beaches are literally on this B&B's doorstep.
The owner, Chris, helped us with parking on our arrival so we didn't have to wait for a parking space on a very busy Bank Holiday weekend. The living room is filled with useful guides and information on St Ives and books and DVDs for guests to use. We were in Room 4, the smallest of the rooms I believe, but it was perfectly formed and contained everything you needed - including tea/coffee/hot chocolate/water and biscuits daily and a TV and DVD player, hairdryer, towels, a wardrobe, drawers and a sink. The room was clean and tastefully decorated, the bathroom was opposite the room and not en suite but this was not an issue for us. Chris emptied the bins and made the bed (better than our attempts!) daily. St Ives was very busy as it was peak holiday season and with the window open it was occasionally quite noisy at night in this room with people walking past but this is to be expected as the B&B is right in the heart of St Ives. With the window shut you could hardly hear the noise and after the Bank Holiday weekend the noise was less anyway. Breakfast was great with a selection of cereals and spreads and a hot breakfast of your choice cooked by Chris. Chris was a great host and was always up for a chat. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GemAl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This B & B is in the perfect spot for access to the beaches, shopping and restaurants. The owner, Christopher, was the perfect host, friendly and efficient, and made our stay so very enjoyable. Our room, number 3, was supplied with everything we needed to ensure our comfort and Chris was always ready to go the extra mile to help in any way, even cooking our breakfast at 7 a.m. on the morning of our departure to ensure we were well fed before our lengthy journey home. Thank you Chris, you were the difference which made our holiday, our comfortable room and your great breakfasts set us up every day and we look forward to staying at The Anchorage again.

Room Tip: room 3 spacious and good en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Right in the heart of St Ives close to the beaches, shops and restuarants, but quiet on a cobbled street. Immaculately clean room, small due to the age of the building. Very friendly and helpful host Chris who cooked up a tasty breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise_Raymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,015 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Villamorva
Villamorva
#18 of 102 in St Ives
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Storm in a Tea Cup
Storm in a Tea Cup
#20 of 102 in St Ives
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage B&B St Ives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage B&B St Ives

Address: 5 Bunkers Hill, St Ives TR26 1LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $115 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anchorage B&B St Ives 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage is nestled in the picturesque, old world section of St. Ives, close to all amenities. All four bedrooms, three of which are en-suite, are full of character and charm, with TV/DVD, hairdryers and beverage tray. Breakfast is freshly cooked using local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Anchorage B&B St Ives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage B&B St Ives Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing