We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely easter break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchorage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anchorage
Ranked #40 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely easter break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

recently spent a week in st.ives,in which we stopped at the lovely anchorage b+b. the host chris was fantastic throughout oure stay ,and his b+b was just the same the room we stayed in was super and the breakfasts we recived were second to none. having stopped nearby the previous time we had been to st.ives and had the total oposite a poor expierence in all aspects ,to find a gem like the anchorage was a dream come true. due to go to stives next year at the same time so wd recomend the anchorage to anybody going to stives as we will be going again !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
73
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

What a find! just a few steps from the harbour this 17th century b&b has everything, beautifully restored,tastefully decorated,comfortable rooms which are spotlessly cleaned and well appointed.
the cosy sitting room contains everything one could want, dvd's, books and information folders thoughfully put together by Christopher, the owner. The breakfast is excelent with the choice of cereals, fruit and juices as well as the tasty cooked options and plenty of tea or coffee.
Give it a try, you wont be dissapointed!
Anita & John, Somerset.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
165 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I recently spent 5 nights at The Anchorage. This has to be the best B&B we have ever stayed at. You are made very welcomed by Chris, he offers a range of information on the local area, the house is wonderfully situated in the old part of town and there are restaurants and shops within metres of the front door. At the same time, it is quiet, spacious and well decorated. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Each time I have stayed in St Ives I have stayed here, and each time it has been a pleasure. Chris is an excellent host and the rooms are both pleasant and spotless. Definitely will be my first choice for accommodation whenever I am able to return to St Ives!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiemark09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed for two nights whilst on business. I am so glad that I found The Anchorage. Chris, the owner, is one of those owners who really looks after his guests. My room was superb,recently redecorated with a great double sized shower. The house is beautifully presented and the breakfast fantastic. Ideally located close to the harbour. Chris has a great knowledge of St Ives and the surrounding areas. He will also point you in the direction of some lovely places to eat. In short, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardW430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend and loved The Anchorage. It is perfectly placed for easy access to the harbour, less than a minute from your room. Chris is very welcoming and the cooked breakfast is just fantastic! Chris gives you great advice to get the most out of your stay, where to eat and you might even see him about in Peppers - sticky toffee pudding! If you want to stay in St Ives, stay at the Anchorage! See you again soon Chris. Rich n Anna

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalshSamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed for two nights last weekend,Feb 2012.
Chris was warm,welcoming and informative.
We had room one at the top of the house which was well equipped with all the usual and more.
When I asked if I could put a bottle of bubbly in his kitchen fridge Chris lent us a special little fridge to take to our room and two champagne flutes too ! That's service for you!
The Breakfasts were perfect.
The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly with guests and Chris leisurely chatting over breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room 1 had a couple of beams that we both hit a few times however we did have a proper sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.5 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#9 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Heights
Atlantic Heights
#11 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#19 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Property: The Anchorage
Address: 5 Bunkers Hill, St Ives TR26 1LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage is nestled in the picturesque, old world section of St. Ives, close to all amenities. All four bedrooms, three of which are en-suite, are full of character and charm, with TV/DVD, hairdryers and beverage tray. Breakfast is freshly cooked using local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing