We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Anchorage B&B St Ives
Ranked #46 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed for two nights whilst on business. I am so glad that I found The Anchorage. Chris, the owner, is one of those owners who really looks after his guests. My room was superb,recently redecorated with a great double sized shower. The house is beautifully presented and the breakfast fantastic. Ideally located close to the harbour. Chris has a great knowledge of St Ives and the surrounding areas. He will also point you in the direction of some lovely places to eat. In short, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichardW430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 115 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend and loved The Anchorage. It is perfectly placed for easy access to the harbour, less than a minute from your room. Chris is very welcoming and the cooked breakfast is just fantastic! Chris gives you great advice to get the most out of your stay, where to eat and you might even see him about in Peppers - sticky toffee pudding! If you want to stay in St Ives, stay at the Anchorage! See you again soon Chris. Rich n Anna

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalshSamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed for two nights last weekend,Feb 2012.
Chris was warm,welcoming and informative.
We had room one at the top of the house which was well equipped with all the usual and more.
When I asked if I could put a bottle of bubbly in his kitchen fridge Chris lent us a special little fridge to take to our room and two champagne flutes too ! That's service for you!
The Breakfasts were perfect.
The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly with guests and Chris leisurely chatting over breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room 1 had a couple of beams that we both hit a few times however we did have a proper sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at The Anchorage for a long weekend in January. I have visited the Anchorage before and was extremely surprised by the re-decoration, new furniture and new bathroom in the Anchorage as I thought it was already perfect. Now It is absolutely wonderful. St Ives in winter is brilliant, the beautiful quiet beaches, the leisurely walks around the shops and the marvellous restaurants - it really is a whole year round place to stay. Each season brings its very special charms. Chris puts so much work and effort into The Anchorage and it is always a pleasure to stay with him. Already looking forward to my next visit in the summer and those scrumptious breakfasts!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supersyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

A brilliant weekend in a great location superbly managed by Chris - cosy room and marvellous breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teepee0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have walked past this place many times but had never stayed here until this weekend, wow! what a wonderful place, lovely clean accomodation, great breakfast, suprisingly quiet too especially as it's so close to the heart of the village. Chris is a very friendly host, and he made us feel most welcome, we will definately be returning soon! Thank you Chris for your hospitality!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooom 3, this was recently decorated and has new furniture, it was perfect for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just returned home from another fantastic and relaxing stay at the Anchorage. The location of the Anchorage is second to none, literally a few seconds walk from the beautiful harbour, shops and restaurants on Fore St and the Wharf.

Was a lovely suprise to see that our usual room (Room 3) had just been very tastefully renovated - had the honour of being the first to stay in the new room. Room was very clean and bright with a very comfortable bed and a lovely shiny white bathroom with large walk in shower.

Parking can be difficult in St Ives so it was wonderful to take advantage of the very reasonably priced long term parking space Chris offers on the Island Car Park.

There was a great selection of books and DVDs available to borrow - perfect for a few early nights in with a glass of wine :)

Chris is a superb friendly and helpful host, cooks a lovely full Cornish  breakfast and has great knowledge of local attractions and restaurants, bars, etc (also recommended the best pasties in St Ives from SH Ferrells Bakery, conveniently right next door to the Anchorage)

We highly recommend the Anchorage.

Thanks again Chris, superb as always! x x

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlinkyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,015 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Villamorva
Villamorva
#18 of 102 in St Ives
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Storm in a Tea Cup
Storm in a Tea Cup
#20 of 102 in St Ives
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage B&B St Ives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage B&B St Ives

Address: 5 Bunkers Hill, St Ives TR26 1LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $115 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anchorage B&B St Ives 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage is nestled in the picturesque, old world section of St. Ives, close to all amenities. All four bedrooms, three of which are en-suite, are full of character and charm, with TV/DVD, hairdryers and beverage tray. Breakfast is freshly cooked using local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Anchorage B&B St Ives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage B&B St Ives Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing