We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really enjoyable week all round.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Ives Holiday Village
Ranked #25 of 30 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were a bit apprehensive,having read reviews but we had alovely time there from start to finish.We feel that you must judge a place against the price and this was a cheap deal in a "woodland budget chalet due for refurbishment". All the clues are there! Yes ,it is in mature woodlands, which are lovely, but do keep the chalets shady. Yes, it was budget but it was bigger than we expected and everything worked including an excellent shower. Yes it needed some refurbishment but we go on holiday to enjoy ourselves ,not do a surveyor,s report on the accommodation! The staff were really friendly and helpful and appeared very conscientious.The pool area was beautifully kept and Amy ,the pool manager was great. The entertainments team appeared very hard working and,although a bit loud for me the acts I saw were very good. The woodland trail we did twice a day with our 2 year old grandson and 2 dogs. He loved the new picture information boards and the woods are as well managed as any site that I have seen. If you like simple straightforward accommodation in a rustic setting (we usually camp) these budget chalets are fine but that is what they are! Because they are under trees they do draw the damp but the heaters will cook you if desired! The paths are lit but care would be needed in places. Some chalets looked more ready for refurb than others. TIPS The duvets were definitely for summer but blankets etc can be requested.You could keep bedroom heaters on but then too hot probably! If you come here with the right ideas it is fine. We 2 enjoyed it, our 2 daughters enjoyed it , our 2 year old grandson loved it and our 2 dogs were very settled. Thanks to the staff. We will be back and trying other John Fowler parks.

Room Tip: It would be much noisier near the entertainment centre. School holidays are probably much noisier to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edmund250150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a sensible and realistic review. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park.

I have passed on your feedback on to the department managers so they can share this success with their teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

We drove over two days to get here. On driving in to the "resort" our hearts sank. It was dark and very wooded. The chalets that we could see look run down and shabby. We parked up, took ages to find a parking spot and made our way to the reception. Things didn't get any better when we walked in here. They were so busy that we were asked to return later to check in. The function room and bar don't look they have been decorated since the 70's and they were very dark. Very disheartened we decided to drive to St Ives (15 minutes drive from the St Ives Holiday village at least). Thank god we did go in to St Ives as this truly lifted our spirits its absolutely beautiful!
On returning about an hour and a half later we still had to wait in a long queue. Eventually we were given our keys. We made our way to the chalet and outside the chalet is over grown and untidy and dark with a table that looks damp, The day we arrived it was roasting and beautiful sunshine but you would not know. The outside of the bungalow (Oakliegh) was covered in cobwebs and just looked run down. Inside really wasn't any better it was damp and musty and smelled damp too. It was cold we needed the heaters on even though the temperature outside was lovely. The carpets were dirty. I did have to spot clean these and didn't look like they had been hoovered! There were dead insects on the window sills and behind the sink in the bathroom I could see a bit of foliage peeping out! The bedroom we were in was cold and damp and above the beds the cupboards were filthy. Inside the left hand cupboard was also damp. My advise to anyone thinking about going to Cornwall is avoid this park at all costs. After seeing the state of the accommodation we avoided the pool for fear of cleanliness. If you can afford to wait to the week after we were there go into the centre of St Ives where for the same money or thereabouts you can get a small cottage on the harbor side. We had no choice but to stay as it would have been too pricey to have gone and paid somewhere else. Having read the reviews from other travelers when we were there we decided to try to just grin and bear it. We didn't think that there was any point in bringing up our concerns at the time. But to the gentleman who reads these reviews don't just palm us off with didn't you bring it up at the time. I think from all the bad reviews you have more than enough evidence sitting in front of you that should ring the alarm bells. One positive is that the staff seemed pleasant enough although when we left a day early nobody questioned this. I know that this was a budget option but we expect a lot better

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank EBECKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues and to check its validity. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous, it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and I am disappointed that I have not been given the opportunity to put things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I've been meaning to write a review since we returned from our stay at the St Ives Holiday Village in June.
Like many of the other reviewers, we left after just one night.
The accommodation was very damp and dirty. We asked to move chalets on arrival, and were given a larger one, which was also dirty but we just cleaned it ourselves, we were determined to make the best of our holiday.
However, on the first morning in the chalet, the electric shower unit caught fire while I was in it. I was luckily unharmed, but very shaken. We left immediately. (Despite being offered a panicked upgrade.)
It took me nearly a month to recoup the cost of our booking from John Fowler Holidays. The matter was not taken seriously or dealt with in a proper manner, either on resort or afterwards.
Their reluctance to reimburse us, led me to register a complaint with Trading Standards and the Citizens Advice Bureau consumer helpline.
I asked John Fowler Holidays to investigate safety at this site and to show me proof of P.A.T testing for our chalet, I've never heard from them again.
Don't risk your safety by staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beach1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

While we are very sorry that a fault in the shower unit of your chalet caused a fire and that you found the experience frightening - this is understandable.

I have investigated thoroughly and have found that the matter was dealt within our 28 day complaints procedure guidelines. 60% of the monies paid were refunded on the day you left and the balance exactly 16 days later.

With regard to the P.A.T. testing you mention, as you are aware P.A.T. refers to Portable Appliance Testing and not to fixed items such as a shower. However, all our safety checks are up to date and the records are always open for inspection by anyone at anytime.

We are sorry this unfortunate occurrence happened but as you can see, it was all dealt with by all our personel in an efficient and professional manner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just got back from our weekend stay here, before we left we had read these reviews & were very worried about staying and we were ready for the worst. My husband picked the chalet keys up and was greeted by a lovely lady so already we were happy as by reading some of these reviews people are saying the staff are rude. When we got in the chalet it smelt clean, every room was spotless we were very happy. The swimming pool was lovely and clean and we took our baby swimming for the first time, the lady lifeguard was lovely and so welcoming. The staff were lovely behind the bar but unfortunately because it was so loud in the clubhouse we didnt spend much time there because of our baby. We stayed in woodland bronze and overall we were very impressed with everything so if you read these reviews before your holiday you dont need to worry yourselves silly like we did!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pitcherfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

I sometimes wonder who writes the poor reviews about such a lovely park but perhaps, more importantly, why. When we try to contact the writers of the really bad ones to discover what exactly went wrong with their holiday, you can imagine we get no reply.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place is so dirty, unplesent and unhabbitable. I would not allow my child to walk around the "chalet" without shows as carpet so disgusting. Mould was all over walls and ceilings. The walls in the kitchen were actually peeling revealing the wood underneath. The linen which u pay extra for was stained and had several holes in it. My mother in law forgot towels so rented some at the cost f £20 and I would not have used on my dog. Stayed for the arrival night and consecutive night (too late to find somewhere else) and could not take it any longer so left and all booked into a hotel. When we went to hand keys back we told the we were leaving a day early to be to,d "I will
Pass that on". We will be sure to write to the holiday village manager. Absolutely disgusting do not stay.

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vic203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park.

However we do not ignore negative reviews and I will be contacting you to discover precisely where you where staying in order to carry out a full investigation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We're just on our way home from a busy week in St Ives. The staff at the holiday village were excellent from start to finish! I dare say we'll be singing along to our 'We Love Freddy' CD for some time! Stripey Jess/Frankie and Liam in particular and also Amy who was always pool side! Mother Nature dealt us a mixed hand with fabulous weather (bar one rainy day) but the wasps were awful! Our only grumble about the chalet was the size of the door way to the bathroom along with awkward placement of the lock made for some nasty scrapes! The bus service (nothing to do with John Fowler) was pretty poor - lots of buses to take you away but not very many to bring you back!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherrytimmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were.

Once again our entertainments team have been singled out for extra praise and there is no doubt that they deserve it. They are all doing a brilliant job this year and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

We pride ourselves on our family feel at John Fowler Holidays, and are delighted to have such loyal customers as yourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Well I don't know if I stayed at the same place. We really enjoyed our stay. The swimming pool was lovely and our grandchildren really liked going there. The staff were helpful and friendly. I agree that the site could do with updating, especially the pathways which could be dangerous. There was nothing whatsoever wrong with our chalet, it was clean and tidy on arrival and we found nothing to complain about. We really liked the setting in the woodlands and the trees gave us some privacy. We didn't like the fact that the cabaret started at 10.00 am, surely 9.00 am would be a better time. After a day out we really didn't want to stay up past 10 o'clock. Apart from that we found little wrong and would return to this site, unlike some others we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Choose a silver chalet and not the bronze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieJA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the cleanliness of the chalet.

We are at a loss to understand why some people post such poor reviews for all to see. This is something that is general throughout the industry - we are not the only victims. Sadly, review sites are anonymous and it can prove to be very difficult to trace the reviewer and investigate their comments. However, on the rare occasions when we are able to contact the reviewer and discuss the problems, the matter is always settled to everyone’s satisfaction.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Ives hotels
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,731 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Borthalan Hotel
The Borthalan Hotel
#17 of 21 in St Ives
65 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#4 of 4 in Carbis Bay
242 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Holiday Village

Address: Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Price Range: $59 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our St Ives Holiday Village is set in over a hundred acres of woodland, making the whole park a gorgeous, relaxing place. As for facilities, St Ives Holiday Village has everything you could want during a Cornwall holiday. You won’t have to worry about the kids getting bored with our games room, featuring a pool table and all the latest video games. We also have a children’s play area just for kids, and you can let them swim in our large indoor heated pool without worry as we always have life guards on duty.In the evenings, you’re welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment we offer at The Rafters Club, our very own club where we put on dancing, discos, competitions and more! You can also order you and your family some pub grub or get a takeaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your St. Ives Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Holiday Village Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Holiday Village St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing