We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home in St Ives”
Review of Atlantic Heights

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Heights
Ranked #13 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Our home in St Ives”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in this lovely B&B for 4 nights. We were received my the lovely couple that runs the B&A. Carol and Tony made us feel welcome since the we stepped into their house. The B&A is super well located. About 2 minutes from Tate and 5 minutes from the town centre. The view from the living room, from the garden and from the front rooms is breathtaking.
The room we stayed in (5) was spacious, comfortable and spotless.
The breakfast was simply fantastic. They have a menu so you can order the night before. The full English Breakfast was superb! The porridge was the best we've ever had. And believe it! Tony makes the pastries for the continental breakfast himself! Everything fresh and locally produced!
No doubt I will stay there again when back in St Ives!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ludmila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    31
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
299
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We arrived on a wet afternoon to be met by a smiling Tony. Carol made us a very welcome cuppa, which we drank as they gave us advice on the area ,places to eat and short cuts into the town. Our room was spotless, the bed large and very comfortable.Plenty of choice for breakfast, cereals ,yoghurt, fresh fruit salad,and a cooked breakfast of your choice. A short walk into the town, down hill, but when you see the location, the views, you forget about the climb back.A big thank you to Tony and Carol for looking after us so well.We will be returning and maybe next time book a sea view room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkdolphin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here with my friend for two nights, and despite our short stay Tony and Carol, the couple who own the b&b, made us feel so at home, giving great advice about a short cut to the beach, things to do and places to eat. We stayed in room 5, the family room, and it was spotless. The photographs online don't do it justice, it is massive! The bed was sooo comfortable, the en suite was lovely, and it had a flat-screen tv and wifi which was great for chilling out in the evening. Overal, very tidy and clean without feeling clinical like some palces- still very warm and homely, and with plenty of storage to stow your things away. There was private off-road parking right outside to leave your car; it's just a 2 minute walk to the beach, and 5 minute walk from the town- excellent for St Ives, where driving your car down to the sea front isn't practical re parking. Tony and Carol really went the extra mile; they offered us the loan of wetsuits, surf boards, wind breaks etc which was so sweet, and they took our breakfast requests the previous night so it was ready for us bang on time, and not only did you get exactly what you ordered (from a large selection!) but there was a table of fruit salad, yoghurt and cereals you could help yourself to, which I thought was a very nice touch. I rarely stay in b&b's because of the cost; this was inended as a one-off treat for me and my friend, but we've defintely been hooked- we're hoping to go back for New Year!

Room Tip: We've only stayed in one room (so far!), Room 5. It didn't have a view but you're welcom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Staying in Atlantic Heights was brilliant. Really great hosts, they were very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. They had wet suits and boards we could borrow if we wanted to go surfing. The location is perfect, it's a really short walk to the beach and into town which was perfect for us. The vegetarian breakfast was really yummy, and the croissants were delicious. There was a lot of choice! The room was really nice, and the beds were sooo comfy. Was a really brilliant stay :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

When we arrived at this lovely B&B, We was immediately welcomed by Tony & Carol who are the most friendly and welcoming people ever. We was even offered Tea or Coffee which was needed after such a long journey. They also make you stay as enjoyable as possible by going that extra mile for their guests, The rooms are fantastic and also kept clean everyday. The breakfast which are cooked by Tony are fantastic with great presentation.
Thank you Tony & Carol for making our stay even more enjoyable, cant wait to return x

Room Tip: Room 4 the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The thing that made our stay here was how welcome Tony and Carol made us feel. They were very warm and welcoming from the moment that we arrived and til we left. However having also stayed at 11 Sea View Terrace for one night, there was a significant contrast in the rooms but I will also say that Sea View was £25 more expensive per night so AH was better value. Atlantic Heights is a cosy home and there is a lounge that you have access to 24 hours with a giant tv screen and also free drinks that people can just help themselves to.which is nice as many B&Bs dont have this. However, it must be noted that it is not a boutique B&B and nor would I say particularly luxurious but its homely and well looked after.
We stayed in room 4 which had great views of the ocean and of The Island and whilst its close to the Tate and Porthmeor Beach, its further away from the Harbour and there is a relativley steep walk that should be considered. The room was very small - there are also 2 chairs and a small table in it and with our suitcases in it too, there was very little extra room :-( There is a double bed in the room and the bathroom has a spa bath. There are also Molten Brown toiletries which are great!
Breakfast is only served between 8 and 9 which isn't ideal for a vacation and despite being on the top floor, the smells from cooked breakfasts still managed to reach the room. The full English is ok - I have been reassured that all ingredients are bought from a local farm, I did not think they were of a particularly high quality nor the smoked salmon that I had one morning. However it must be noted that if you have the Continental breakfast, Tony does make the croissants and pain au raisins from scratch which were good.
Another problem was that wi-fi wasn't available throughout the house and not really in our room so I would have to use my iPad downstairs in the lounge which isn't an ideal situation.
There is a lovely garden in front of the house where there is seating so you can sit out, enjoy the view and have a drink.
I do understand all the other reviews - Tony and Carol are great hosts but we had booked the place based off the glowing reviews but I just wanted to raise awareness to some of my own personal observations and I hope that I have given a balanced opinion and just highlighted things that other people might find important/useful when making their decisions on where to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorabella888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Atlantic Heights is a wonderful B&B with first class rooms and the most wonderful location. The rooms are spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated with the most spectacular views of the sea. Facilities in the room are excellent and you even have the luxury of a fridge. The hosts Carol & Tony are just lovely friendly warm people who could not be any more welcoming. I nicknamed Tony 'Mr Pastry' for his fantastic homemade croissants & pastries he provided for breakfast. Breakfast, by the way, is fab, lots of choice on the menu. It was our first time at this B&B, it won't be our last! Thanks from Shirley & John x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.6 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Heights

Property: Atlantic Heights
Address: 11 Ocean View Terrace, St Ives TR26 1RQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Heights Hotel St Ives
Atlantic Heights St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing