We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly good!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Ives Holiday Village
Ranked #23 of 30 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just got back after spending a week in the woodland silver chalet, after reading all the negative reviews i was not looking forward to going...but was quite surprised as the chalet was quite nice, clean and tidy, the only negative thing about it was the damp and the beds felt damp when you got in them but if you leave the heaters on low it wasn't to bad and the lighting wasn't very bright in the chalet and outside along the pathways. The staff were very friendly especially Aaron who was very nice and helpful, we used the clubhouse every night and i must say that the entertainment was very good for the kids and the stripey team were really good and worked very hard and the bingo was good, the food was very good and i would recommend the chefs pizzas as he made them himself. The only downfall we had with the park is that it needed a lot of upgrading because it was very dated but they are replacing the chalets with new caravans and log cabins, the surrounding was beautiful that the park was set in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fair review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

The park does not deserve poor reviews and thankfully they are few and far between. We simply do not understand why some people choose to post them, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome. However, we are all individuals and we can all have vastly different opinions on the same subject.

With regard to the damp smell we are well aware of the reason but sadly it is so difficult for us to deal with. Sadly, some people will occupy a holiday unit and not open a window for the duration of their stay. This was probably the case with the previous occupants of the chalet you stayed in. Cooking and sleeping with windows closed will slowly take its toll - especially in Devon and Cornwall where the atmosphere is usually so much more humid than most people are used to. I think we all know what happens when a property is not regularly aired.

Many of the older chalets are being demolished and replaced with fantastic new lodges. 5 have appeared in the past couple of months and we have just obtained planning permission for a further 36. As you will appreciate, such a massive investment does not happen overnight.

However, we are delighted to hear that you had a great holiday and we really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have just had a break at st Ives holiday village and had a great time, we stayed in a woodland silver and was more than happy with it, it was very clean and had everything we needed, the grounds to the park are lovely and the staff were great (and good singers) the only thing I have mentioned to them is the swimming pool could do with updating (a few cubicles and lockers wouldn't go a miss) but other than that we had a great time, where it's situated you can get to Carbis bay about 1 mile up the road and it has a stunning beach, and your only 3 miles from st Ives, your very close to everywhere else so it's a good location to stay, thanks for another great holiday 2nd year running, we will be back again next year :-)) August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lealea31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We just got back after a weeks holiday. We stayed in the three bedroomed brick house that had all the facilities we needed. The only real complaint was the lighting at night on the path was non existent and felt unsafe. The stripey's were great and worked very hard and were very friendly. The entertainment was mainly geared at the kids but as they were happy that made us as parents happy. The surrounding areas are beautiful and all in all had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephrelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review which reads more like a 5 star one. We really appreciate you taking the time

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the entertainments team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at 'Footprints' Cottage, a privately owned cottage,( through Owners Direct) on the St Ives Holiday Village in July this year. The Cottage was lovely. Recently refurbished with all you could want and a bit more, making it very welcoming . The ideal place to stay if you love nature, regular visits from birds and squirrels and an interesting country walk in the grounds. A bus calls into the site, if you don't fancy driving, and we found a public footpath to St Erths station to catch the train to St. Ives. We ate once in the restaurant, not much to shout about but good basic food. Lots of pubs and restaurants within a short drive of the park as are other attractions in the area. There is an indoor swimming pool , which was popular on the rainy days. Staff were all very helpful and pleasant.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it, and the owners of "Footprints" will also be delighted.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable, regardless of whose accommodation you stay in.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It seems many people have had a bad experience at John Fowler St Ives. If there are enough people who feel strongly about this park perhaps we could contact BBC Watchdog at http://bit.ly/YJcXw6 to express our feelings. Also we could use Twitter with the hashtag #johnfowlerstives to publicise how bad this place is.

We have never written a review on Trip Advisor before and are experienced travellers who have been on many family holidays. When reading the reviews of the John Fowler Holiday Park in St Ives so much of what people were saying mirrored our own experience we felt we ought to share our thoughts to add to the chorus of disapproval!

We were looking forward to a weeks holiday in Cornwall with our two daughters aged 5 and 7. On arrival at the John Fowler Holiday Park we were given the keys to Oakleigh Bungalow number 262. As reported in many previous reviews the first thing that strikes you is the overwhelming damp / sweaty smell as you enter your bungalow. On first inspection the place just wasn’t clean. There were toast crumbs on the worktop and food in the kitchen sink plug hole. A complaint to reception meant the housekeeping arrived to give the place a further clean but this was just really a wipe round and the bungalow was still damp and dirty. A trip to tesco the following day meant we had to spend money on cleaning products and an air freshner just to make the place bearable!

The accommodation itself is cramped and dated. The sofa springs had long gone and you just sink into the floor when you sit on it. A poor quality kitchen table with bench seats that catapult you into the air if you sit too close to the edge is another poor feature. As stated in many previous reviews the plastic covered mattresses on the beds are awful. You just sweat and feel grotty throughout the night! The kitchen was just dirty and disgusting, we used as little as possible and the rings on the hob looked like they were about to rust through. The outside picnic table also was completely unusable as it was covered in seagull droppings and had a hole burnt through the middle of it! The paths leading up to our bungalow were also a health and safety hazard with loose uneven paving stones. They should be closed immediately and repaired!

Our children were kept awake by the boiler constantly starting up throughout the evening and night. On closer inspection the hot water runs on immersion and thermostat and the immersion kicks in when the temperature falls. The boiler lagging has long since fallen apart meaning that the heater just kept on restarting keep the children awake!

If you are unfortunate enough to be staying in one of these bungalows and don’t fancy using the kitchen you may wish to take your chances in the onsite restaurant in the club house. The restaurant which has the ambience of a motorway service station and prices to match will serve you food which is just about OK. If you make the same mistake as us and get a takeaway to eat in the bar then you have to be prepared to eat something which is truly disgusting. The vegetable lasagne is a dish to particularly avoid!

We did visit the swimming pool once again this was very dated with poor cramped changing facilities. The warnings about cryptosporidium which are placed as you enter the pool are hardly welcoming or fill you with confidence.

After six days we’d had enough and left a day early something we’ve never done before. On packing up to leave our daughter had left a drawing pad on the floor which was ruined through being damp! One of the only positives about staying at this park in on arrival home our small 3 bedroom house felt like a palace!

As stated at the beginning of this review we have been on many family holidays to some great places. We paid a similar amount (£700 approx) to what we had paid previously for other accommodation for our week at St Ives Holiday Village but what we got for our money was very poor.

In response to some of Patrick Jennings previous comments on here, the windows were left open all week to counteract the damp, when looking out from our chalet I could see that all other chalets had their windows open too so his comments about the damp being caused by windows being kept closed to not be accurate. We saw no signs of the redevelopment Patrick Jennings talks about taking place during our time there (however in another comment Patrick Jennings states that there are no plans to redevelop as many customers like this park the way it is!)

It is a shame as this park is set in a fantastic location and could be so much better. New chalets or even static caravans and a new swimming pool, restaurant and bar would make such a difference. The area around St Ives is great with lots of things for families to do however to enjoy it at its best you need to stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park when most of guests have a great time.

I shall be contacting you through the Tripadvisor messaging service and I feel sure that the matter will be settled to everyone’s satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

can i first say the people who work in the head office of "John Fowler Holiday's" are fantastic people. Thats where the good part finishes. We went to St ives in 2012 where we had a faulty shower, dead flies and bugs everwhere. And a toilet that decided to flood over our 6 year old son at 2am was just terrible (would like to use stronger words). So after contacting recepyion to complain we were told Whilst smiling " oh right I'll get someone to sort it out" 3 hours later no one arrived and we where on holiday so went out.
No one had been to correct all the faults. Any way cut a long story short we arrived back home to a clean and fully functioning home. we complained via email where after just a short couple of days we recieved a full apoligy and offered a return visit free of charge as this didnt meet their standards in the same month not out of season So as a family we where happy . to return as see the site as it should be right? We could not have been so wrong .......after hiring a car and fuel and a long drive from Liverpool we arrived to Bungalow 191 to a strong smell of Ale and booze fair enough people where likely to have stayed the previous night and had a drink ... after further inspection the linen was damp and dirty and looked like it had been just turned over dirty soiled makes on the other side (lucky The Wife had remembered last year) As we bemoaned the situation and didnt really wanna stay but with a 7 year old with us we unpacked ......When on placing our clothes in the waredrobe space we found a dirty pair of underpants from a previous guest's stay and to top it all off when it rained we had 4" to 5 " of rain right outside the door and to get into the damp dirty accomadation we had to stand in the dirty rain water.......Avoid until they have the whole camp with the new lodges people are going to complain each and ever day ....The housekeeper needs to check over her or his staff as they are not doing a normal standard of cleanliness

Room Tip: Yeah the new lodges nothing else be warned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank nicky f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park when most of guests have a great time.

I shall be contacting you through the Tripadvisor messaging service and I feel sure that the matter will be settled to everyone’s satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have read the very poor reviews and have to say they are deathly accurate. I don't know where to start. We booked a weeks break via Hoseasons, paid alot and got a Bronze Chalet. I read Trip Advisor & became very worried as the majority of reviews are shocking. I therefore wrote to The Manager voicing my concerns & asked not to be put in a Bronze Chalet. He never replied & I now know why!! We travelled for 6 hours in the UK heat wave and arrived! All i wanted was to relax, unpack & shower. My heart sank as I walked in & I tried to hide my tears from the kids. The place stank of damp & mildew and was revolting. The door was rotten & had a hole in the size of a mouse. The place was dated, tatty, filthy and not fit for purpose. There was a mini bath & a rubber attachment for the taps as an excuse for a shower. We took pictures of mould, dirt, grime, ripped curtains covered in cobwebs and a collection of previous occupants hair. The manager was absent so I demanded to see him the next day. He claimed not to have received my letter!!! He couldn't answer our complaint but showed us a Silver Chalet. This was slighlty better but not for what we paid. I called Hoseasons, got a full refund and left never to return after one night. I have written to Hoseasons as these Chalets should NOT be advertised. What you read about them is NOT what you get. Read all the recent reviews and remember, you've been warned, DON'T BOOK!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Supersilkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

I am sorry to read that our park was not suitable for you. I see that you made your booking through Hoseasons, who, as you know, are a reputable company and check all their accommodation before it is included in their brochure and on their website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,761 reviews
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 21 in St Ives
574 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tolroy Manor Holiday Park
16.3 mi away
Perran View Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Holiday Village

Address: Lelant, St Ives TR26 3HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Specialty Lodging in St Ives
Price Range: $60 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our St Ives Holiday Village is set in over a hundred acres of woodland, making the whole park a gorgeous, relaxing place. As for facilities, St Ives Holiday Village has everything you could want during a Cornwall holiday. You won’t have to worry about the kids getting bored with our games room, featuring a pool table and all the latest video games. We also have a children’s play area just for kids, and you can let them swim in our large indoor heated pool without worry as we always have life guards on duty.In the evenings, you’re welcome to enjoy the nightly entertainment we offer at The Rafters Club, our very own club where we put on dancing, discos, competitions and more! You can also order you and your family some pub grub or get a takeaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your St. Ives Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Holiday Village Hotel St Ives
St. Ives Holiday Village St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing