We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“st ives holiday village " a bit of a shame"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Ives Holiday Village
Ranked #23 of 30 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Reviewed November 1, 2013

we arrived at John Fowlers holiday village and collected are key from friendly staff and went to are woodland cabin which was very basic, to bedrooms, bathroom, living/dinning area and kitchen apart from a slight damp smell a tiny tv and a slight damp smell it was was fit for purpose for our long weeken break. How ever are break was desterbed massively as my brother and his family were also holidaying with us this weekend in a seperate cabin had a completly different story, mouldy cabin, blood stained linen, damp, mouldy and insects all over there cabin. after one night they complained this was just not suitable and were changed to another cabin which the front door would not close on and then again to another cabin which was much the same as ours basic but insect free. we all had to help them move cabins which took place in the evening trying to avoid wasting anyones time to be enjoying the sights of cornwall through out the day however this did massively cut into are evening entertainment time, which i must add apart from this night was very good and of high standard. such a shame that our once a year holiday had to be disrupted and basically had to write off one night during our short stay. with a little bit of money and a lick of paint has the potential to be a lovely holiday park, with great club house in a good location. just a shame a lack of tlc let us down on our yearly familyget away.

Room Tip: completlley check your cabin make sure you are 100% happy before unloading the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. Your comments have been passed to all departments. .

Many of the older chalets are being demolished and replaced with fantastic new lodges. 5 have appeared in the past couple of months and we have just obtained planning permission for a further 36. As you will appreciate, such a massive investment does not happen overnight.

However, we are delighted to hear that, despite everything, you had a good holiday and we really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

we arrived greeted by friendly staff .. got to our chalet things just went down hill from there .. no shower bath is big enough for a child only , hired a cot ..my daughter was unable to sleep in it as it was to small for her next morning went up to reception they offererd us another cot .. which still wasnt good enough back up to reception yet again there was nothing they could do so we asked for a upgrade .we looked the place over seemed ok on 1st inspection .. my daughter who is 2 slept on the sofa disgraceful ,, entertainment was ok on first night , 2nd night after waiting ages for a table was ok 3rd night what a utter disgrace the kids entertainers just couldnt care . and as for the blues talking about mogos and rocking the shack in front of children wow also open the box was fixed as we sat next to the desk and over heard them saying nice one as they ran out of time so the 1st person was going win . next night we thought we stay in best night ever since we been there .. by this time we had enough .. thought we give it one last shot wednesday we were having food looked up and we saw hundreds of flies in kitchen front room bedrooms see picts this was enough we packed up and left .. there will be a formal complaint going in with photos included ..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rakki30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park when most of guests have a great time. There are a number of serious items in your review that need to be investigated. Meanwhile, I will be contacting you through the Tripadvisor messaging service to discover the full details of your booking, we can then look into your concerns in order that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We booked a holiday through the sun it cost very little, we weren't expecting much after reading the reviews before we left to be honest I was dreading it, we booked in 20 minutes early greeted by some lovely staff, when we entered our chalet it was sort of clean cobwebs, windows needed cleaning that kind of thing but nothing mega, fridge, cooker, kitchen toilet, bathroom were clean, we had a telly with digital tv, duvets and pillows were also clean all though we bought our own as a precaution, we stayed for 4 nights and had a lovely time I would of liked to have stayed longer, we were out each morning by 9 and home later then 7, we used the night life and I must say I never laughed like that for a long time it was great fun, you get what you paid for at the end of the day, yes the cleaning could be more thorough but hey ho !! may be a little damp its just a base you dont go all the way to cornwall to sit in a chalet , I cant afford a lot being a single parent and this was just perfect in the middle of so many lovely places, I would/will book again with them, a holiday is what you make it and I loved it .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penny20131410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fair review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were.

We pride ourselves on our family feel at John Fowler Holidays, and are delighted to have been able to share that with you.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have to laugh when I read some of the comments about this site. I really cannot imagine what people expect when they have paid so little to stay in what many of us consider to be the most beautiful part of England!Perhaps these unhappy folk should stay in St Ives in one of the vastly overpriced cottages on offer, in which there is no swimming pool provided, no clubhouse, and no safe place for their children to play ! This site is not the Ritz, nor does it profess to be, what it is however, is a place where you are only 5 minutes away from some of the best beaches,and as my grown up son says 'a place where kids can be kids', well put I think !We thoroughly enjoyed our break and will be back in March as usual. The new lodges are lovely, and when all the refurb is finished St Ives Holiday Park will be up there with the best !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lancashirelass_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you very much for for telling it like it is. Sadly, we are finding that many of the poor reviews that are aired on Tripadvisor could be questionable, since when we write and ask for identification of the accommodation, 80% of those requests are ignored.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

Our returning guests are so important to us and are the reason that we have been so successful for the past 60 years.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

On arrival the entrance and reception areas are neat and tidy, sadly that is not true of the rest of the site, which is unkempt and overgrown, and to say the least very tired,....as is the chalets.
The staff are ok ,but not over helpful.

The only plus side is the location, ideal for St.Ives and the surrounding beauty of cornwall.

I will never return.

Room Tip: Don't have accommodation on the inner woodland, very little light due to the dense trees and ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank len p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues and to check its validity. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous, it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and I am disappointed that I have not been given the opportunity to put things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Cabin style accommodation badly in need of an update and deep cleaning. Nice little clubhouse for family's where drink and food is reasonably priced. If only some money were spent on this holiday village it would be a lovely holiday destination. Nice location for visiting Cornwall. Anyone planning on coming here should bring their own bedding as the linen they supplied was defiantly not clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fogeys300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park when most of guests have a great time - in fact, the previous reviewer had an excellent holiday in one of our budget chalets.

Many of the older chalets are being demolished and replaced with fantastic new lodges. 5 have appeared in the past couple of months and we have just obtained planning permission for a further 36. As you will appreciate, such a massive investment does not happen overnight.

There are a number of serious items in your review that need to be investigated. I wonder if you told the park manager or head office of your displeasure while you were there, it is always so difficult to deal with the issues after you have returned home. It is so much easier to deal with the problems while you are on the park – you could be moved to alternative accommodation or to another park. If you were unhappy with anything, tell the manager – there is no need to “grin and bear” it on a John Fowler Holiday.

However, it may be difficult to deal with after you have gone home, but not impossible and I will be contacting you through the Tripadvisor messaging service to discover precisely where you where staying and see what we can do to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic time x staff wonderful and budget chalet was clean, warm and cosy cannot understand all terrible reviews x we had a great holiday git home yesterday and kids are asking to go back already x please go with an open mind as I was really worried having read reviews but it was all good x will definately be going back not only a great site but a fantastic base for visiting Cornwall we enjoyed every minute and didn't want to come home x

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny1371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review and we are deloighted that you had a great time

We are at a loss to understand why some people post such poor reviews for all to see. This is something that is general throughout the industry - we are not the only victims, even the Savoy hotel gets 1 star reviews. Sadly, review sites are anonymous and it can prove to be very difficult to trace the reviewer and investigate their comments. However, on the rare occasions when we are able to contact the reviewer and discuss the problems, the matter is always settled to everyone’s satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you to our park again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,757 reviews
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 21 in St Ives
574 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park
16.3 mi away
Perran View Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Holiday Village

Address: Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Price Range: $60 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our St Ives Holiday Village is set in over a hundred acres of woodland, making the whole park a gorgeous, relaxing place. As for facilities, St Ives Holiday Village has everything you could want during a Cornwall holiday. You won’t have to worry about the kids getting bored with our games room, featuring a pool table and all the latest video games. We also have a children’s play area just for kids, and you can let them swim in our large indoor heated pool without worry as we always have life guards on duty.In the evenings, you’re welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment we offer at The Rafters Club, our very own club where we put on dancing, discos, competitions and more! You can also order you and your family some pub grub or get a takeaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your St. Ives Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Holiday Village Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Holiday Village St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing