We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value holiday, great for dog owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Ives Holiday Village
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
lancashire, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value holiday, great for dog owners”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have previously stayed in a budget chalet on a 'sun'hol which was basic but clean. This time we upgraded to silver trevacroft bungalow direct with John fowler (226), looking at reviews we didn't have high expectations. However, we were very happy with our accomodation and could not fault it. We needed an extra dining chair and they brought it immediately. The woodland walks are great for dogs, our dog loved looking at the rabbits and squirrels. Didn't use the club but looks ok, shop very nice. The site is ideal for touring the area esp st Ives and if you don't want to drive a bus calls at the site. Overall, a lovely holiday and would visit again. If you want 5* then you pay 5* prices. This is a good value holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saulty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

The park does not deserve poor reviews and thankfully they are few and far between. We simply do not understand why some people choose to post them, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome, as you experienced. However, we are all individuals and we can all have vastly different opinions on the same subject and I suspect that if the writers of the poor reviews knew how their collective comments affected the jobs of ordinary Cornish people, they probably wouldn’t write them.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time. Our returning customers are very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    219
    135
    79
    242
See reviews for
517
184
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
LOWESTOFT UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just got home from 2 wks at St Ives Holiday Village, we loved it, so much so we have already booked to return next year. Our Oakleigh Silver Chalet was GR8 compact yes, very little storage/wardrobe space, a tiny bath with shower over, but spotlessly clean. We booked this in January 2013 largely because we have 2 dogs only little bichon frise's but we do like to take them on nice walks & this location was perfect for us. We met lots of people also dog owners, who go back year after year to this location, and in all honesty we can see why. We loved the wooded setting, watching the foxes, owls & hedgehogs at night, the numerous different birds during the day & the pretty bunny rabbits in the evenings, it was heaven for us, we could happily live there & we would if not for uprooting our whole family, because we couldn't go without them. Everyone we met was friendly & spoke which was lovely. The chalets are on the small side, but there are only the 2 of us & the doggies so it suited us perfectly. Larger one's are available for families, but not dogs sadly. We visited Porthkidney Sands on numerous occasions to let our dogs have a good run, accessed from the road at the side of the Badger PH drive up to the church & park for free, its a bit of a trek & not suitable for elderly or disabled but well worth the walk, we met 2/3 other dog owners there, again very friendly, the scenery is beautiful. You can park at Lelant Station for £2.50 for 24 hrs & pay £4 return fair to St Ives, dogs on leads only but very welcome, and again the scenery from the train is heaven on earth. Cornwall is truly dog friendly, restaurants/cafes, shops too, the rest of this country in particular seaside resorts could learn a lot from Cornwall's welcoming attitude, yes we loved it, yes, we're returning, and yes we highly recommend it especially to nature & dog lovers, everything you could possibly desire or want is close at hand, we are indeed very happy with our stay at SIHV :-) very happy indeed

Room Tip: We had an Oakleigh Silver it was as above, we would have liked a Gold or above but not possible with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOWESTOFTSMUDGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Cornwall and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.

Once again let me thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our park very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Booked here through the Sun holiday deal and was slightly apprehensive after reading some reviews, however chalet was relatively clean and tidy with reasonable kitchen facilities. Was a bit disappointed with the quality of the bed linen and if we went back again would take our own. Had everything we needed sofa, tv, kitchen facilities and dining table, we were close to the reception and shop which was handy. Had to leave early as our litle girl was ill but that was totally unrelated and we would have happily stayed had she been well. So close to St Ives and Penzance was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

The park does not deserve poor reviews and thankfully they are few and far between. We simply do not understand why some people choose to post them, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome. However, we are all individuals and we can all have vastly different opinions on the same subject and I suspect that if the few writers of the poor reviews knew how their collective comments affected the jobs of ordinary Cornish people, they probably wouldn’t have written them.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time. Our returning customers are very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

To be fair after booking our Sun holiday here and reading the trip advisor reviews I was dreading it. We could no check in early as our chalet was not ready and to my horror I heard two other couples complaining about damp, smell, dog hair, my heart sank and I thought all the bad reviews were about to come true. We got out key at 4 pm and drove to our chalet. It was in a lovely location with only 3 others around it. We opened the door and while it was cold due to the windows being left open it was clean, tidy and on par with any other sun holiday location we have been to. We shut the windows, put the heater on and unpacked. With a couple of hours the place was toasty warm and we felt relaxed and happy. I can honestly say we would go back, we might look to go outside of a sun holiday to one of the nicer, more modern lodges but I certainly wouldn't be sad if it was one of our holiday choices and came up again. Yes it's dated but hey I don't mind that for the money we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zpiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park.

I have passed on your feedback on to the department managers so they can share this success with their teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My In-laws booked before we could warn them about the bad reviews, so we were quite happy at first when we saw the silver grade bungalow. The kitchen area was ok to look at, but when using implements, they seemed well used. The can opener wouldn't work and I tried to clean the thick encrusted dirt off it before anyone else saw! It still failed to work, The cooker was rusty on the outside, and wiping the oven, I found it was clean, but rusty inside too. The oven door needs to be cleaned thoroughly, the seal has gone, so there are streaks inside the glass.
The sofa and curtains were smart and looked new.
The bedrooms are tiny, one double and a twin. The double bed was against a wall, so it was difficult for my in-laws to get in and out of bed. The twin bedroom smelt musty, but I couldn't find the source. The duvets were thin, but the mattresses were comfortable and clean.
The bathroom is small, a shower rather than a bath might make more sense.
There is a general sense of shabbiness.
On a positive note it is nicely situated for a holiday, being near lots of great places, like the North Coast beaches, or villages like Marazion and Mousehole on the South Coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

We are very lucky with the location of our park in such a beautiful part of Cornwall and we are delighted that you were able to share that experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I've been on many newspaper budget holidays, and I've always been pleasantly surprised. That was before we came to St. Ives. All we want is a clean base so we can travel locally.

Our first impressions were when booking in. The main hall was set out like an old WMC - and didn't smell better. The chalet had obviously been cleaned, but the outdated chalet needs carpet cleaning and deep cleaning. Wear slippers insides or your feet will be filthy. Quilts are filthy, and mattresses uncomfortable.

Shame. It's perfectly situated for all Cornish places of interests.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoverPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Me and my partner have just spent 4nights at st Ives holiday village and for what we paid we couldn't of asked for more!
Not sure what to expect on arrival after reading the reviews we were happy to find our "forestcroft chalet" was ready early, and had everything we needed for our mini break. There were NO signs of mould, NO signs of damp and the chalet was clean and tidy, if anything just slightly dated!
We didn't use the facilities on site other than the shop -which stocks all the basics you might need- because we spent our time exploring the area, When checking in the staff on the desk were polite and helpful, the park was in a peaceful woodland setting and there is alot to see and do within reasonable distance!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were.

We pride ourselves on our family feel at John Fowler Holidays, and are delighted to have such loyal customers as yourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Holiday Village

Property: St. Ives Holiday Village
Address: Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our St Ives Holiday Village is set in over a hundred acres of woodland, making the whole park a gorgeous, relaxing place. As for facilities, St Ives Holiday Village has everything you could want during a Cornwall holiday. You won’t have to worry about the kids getting bored with our games room, featuring a pool table and all the latest video games. We also have a children’s play area just for kids, and you can let them swim in our large indoor heated pool without worry as we always have life guards on duty.In the evenings, you’re welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment we offer at The Rafters Club, our very own club where we put on dancing, discos, competitions and more! You can also order you and your family some pub grub or get a takeaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your St. Ives Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Holiday Village Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Holiday Village St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing