We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay over the New Year 2008/9”
Review of Ten Ocean View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ten Ocean View
Ranked #33 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 18, 2009

St Ives is a wonderful place to visit over the New Year and Ten Ocean View is the perfect place to stay. Ideally situated only a few minutes walk from the town. The welcome was as warm as the house, great as it was absolutely freezing out. Our room on the first floor had a view to die for and it was really nice to have chairs & a table to sit in the bay window and watch the action on the beach below. Mike & Gill are fabulous hosts and I have never had such a wonderful choice for breakfast you WILL NOT need to eat again until evening. Our room was bright light & airey, the bed extremely comfortable with crisp cotton sheets & plenty of storage.

I would not hesitate to recommend staying in our room.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valleykeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Ten Ocean View
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 289 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2009

Great stay at Ten Ocean View with the perfect Hosts -nothing was too much trouble for Michael and Gillian. We were greeted with a refreshing and welcome cuppa after the long drive and they even catered for my restrictive diet and baked some fresh bread just for me! The breakfasts were superb with freshly made fruit salads, full english and home made conserves.

The view from our ocean facing room was stunning. The room was very comfortable, light, airy and very clean (I have stayed in 4* hotels that could learn some lessons).

I hope to visit again in the spring for another relaxing break.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissymaySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

We love staying at Gill and Mike's place so much that we want to move in! They are the most hospitable hosts that you could want and from the first time we met them we were treated as part of the family. The rooms are superb (we've tried them all!), light airy and very comfortable and the Molton Brown toiletries are fantastic. The breakfasts are second to none and the full english will keep you going until evening. Mike's Soda bread and homemade jam are particularly good. The views are stunning and they also have parking which is a must in St Ives. You can come and go as you like and nothing is too much trouble for them. They can recommend good walks, trips and shops to buy good local produce from. Cannot recommend this B & B highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WelshRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2008

Mike and Gill are superb hosts and made us feel very welcome but they're not in your face, if you know what I mean.

The rooms were clean and of a very high standard and the breakfast was excellent.

I would highly recommend staying here and we intend to visit Cornwall again soon and look forward to a staying at 10 Ocean View.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandCBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

I stayed at Ten Ocean View at the end of the summer, it was just to get away from everything for a weekend and it was one of the most relaxing times I have had in years.
Michael and Gillian, the owners, were great from the very first time I spoke to them on the phone to the minute I left.
My room was on the first floor and it was superb, with the most comfortable bed I have ever enjoyed, in any BnB or Hotel, with crisp, snow white sheets it was pure luxury.
The premises has a marvellous view out over St IVes bay and on to some little notch of land that contains ruins of some sort or another.
The overall feel of Ten Ocean View can only be described as "Home away from Home", Michael and Gillian really made me feel like family.
But the best thing about this little gem on the Cornish coast has to be the most incredible breakfast you get every day your there. Everything is fresh and really fresh and mostly homemade. Which is a really nice touch today, as so many places seem to operate on how much profit they can make from you but not here. At Ten Ocean View their way of operating seems to be how much you will profit (in relaxing and enjoying yourself) from them.
I would recommend Ten Ocean View to any one.
Thank you Michael and Gillian.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eckkinsella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

This was the second time we went to Ten ocean Views and will go back anytime. Spotless room, comfortable, great views, wonderful breakfast. Basically all you look for in a B&B where you want to relax and be close to town, shopping and restaurants but far enough to enjoy the peace and quiet.
Thanks to Mike and Gill for their warm welcome and looking after us.
Caroline & Ian, Devon

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twiglet00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

We had room 3 which has a superb view of Porthmear Beach.... The bed/mattress was gorgeous.... Some nice touches such as tea and cake when we we arrived, delivered to our room... a morning paper in the breakfast room.... The breakfasts were wonderful.. superbly cooked and presented. On the down side, it was expensive at £85 a night... the tv reception wasn't great and the aerial did look unsightly at the top of the wall... and the walk from town is uphill... having a car isn't necessary but you need to be able to walk! None of these points would stop me giving Mike and Gill maximum marks.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RichofChelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#10 of 20 in St Ives
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#4 of 20 in St Ives
624 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Heights
Atlantic Heights
#21 of 102 in St Ives
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#12 of 102 in St Ives
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nook
The Nook
#37 of 102 in St Ives
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Ocean View

Address: 10 Ocean View Terrace, St Ives TR26 1RQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: $114 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Ocean View is a luxury B&B with breathtaking views of Porthmeor Beach, The Island and across St Ives to Godrevy Lighthouse. Being just a stone's throw from the beach we are ideally placed for a beach break, with St Ives harbour and town only a few minutes' stroll further. We have four beautifully appointed en-suite guest rooms, all designed to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. Two of our rooms have spectacular sea views, one of which boasts a spa bath. All our rooms are flooded with the world-renowned St Ives light and elegantly furnished to ensure you enjoy the perfect holiday or short break in Cornwall. There is free parking with three of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ten Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ten Ocean View Hotel St Ives
10 Ocean View
Ten Ocean View St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing